We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, simple and straight-forward service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Latini Hotel to your Saves list
Latini Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Latini Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dei Platani 1 | Loc. Canonica, 53037 Certaldo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Certaldo
Rochester
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great value, simple and straight-forward service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Rooms are simple, have TV, free wi-fi, and plenty of storage space for your luggage and belongings. Doesn't have a clock or alarm clock but you can tell the front desk to set a wake-up call for you. Breakfast is typical Italian (continental consisting of cereal, yogurt, pastries, and coffee/tea). The only thing I noticed that was different than the brochure: no free bottled water (I didn't use the copy or fax machine so I can't comment on that). Service was very friendly and the restaurant is very good. Only MAJOR problem is that they put in a new bridge system in the week before we arrived and therefore our Garmin was completely lost. We drove around in the dark on 2 different nights trying to find the hotel. All in all, I'm sure that problem will get solved soon and the value is unprecedented. Also, for people new to this region, it's better to stay in Certaldo (or the like) versus a moutain top town like San G (this hotel is actually closer to Certaldo than San G) but that's good b/c it's much easier to hop around to all the different towns than having to go 15-20 minutes up and down the mountain each time to visit other towns, it will save you lots of time each way....and money!!
P.S. Last little bit of info, we stayed over on a Saturday night and there was a party directly outside our window, maybe a coincidence or maybe it happens every Saturday night. Bring some ear plugs just in case.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We read great reviews about this place so needless to say were not concerned..........until we arrived at 3.30pm on the afternoon of our check-in and the hotel was all locked up!! There was a sign on with a telephone number on the front door which we tried calling but no-one answered!! We were obviously very worried (especially as a local told us the hotel was closed on a monday - the day we were trying to check in) and began frantically trying to find somewhere else to stay! We returned to Hotel Latini an hour later and to our relief someone also pulled up and opened the hotel! It seems the owners often don't cover the reception desk!? However, that was our one and only bad experience as from here on in all the staff were very helpful and the rooms were a decent size. We ate at the hotel restaurant one night which was great and when we paid the bill on check-out it seemed we got some sort of discount for the meal! I would certainly recommend this place if you want to see San Gimignano and as we were leaving the receptionist said how beatiful the old town in Certaldo is so that might be worth a try too. My only advice would be - dont try to check in too early!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was about 45 minutes outside of Florence and central to the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Great people, big room with a terrace that surrounded two sides. They have a restaurant on the ground floor and -- maybe it was just us -- but the food was so salty it was almost inedible one night.

Also they would only give you internet access for a couple of hours at a time. Would have been nice to get a 24-hour password and not have to go down to the front desk frequently asking for more internet time.

People were very nice and accommodating and even gave us ice from the bar!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

If your travels take you off the beaten track in search of good food, genuine italian culture and without hordes of tourists to contend with, then head for Certaldo in the Tuscany region. It is here that you will find the Hotel Latini, a small family run hotel which oozes charm and authenticity, staffed by people who are friendly, conversant in english, and who will go out of their way to make you welcome. On top of all that, the ristorante attached to the hotel is out of this world. The food is genuine Tuscany, created and served bu people who genuinely care that they ensure their guests experience the real thing. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are comfortable. It is located on the outskirts of town, so it is fairly quiet, plus it is ideally located to enjoy all the other sites of the region. Well worth staying at. Coyldn't recommend it any higher. One thing should be noted - this hotel is listed as being at San Gimignano, however it is actually at Certaldo, about 10km away. no big deal, but should be noted.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We were very fortunate to have chanced upon Hotel Latini. The owner made us feel so very welcome, offering us coffee and cake on our arrival and chatting to us before showing us our room. It was comfortable, clean and attractive with its own bathroom and free Wifi and it had a view of the nearby farms and hills. Certaldo is in Tuscany and from there we were able to visit several well known Tuscan towns. We ate in the attached restaurant every night - the food was beautiful and the owners take great pride in introducing their guests to some of the locally grown food. We highly recommend Hotel Latini to people visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Latini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latini Hotel

Address: Via Dei Platani 1 | Loc. Canonica, 53037 Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Latini Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently Renovated. All Rooms have private bathrooms with hair dryers, Satellite Television, air conditioning and Courtesy Kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Latini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.