We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ace B&B very close to Huddersfield” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge @ Birkby Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge @ Birkby Hall to your Saves list
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Birkby Lane | Bailiff Bridge, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4JJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Brighouse B&B and Inns
Reading
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ace B&B very close to Huddersfield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This place is great. I've stayed here on a number of occasions now and never had anything to complain about.

Modern clean rooms in the anex part of the building with comfy bed and en-suite.
Really nice valley view.
Very friendly and helpful proprietor (I've only met Steve)
Secure off road parking
Tasty breakfast
Close to a couple of golf courses
Short walk from decent food pub

Not always that easy to get a room but that is surely a sign of quality! The kind of place I now check first if going near Huddersfield.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Despite arriving late at night, I received a lovely welcome. The room (Calder) was just what I needed and the view in the morning spectacular. Breakfast cooked by Eileen, was just what I needed and she was so friendly, it did not feel I had arrived only a few hours ago for the firdt time.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

2 night stay to research my ancestors in Brighouse on our way to Northumbria. We had the ground floor double, set up very well for disabled use, which explained the space and wet room facilities. We requested blankets which were provided without fuss. The guest lounge/breakfast room was comfortable and well equipped with a balcony to sit out on with countryside views. Breakfast had lots of choice and was cooked 'before your very eyes'! Our hosts were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Despite being handy for the town it was very quiet and we had a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room, designed for wheelchair use, recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Lodge at Birkby Hall
Ok so it might be July but we’ve just returned from 2 relaxing nights at The Lodge at Birkby Hall on the green-witch.com Christmas “do”, The hosts, Steve and Janet, are so welcoming, we felt like we’d known them forever. They were more than happy for the organiser of the weekend to have a decorated Christmas tree and even offered Christmas cd’s for us to play. The accommodation at the lodge is separate to the family home. The bedrooms and the guest lounge/breakfast room are well decorated, clean, with lovely toiletries in the bathrooms. We stayed in the ground floor Ryburn room which is designed to be easily accessible for disabled guests. The bedroom is huge, as big as the whole downstairs of my house and the wet room is spacious and well decorated. The bed was sooooooooo comfortable; it hard to get out of it!
Steve, the host, cooks the breakfast in the kitchen of the guest lounge, it’s rather like having your very own butler! Breakfast was very leisurely and the food was good quality, local produce, with a range of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts on offer before the main “full english” Toast and jams finished it off. Freshly brewed coffee, a selection of teas and orange juice were also provided. Steve served breakfast and quickly cleared away empty plates with the minimum intrusion. Best of all he knew everyone’s name and it was like having brekkie with a friend. It was good to chat with him over brekkie.I hope we didn’t hold him up.
The guest lounge/ breakfast room was perfect for us to get together and celebrate our summer Christmas. French doors opened off the breakfast room onto a lovely balcony overlooking the fields. Bats and birds flew around the house and added to the country feel of the place, you easily forgot where you were.
The Lodge at Birkby Hall was quite unexpected and provided the perfect getaway, it was stylish and welcoming. Was it missing anything? I would have liked some lamps to give a more cosy atmosphere. I’d love to go and stay again but it’s only 15 mins from where live so it seems a little extravagant,, although it might be good to stay over to sample the delights of Brooks Restaurant in Brighouse. It’s a nice choice for a visit to West Yorkshire or for business stays. You won’t be disappointed; but will feel looked after and cosseted. Steve and Janet are excellent/ fabulous/ amazing/ attentive/ welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here whilst researching family history nearby. A little bit out of the way but worth the effort. This is truly 5 star accommodation. Our host Steven was great, recommended nearby pub for dinner which was very good. Breakfast was excellent Beautiful outlook from our room across farm land, very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge @ Birkby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge @ Birkby Hall

Address: Birkby Lane | Bailiff Bridge, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brighouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge @ Birkby Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Lodge @ Birkby Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge @ Birkby Hall Brighouse, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge @ Birkby Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.