We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some interesting menu items but starting from frozen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Wakefield Road, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HA, England
01484402161
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 54 Restaurants in Brighouse
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chef & Brewer owned place with Premier Inn next door.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some interesting menu items but starting from frozen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

On a business trip I ate at the Old Mill 3 nights in a row. The service was very good and the atmosphere pleasant. I would recommend the Vegetarian Tangine, nicely flavored dish with cous-cous. The standard hamburger was a disappointment since it was not possible to have it served medium rare as I requested. I was informed that the meat needed to be thoroughly cooked (?). The chips were soggy, from frozen. The Chicken and chorizo with rosemary potatoes was a nice combination. For the last night I splurged on dessert, no crumble was available and the apple pie was disapppointing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear francineKS

Many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your feedback was a concern to hear and I would like to investigate these comments further with the Management Team of the pub. I have sent you a private message and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Many Thanks

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    83
    44
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food good selection of beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had 9oz rump steak and a pint of Estrella. Steak was lovely well cooked. The chips were frozen ones warmed up with a tomato and mushroom . Salad was extra which was a bit disappointing for 9.99. Portion was ok not big. Staff were very attentive and friendly. Beer was great, The place was full always a good sign.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were a little concerned at some of the reviews on here, but decided to try the Old Mill as its not too far from where we live.

We were about 20 minutes early, but were welcomed and invited to order our drinks whilst they checked if our table was ready.

We ordered Chicken and Chorizo with rosemary potatoes and garlic bread, which took about 25 minutes to arrive. The food was exceptional - and clearly was all fresh and had been made to order.

The staff were very efficient without being overbearing and the price (less than £40 including a bottle of wine) was very reasonable.

Would recommend and will be dining here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I used to eat here regularly but it fell off my radar for a while, so when I got a BOGOF voucher it prompted me to go again. We decided to order a main course each (maybe with room for pudding) and drinks. Our order for a pint of bitter and a glass of wine didn't arrive for ages so the table staff had to go looking for it, the beer was cloudy and undrinkable so my partner had to take it back but the wine was fine. Again waited ages for our main courses - and when they did come the medium rare rib-eye with stilton turned out to be very well done with some red cheese melted on it. Cue the next return. The other main course was by now going cold so one of use ate while the other waited for a replacement. This to be fair was fine when it eventually arrived, but how much nicer it would have been to eat together which was the whole point of the evening!
The table staff were doing a valiant job but were pitifully let down by the bar and kitchen. Sorry, won't be going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Mill, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear anibYorkshire,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for service and food you have received at the Old Mill. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Second time lucky !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our second visit to this well located , handsome building proved to be better than our first , which suffered from slow service both at the bar and from the kitchen, although the food was ok . On this occasion service was prompt and polite, my wifes steak was cooked just as required and my venison pie was tasty and hearty fare. No complaints and will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill also viewed

Brighouse, Huddersfield
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.