We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
Thorpe Lane, Badsworth WF9 1AB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our dream wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I married here on the 27th of July 13. We were torn between a couple of venues, and even toyed with the idea of getting hitched overseas. I will tell you now, the decision we made was 100% perfect. We couldn't have wished for a better day. I know it's an old cliche, but our wedding day really was the best day of our lives. Karen (wedding coordinator), Danny (master of ceremony), thank you both so much. These 2 people made our day run as smoothly as clockwork. The grounds are amazingly kept, the food was delicious and the all round atmosphere was just, wellperfect. All the waiters and bar staff were helpful and polite at all times, the d.j was excellent and even allowed our violinist (sarah carter, thank you very much) to muscle in and do a set in the middle of the evening. Basically rogerthorpe manor will help you create your perfect wedding day the way you want it. Not once did we fell pushed in any direction. What ever your needs Karen will make sure it happens. Basically just sit back, relax and enjoy every second of your day. As I write this review, friends are still calling or texting me and commenting on how amazing the whole day was. If your looking for a wedding venue, and I know there are some really nice ones around this area, but I would honestly consider here. O.k, it's not the most exclusive venue around, but with the whole wedding experience I'm sure it will be up there competing with the best. To all the team at Rogerthorpe, especially Karen, thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
Laura & Chris Abbey

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
17th August 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that your wedding day was exactly how you had planned it to be. We always ensure that every wedding gets our full attention to detail and we are extremely pleased to see reviews such as these on Trip Advisor.

Performing over 130 weddings each and every year at the Manor we appreciate that the wedding day itself has taken months of planning and is a very special day. Our staff including Karen, Danny are delighted to also read reviews such as these as it rewards them for their efforts.

Thank you for taking the time to prepare the review for the hotel on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    42
    26
    9
    15
See reviews for
50
60
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed at the Rogerthorpe Manor many times on company business and am delighted with the hotel and the value for money that it offers. The hotel is set in lovely gardens and has pleasant surroundings. All the staff, particularly Claire and Michael in the Jacobean pub are very friendly, helpful and take a great deal of pride in the jobs that they do. The food served, whether it is in the 1610 Steak Restaurant or the Jacobean pub is first class, would recommend this hotel and pub without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
17th August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your views and thoughts on our hotel. We are always delighted to hear that we have left you with a positive view on the hotel. The reviews of guests are priceless when possible future guests are choosing their hotel to stay at.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On the 15th of June I got married at Rogerthorpe Manor. From the second the wedding was booked the staff could not do enough for us. Karen our wedding coordinator was always on hand to answer any questions we had, no matter how trivial. I stayed the night before the wedding with family and friends and we ate in the Jacobean pub - the food was lovely and all the staff in the pub took great interest in everyone and made a lovely fuss of my grandma. The hotel rooms were also lovely and my mum and dad had a suite which was a great size. On the day of the wedding Karen and Danny (master of ceremonies) were truly brilliant as were all the waiters/waitresses. We'd upgraded our drinks package to the free flow - I can honestly say the staff were always there topping glasses up and all our guests commented so as well as saying how wonderful the food was at both the wedding breakfast and evening do. The day ran so smoothly it was perfect. We stayed a third night with some friends and every single member of staff took the time to enquire about our day which was a lovely touch. The great thing for me is the setting, grounds and grandeur of Rogerthorpe Manor is perfectly complemented by the fact that the hotel isn't a huge place so keeps that real personal touch. The attention to detail on the wedding package is second to none and we have some great momentoes that we've been able to bring away and keep. All in all the hotel and staff made our special day totally perfect and I honestly can't say thank you enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled that your wedding day was a great occasion. The staff including Karen work hard to ensure our reputation as a premier wedding venue is upheld time and time again.

Thank you for your glowing report!

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I stayed for a recent business trip for 3 nights at Rogerthorpe Manor and was delighted with the hotel and its setting. Lovely old manor house with an very sympathetic extension which blends really well with the original building. The hotel is set in its own grounds with lovely gardens and views of the surrounding countryside and is very popular for weddings and Proms nights - there were two Proms during my stay but they are very well organized so that they don't impact on hotel residents.
The Jacobean Pub is first class with an extensive menu, well cooked and presented food and great atmosphere. Its also obviously very popular with locals & non residents as it was very busy well into the evening. I also ate in the hotel steak restaurant during my stay and had the most memorable steak that I've ever eaten - first class! Great selection for breakfast served in the steak restaurant with waitress service.
The room was well presented, free Wi-Fi, nice toiletries and lots of nice touches like a few books to read. A great place to stay for leisure or business and I'll definitely be booking again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a garden view are on the quieter side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
13th August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent report on Trip Advisor. Comments such as yours are invaluable to future guests when they are making the important choice of where to stay.

We appreciate your kind words.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I recently got married here and had a wedding package organised almost entirely by Rogerthorpe Manor.

The package was a very good price and took care of the little details that I would never of thought of (until the last minute!)

The food at both the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was excellent even though we chose the cheapest meal options for both!

My biggest and only real criticism for the venue is the awful peach wall paper in both the function rooms. I'm positive a less offensive, more neutral magnolia through out would be much more appropriate, cheap and easy enough to do.

Thankfully I got married during the wonderful 2013 summer heat wave,so we made the very most of the beautiful out door areas, although I'm sure that peach wall paper will have made its way into several of my wedding photo's haunting me

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
30th July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel after your recent wedding held at the Manor.

We are delighted that you found the hotel to be up to its usual high standards both in the grounds and of food served.

We will take on board your comments regarding the decor for when we next decorate the Ballrooms!

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited Rogerthorpe Manor on Saturday, 27th July as I was a guest at a wedding. This hotel is perfect for such an occassion. The grounds are stunning with plenty of locations for photographs. The hotel itself is really, really nice. The bar was reasonably priced too. During the wedding the staff were fantastic and seemed pleased and honoured to host such an occassion. The food was delicous and very very filling.
The room was comfaortable and mixed tradition with stlye.
Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
30th July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent glowing report on Trip Advisor. Its honest, open reviews such as these that we love to read. I was particularly pleased to read your comments about staff caring so much, they do and hopefully this shows!!

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have visited this excellent hotel several times before and the latest visit was in April and May of this year. Our stay as always was very relaxing. The wonderful staff make you welcome as soon as you check in and the service is second to none. All the rooms are unique clean and comfortable. The gardens and grounds are immaculate and our meals in the 1610 restaurant served in the Oak room have never been less than fabulous quality and very good value for money. We have also eaten in the Jacobean Pub which is attached to the hotel and again was of a very good quality and price. We use this hotel as a halfway point when visiting relatives down south and we are so glad we found this fab hotel.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a number of different rooms and all have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerthorpe, Owner at BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
30th July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your glowing report on Trip Advisor. We love to hear great customer feedback. Trip Advisor comments are an open and honest account of your experience whist staying at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Richard Metcalfe
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel

Address: Thorpe Lane, Badsworth WF9 1AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Badsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Badsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel has been owned by the Metcalfe family for over 10 years and in this time every single area including the Award Winning Grounds have all been fully refurbished to a very high standard. We offer 22 Bedrooms with at least a 26" Plasma TV with over 100 TV & Radio Stations, Free WI-FI, a superb Jacobean Pub with Great Food and of course Sky Sports. The 2nd Dining area is the Award Winning 1610 Steak Restaurant opened in 2010 and serves over 6,000 customers each year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Badsworth
Badsworth Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.