We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stay for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Village, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Business Stay for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Opted for this hotel due to location, just off M62 and ideal for next mornings meeting close by in Huddersfield.

Reception cheery and chirpy, but felt after I checked in and got my key that was it, no dinner times, or breakfast times, no directions to room, nothing about health suite.

Room was on 1st floor, clean and well appointed, good facilities, everything in room worked, no dead power sockets and the normal complicated hotel TV. However as it appears rooms had been modernied the bathroom had a singing shower and was rather shabby in parts. On way to bedroom a function hadn't been tidied away, this was at 7pm, it still hadn't been tidied away at 11pm.

I opted for DBB package and at £97.50 was the best business options, as with check in, once your bum hit seat there was no menu explanation of what was and what wasn't included in the DBB package, maybe better if the hotel has a table d'hote menu for DBB package guests. I had tomato soup and it was not out a tin - tasty and lots of it, however the fish and chips (Sustainably sourced hake fillet in crispy golden batter with chunky chips) left a lot to be desired - clearly not freshly caught, batter soggy and fell off fillet and when it did exposed a grey pre formed fish fillet. You guys can do better than this.

Breakfast was like in a different restaurant, congratulations for a delicious breakfast, wow crispy bacon - too many places serve scraggy end fatty bacon, 10/10 here and if you could replicate this to dinner you would have a fab restaurant.

Whether or not it is new IHG program, I find it disappointing that a hotel doesn't furnish its rooms with a bottle of water or a biscuit, you are kind enough to leave a hospitality tray, this would be the difference between being remembered or not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to General Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Scottex,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay here at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse.

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, but am disappointed that there were issues which resulted in it not being the perfect 'Holiday Inn Experience'.

I have communicated the details of your Check In Experience to our Reception Supervisor, while I am happy that you were welcomed into the Hotel in a friendly personable manner, I do apologise that you were not given details of the facilities we offer and their locations or opening times which are a vital part of orientating yourself through your stay.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your Fish and Chips, I have passed your comments to our Executive Head Chef, who will be investigating where improvements can be made to make this a better quality dining option. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, setting you up ready for your business day ahead.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel to show you that on this occasion you didn't experience our usual high standards in all areas.

Yours Sincerely,

Dawn Bussey
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    141
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
63
93
15
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I came here a few weeks ago and loved it BUT this time it was disappointing.
The room had a balcony which was nice and I sat reading a book in the evening sun, this was the only highlight.
The pillows were uncomfortable, shower a mere trickle and they decided to change the air con to winter mode without telling us! I asked for a fan to be told there weren't any but if you open the window you will cool down??? I ended up sleeping with the balcony doors open but seeing as the person next door obviously had a bad nicotine addiction my room filled with cigarette smoke at four in the morning!
Guests being loud very early in the morning was also another bad point but that's not the inns fault, that's just inconsiderate guests.
I wasn't impressed with the prawn Madras, very salty. The veg chilli was tasty and i don't know where the tortilla was being stored but they were chewy :/
The main reason for me staying at holiday inns is the air con but now they are switching to winter mode I will be going back to premier inns.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to General Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Kernowhuskies,

Thank you for writing a review following your most recent stay with us, I am also very disappointed that the stay your experienced on this occasion was below your expectations, as kindly commented on in your last review of the Hotel .

Our System of Heating and Cooling within the rooms is a thermostatically controlled unit which has both a Summer and Winter Setting. We have a had the pleasure of enjoying a warmer temperature during the beginning of October than we are used to and resulting in the winter setting not being required on some evenings. I do apologise that a fan was not available during your stay and following your feedback we now have a stock of fans in the hotel so that other guests do not experience this same problem.

Your feedback enables us to maintain and improve our levels of service, facilities and standards.

Yours Sincerely,

Dawn Bussey
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for a relaxing weekend, mid September, whilst major work was being done to our house a few miles away, and just to get away from things for a while. No complaints at all - friendly and extremely helpful reception staff made the visit a pleasure right from the word go. (Why do so many establishments fail, on this most important point ?) The room was well sized, and immaculately cleaned. We had the brunch in the following morning and I must say I was more than enough to keep us full all day - didn't feel hungry at all until dinner at 7.00

All in all, a lovely stay, and can't fault the place at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to General Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.

It is fantastic to received should high praise for our staff and I have shared your Review with them.

As a local, we do understand that you will not always have the requirement to stay at a Hotel so near to home but hope that we may welcome you for Sunday lunch, Dinner or to the Spirit Health Club if not for a Stay again in the future.

Kind Regards

Dawn Bussey
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just got back from a short weekend break, spending one night at this lovely hotel.
Room was booked through the coach I travelled on.
Before we all got off the coach, the hotel receptionist came aboard to tell us about the hotel and then handed us all our key cards for our rooms.
Was in a lovely large room with a double and single bed on the ground floor. This room was more than adequate for me as was a solo traveller.
There was tea/coffee in the room, as well has trouser press, hair dryer and the room was clean. Pillows had tags on showing which were soft/ firm which was a nice touch.
Dinner was between 6.30 - 7.30pm. There was a queue waiting to be seated in the restaurant but didn't take long to be seated.
I asked for a table for 1 and once seated on a table for 4, was then told that people may be seated with me. After stating that I really did want to dine on my own it wasn't no problem.
Food was buffet style and a very good choice of hot and cold, all fresh and plenty of.
There were 3 courses but I passed on the cauliflower soup and had lasagne, roast potatoes, carrots and peas. For dessert I chose apple pie and cream, I was hoping to go back for seconds as there was a chocolate torte and what looked like a raspberry/strawberry torte, but sadly I was full after the 2 courses.
There was a wedding party in having their reception there, the bride and groom were having photos taken by the lovely fountain outside in the middle of the hotel.
I never got to swim in the pool as had eaten. Saw the gym and it looks well equipped.
All staff were very friendly and professional.
I slept better in this hotel bed then my own bed !
Loved the views from the hotel especially from the restaurant too.
Was nice and quiet. Highly recommend. And shall stay again.

Room Tip: I was in room 123 and very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to General Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear ladylouie,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel and enjoyed your dining experience.

We do hope that should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, it will be for a little bit longer so that you have the chance to experience our Spirit Health Club facilities.

Kind Regards

Dawn Bussey
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very impressed with first view of the hotel. Great location, with easy access to M62 and local roads. Welcoming and helpful staff at reception even though we were early for check in. The room rate was excellent value though breakfast was a little expensive, also the toaster burnt the toast and was not adjustable. A better option would be to buy Brunch after breakfast is finished. The lounge was very comfortable and coffee (Starbucks) very good. Room was spacious and comfortable, we had view over central courtyard and fountain.
The only negative was the pool which we had looked forward to using for an early morning swim, wasn't open due to staff menber not turning up.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to GM at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello fishnchipfriday,

Thank you for the fab comments, they are really appreciated.

I do apologise for the issues you experienced with accessing the pool, I can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence.

Look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Dawn
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked at last minute adn got a reasonable dinner bed and breakfast rate, good sized room and enjoyable dinner via room service.breakfast was fresh and tatsy. my only gripe internet too slow and noise from neighbouring room which may have doubled as a staff rest area??
i would stay again as handy for Leeds, Bradford areas and very convenient for motorway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to GM at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear PMACCA,

Thanks for the review, we do appreciate our guest feedback.

We do hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Dawn Bussey
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went to this hotel with five other couples to celebrate our ruby wedding and can't praise staff enough. They gave us complimentary drinks just because we had to wait a few minutes for our table to be readied. The rooms were all excellent and we all had. A great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI-LeedsBrighouse, PA to GM at Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello John B,

Thanks for the Great Feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the service provided at the Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back for the next group reunion.

Kind Regards

Dawn Bussey
Pa to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse

Address: Clifton Village, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the contemporary Express by Holiday Inn Leeds City Centre - the modern choice for business or pleasure!Our reception, lounge, breakfast area & meeting rooms have been transformed with an extensive public area refurbishment. We boast a stunning, contemporary look that combines style & comfort.Our modern hotel offers en suite guestrooms with air conditioning, satellite TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer & power showers. Our value room rates also include complimentary continental breakfast. Additional facilities include car parking & refurbished meeting rooms. The Express by Holiday Inn Leeds hotel is just a 10-15 min walk from the main city centre offering lots to keep you occupied including an excellent choice of restaurants, cafe bars, over 1000 shops & unique venues including the Corn Exchange & Victoria Quarter.Our Leeds hotel is ideally situated on the city centre perimeter making it convenient for Leeds University, Leeds Metropolitan University, business & financial district, courts & Leeds General Infirmary. The Express by Holiday Inn Leeds is also a great choice for sports fans with Headingley Stadium and Elland Road Football Stadium (Leeds United) nearby. York & Wetherby racecourses are within a 30-45 minutes drive.NewsEvery room now air conditionedEvery guestroom refurbishedWe're now a 100% non-smoking hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse Hotel Brighouse
Holiday Inn Brighouse
Brighouse Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.