We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a glimpse of a small, relatively undiscovered, hill town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pianigiano

Save Saved
You added Il Pianigiano to your Saves list
Il Pianigiano
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Pianigiano
Via Piano di Sotto 89, 50052 Certaldo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Certaldo B&B and Inns
New River, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get a glimpse of a small, relatively undiscovered, hill town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Cris and Pavlina, the friendly, knowledgeable young couple who hosted us were an absolute delight! They provided us with a great place to stay.. Great breakfasts served on our own balcony or shared patio, tips and transportation to town for eating out and grocery buying. Walking or biking the short distance to town were options when the were busy. Highly recommend! Great, clean, up-to-date apartment at an excellent price. Great location for trains to nearby tourist towns.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Armidale
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Il Pianigiano has such a lovely homely feel to it. Cris and his wife were wonderful hosts who treated you as old friends. The room was huge the bed very comfortable. It was lovely to come back to a clean room each day. I had a car which was so convenient from this location. I really wanted to get into the cycling thing but the days just flew past too quickly. Having the kitchen was great and also a hub to compare notes with other travellers at the end of the day. Cris even has a selection of wine there if you didn't get a bottle with an honor system of replacing it. I left a few items of clothing there - knew I shouldn't have put them in drawers! Cris very kindly sent them on to me at my next stop - when they arrived there were 5 tops - no wonder my case seemed light. Wonderful place to stay if your a female solo traveller - though I must admit this was the case everywhere I stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and were extremely happy with our accommodations. Cris, our host, was always happy to share his wealth of information on places to see, places to eat and the best ways to get there. The location was great for day trips to Florence, Sienna, Volterra, San Gimignano and Cinque Terra. The rooms were spacious and clean. The kitchen was ours to use, and we were made to feel at home when using the common area. Breakfast was a typical European breakfast that was always nice and fresh. A nice touch was the "emergency wine rack." If you forgot to pick up a bottle of wine, you were welcomed to take a bottle from the rack with the understanding that it would be replaced before checking out. It didn't have to be the same bottle of wine, just another bottle. This was something we took advantage of on several nights. Actually, we didn't have time to replace the bottle we drank the night before we left, and Cris simply ask that we include a small tip instead. All in all, a very pleasant stay where I would stay again and recommend to friends without any hesitation. Did I mention that the price was VERY reasonable as well?!? The only negative thing I could say was that there was a neighbor's dog that barked all night long one night, and there is a rooster in the neighborhood that does his job well.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor in the back of the house to the left. We slept with the window o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Nice and Clean, large rooms, kitchen (that can be used for guest cooking) Great host (Christiano) that gave us good tips on where to eat and nearby attractions. (Chrisitano, you are the best!)
the place is really cosy and make you feel at home right away.
goos prices.
location is good, very close to the Certaldo town center (supermarket Etc.) and historical grounds (worht a visit - very nice- go up with the funicular...).
breakfest was great.
i already recomended the place to some friends that went there...
i you like hanging with the guests you will also enjoy good company from arround the world...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We were guests of Cris and his family for 5 nights from 29th Aug - 2nd Sept 2011 to attend a wedding and were very impressed with Il Pianigiano.
As previously mentioned in the reviews, nothing was too much trouble for Cris, he was very friendly and there was nothing we can say but positive comments.
The b&b was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were filling and set you up for the day.
We walked into Certaldo every day (15-20 mins) to catch the train to Sienna, San Gimmiano and Florence and used the local coop for the provisions for our evening meal.
The 'emergency wine rack' was a fantastic idea which we made full use of,as was the garden were we ate al fresco every night. One thing not to forget was mossie spray as they were def in biting mode.
The other guests were of various nationalities and really pleasant, and we managed to maintain the stereo-typical image of brits aboad in not speaking anything but english.

We would have no hesitation in recommending Il Piangiano to all, enjoy the wonderful tuscan sights and Cris's hospitality. The only amenity missing which would make it near perfect was a swimming pool.
Thank you Cris!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

we loved our staying here.
great hosting.
clean. nice. comfortable. friendly. helpful.
breakfast. bikes.
laundry machine.
village. view.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We returned to Il Pianigiano for the fifth time, this time as a couple for our wedding anniversary. The welcome from Cris is always a delight and the atmosphere of this family run guest house is warm and welcoming. It seems that nothing is too much trouble while you are a guest. Breakfast is also included which is a delight at such a budget price. Offers of a free ride into town, there is free internet access, you can have free use of a bicycle. There is even a wine rack entitled "Emergency Wine" in case you are poorly prepared one evening. (A few euros a bottle).
The rooms are excellent value and made up every day. All in all a great place to stay in the heart of Tuscany. It was our first time arriving in Certaldo by train which was no hassle whatsoever. We landed at Pisa Airport which has a station inside the terminal, bought 2 return tickets for 23 euros and all the trains were on time! Airport to hotel 1 hour 40 minutes.
I recommend a stay at Il Pianigiano anytime!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. There are no bad ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Pianigiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pianigiano

Address: Via Piano di Sotto 89, 50052 Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Pianigiano is in Certaldo, right in the heart of Tuscany and the ideal starting point for tours to Florence, Siena, Pisa, S. Gimignano, Volterra and many other places. The old part of Certaldo is worth a visit itself. Clean and quiet Il Pianigiano is in the middle of the countryside, but still only a 15 minute walk from the town center. At il Pianigiano you can use bicycles, laundry facilities, common kitchen, internet station (or wi-fi if needed) and BBQ for free. It has a private parking place and a private entrance for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Il Pianigiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pianigiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.