We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owners and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latini Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Latini Hotel to your Saves list
Latini Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Platani 1 | Loc. Canonica, 53037 Certaldo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Certaldo
Wien
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly owners and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Not a very charming place due to the age of the building but with authentic and delicious cuisine. Very friendly owner and good wines. The specials are all home made-simple but tasty. It is real countryside cuisine. This hidden jewel is worth a stop....

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
31
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The couple who run this place are very unfriendly. They are really only interested in their adjoining restaurant, and even eating there was a miserable experience.

Hotel Certaldo is close by and the service there is far more friendly. It's more expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotellatini, Proprietario at Latini Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I truly am very sorry you felt that we are unfriendly and rude, I really am.
I think this the first time a customer describes us as unfriendly and rude.

I do remember you very well, you were staying here while your friends were honeymooning at the hotel nearby. I am sorry if you felt we were unfriendly, I believe it is just difficult to be nice to loud customers who walk around with beer bottles in their hand.

I am sorry if your miserable lunch experience happened on a busy sunday, you brought your own drinks to the table (what's that all about?) and you and your friends (three people) shared ONE appetizer. And you short payed your bill.

Customers such as yourself are difficult to forget. I am actually wondering why you waited so long to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gimignano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you are thinking of basing yourself somewhere in Tuscany then exploring from there, look no further. Latini Hotel provides basic accomodation which is clean and comfortable with good amenities. The adjoining "Ristorante Latini Albergo" gets 9 stars from us. The food is glorious and the chef provides a constant array of imaginative and different dishes. But the 10 stars go to the owner Chiara, whose generosity and friendliness made our stay there, unforgettable. We loved every minute of our week in Certaldo Tuscany.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Rooms are simple, have TV, free wi-fi, and plenty of storage space for your luggage and belongings. Doesn't have a clock or alarm clock but you can tell the front desk to set a wake-up call for you. Breakfast is typical Italian (continental consisting of cereal, yogurt, pastries, and coffee/tea). The only thing I noticed that was different than the brochure: no free bottled water (I didn't use the copy or fax machine so I can't comment on that). Service was very friendly and the restaurant is very good. Only MAJOR problem is that they put in a new bridge system in the week before we arrived and therefore our Garmin was completely lost. We drove around in the dark on 2 different nights trying to find the hotel. All in all, I'm sure that problem will get solved soon and the value is unprecedented. Also, for people new to this region, it's better to stay in Certaldo (or the like) versus a moutain top town like San G (this hotel is actually closer to Certaldo than San G) but that's good b/c it's much easier to hop around to all the different towns than having to go 15-20 minutes up and down the mountain each time to visit other towns, it will save you lots of time each way....and money!!
P.S. Last little bit of info, we stayed over on a Saturday night and there was a party directly outside our window, maybe a coincidence or maybe it happens every Saturday night. Bring some ear plugs just in case.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We read great reviews about this place so needless to say were not concerned..........until we arrived at 3.30pm on the afternoon of our check-in and the hotel was all locked up!! There was a sign on with a telephone number on the front door which we tried calling but no-one answered!! We were obviously very worried (especially as a local told us the hotel was closed on a monday - the day we were trying to check in) and began frantically trying to find somewhere else to stay! We returned to Hotel Latini an hour later and to our relief someone also pulled up and opened the hotel! It seems the owners often don't cover the reception desk!? However, that was our one and only bad experience as from here on in all the staff were very helpful and the rooms were a decent size. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night which was great and when we paid the bill on check-out it seemed we got some sort of discount for the meal! I would certainly recommend this place if you want to see San Gimignano and as we were leaving the receptionist said how beatiful the old town in Certaldo is so that might be worth a try too. My only advice would be - dont try to check in too early!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was about 45 minutes outside of Florence and central to the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Great people, big room with a terrace that surrounded two sides. They have a restaurant on the ground floor and -- maybe it was just us -- but the food was so salty it was almost inedible one night.

Also they would only give you internet access for a couple of hours at a time. Would have been nice to get a 24-hour password and not have to go down to the front desk frequently asking for more internet time.

People were very nice and accommodating and even gave us ice from the bar!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

If your travels take you off the beaten track in search of good food, genuine italian culture and without hordes of tourists to contend with, then head for Certaldo in the Tuscany region. It is here that you will find the Hotel Latini, a small family run hotel which oozes charm and authenticity, staffed by people who are friendly, conversant in english, and who will go out of their way to make you welcome. On top of all that, the ristorante attached to the hotel is out of this world. The food is genuine Tuscany, created and served bu people who genuinely care that they ensure their guests experience the real thing. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable. It is located on the outskirts of town, so it is fairly quiet, plus it is ideally located to enjoy all the other sites of the region. Well worth staying at. Coyldn't recommend it any higher. One thing should be noted - this hotel is listed as being at San Gimignano, however it is actually at Certaldo, about 10km away. no big deal, but should be noted.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latini Hotel

Address: Via Dei Platani 1 | Loc. Canonica, 53037 Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Latini Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated. All Rooms have private bathrooms with hair dryers, Satellite Television, air conditioning and Courtesy Kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Latini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.