We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant hotel wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Certaldo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Certaldo to your Saves list
Hotel Certaldo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Molino, 74, 50052 Certaldo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Certaldo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Weston, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellant hotel wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was clean and nice and breakfast was wonderful and we had a lot of choices - Elena was very helpful and recommended a very good winery tour nearby and suggested restaurants to go to - Margarita and Irene was helpful as well -they charged our GPS and helped us when we had trouble with the rented car,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
118
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Beautiful property and luxurious rooms + best breakfast we had on our trip to Italy. Also, wonderful service - we came without a plan and the concierge was super-helpful in setting up a driver and activities at local wineries, San Giamanano, etc.. We said thank you, and the concierge responded "It is my job and I LOVE it." That really captures the attitude of the staff here. Perfect location from which to explore Tuscany!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a perfect stay at Hotel Certaldo at the beginning of December 2013. The hotel itself is not in a stunning setting as such (near a main road) but the access both from the motrway and in to Certaldo make it a great location. The main advantage of the hotel is that it's just perfect inside - like a boutique hotel with great attention to detail and lovely interiors, both in the hotel itself and the rooms. The bed in our room was one of the best we've ever slept in. The hotel staff are what really makes it - nothing is too much trouble they are so helpful and nice touches like a drink on arrival to a quick esperesso before we left. Margerita was particularly helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was also great - plenty of choice of fruits, cereals, cheeses, meats, breads and hot buffet selection. Certaldo itself is such a stunning location in Tuscany and we can not wait to go back and stay at Hotel Certaldo again - it has such a homely feel and one important thing I forgot to mention - AMAZING Toscana wine at only 15 euros (which may seem a lot for Italy, but is cheap for a hotel of this standard and is one of the best we've had on our trips to Tuscany).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent week at Hotel Certaldo in August 2013 as a couple. Staff are very well trained and understand importance or smiling and being helpful - they have lots of information available. Certaldo makes great touring base for one of the prettiest areas of Tuscany, well within reach of San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena, Florence and Pisa. But you really need transport, we had hire car. Hotel is a converted mill and main building is very high quality with many original features. There are 2 other buildings which are work in progress, one houses a small but new gym. The rooms are very nicely appointed with tall ceilings (floor 2), windows to 2 sides, fridge, large shower room, where everything works, we were VERY comfortable. Despite being adjacent to the bypass the rooms were quiet, with controllable aircon. We had a few mossies in the room, but hunted them down, The breakfast is buffet style but all fresh and good selection plus waitress service for hot drinks (with smiles too). You can eat inside or out. At night you can wander through the "new" part of Certaldo which has little to inspire until you take the frequent Fenicular (€1.50 return) to Certaldo Alto (or 10 min uphill walk) which is another world. Historic buildings mostly used as restaurants, some with superb views over miles of Tuscan countryside. We sat and watched the moon rise while eating - very romantic. While Certaldo as a tourist destination is somewhat B list compared to San Gimignano and Volterra, the Hotel is certainly very A list and ideal if you want to come back to a quality oasis after a long day sight seeing. Parking is free - which shouldn't be taken for granted in Tuscany, the pool is not for swimmers - too short, but is pleasant to sit around sunbathing and to have the occasional cooling dip.

Room Tip: Room 203 had high ceilings and windows to 2 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel Certaldo is a classy hotel in an ideal location to explore Tuscany, rooms are cool, clean and spacious, the breakfast is hearty and the swimming pool is a welcome relief after a days sight-seeing. The staff are extremely friendly, most helpful and knowledgeable, not just about the local area but the whole of Italy. A short 10 minute walk brings you to the centre of Certaldo, whether you go up the Funicular to Certaldo Alto or try one of the restaurants around the main square you really cannot go wrong. All serve quality food at reasonable prices.
Downsides to the hotel are the little extras that you have to pay should you want them; i.e. towels for the pool and charge for Wi-Fi but you can survive without the internet and the charges are small.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived the hotel exceeded our expectations. The helpful and courteous staff, complementary glass of prosecco and spotless and well appointed rooms were all excellent. It is well located to explore the Tuscan countryside and the ease of catching the train to Florence and Sienna was an added bonus. Certaldo Alto, the medieval town about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, is a gem and undiscovered by the majority of tourists to the area which makes it a pleasure to visit. I do not hesitate to recommend Hotel Certaldo for really good value accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have just returned from our second trip to Hotel Certaldo and will return. The hotel is excellently situated to explore Tuscany, by car and by train. Certaldo itself has a lovely local feel and we loved Certaldo Alto. The hotel is very comfortable, the rooms are very spacious and the pool and gardens are really nice. The outstanding point about the hotel are the staff, who are all very pleasant and very helpful. A great trip.

Room Tip: We were in the standard room, which suited us well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Certaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Certaldo

Address: Via Del Molino, 74, 50052 Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Certaldo 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Hotel Certaldo, nato dall'accurata ristrutturazione dell'antico e storico mulino di Certaldo del 1500, e oggi un elegante Hotel 4 stelle ricco di tradizione e storia che passa dalla famiglia De' Medici all'ordine nobiliare dei Cavalieri di Santo Stefano. L'atmosfera dell'Hotel Certaldo e tipicamente toscana, completa di tutti i comfort e a contatto con la natura e con il fiume Elsa che scorre proprio sotto l'edificio. L'Hotel Certaldo e l'ideale sia per la tua vacanza in Toscana all'insegna del piacere e del divertimento, per i soggiorni di lavoro ed anche per il tuo indimenticabile matrimonio in Toscana! L'Hotel Certaldo e situato in una zona strategica, proprio nel cuore del Chianti, a qualche minuto a piedi dal centro di Certaldo e dal borgo medievale di Certaldo Alto ed equidistante dai piu importanti centri: Firenze, Siena, Pisa, Lucca (ottimi i collegamenti ferroviari! La stazione di Certaldo e a 5 minuti a piedi!). Anche la celebre San Gimignano e a soli 10 minuti in auto e ancora: Volterra, Monteriggioni, San Miniato, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Colle di Val d'Elsa, Vinci, e tutta l'area del Chianti. A disposizione una piscina esterna stagionale aperta 24 h, una fitness room 24 h, il parcheggio privato e l'ampio e curato giardino privato di oltre 5000 mq ideale anche per ricevimenti e banchetti. Per i tuoi meeting aziendali in Toscana l'Hotel Certaldo offre un'attrezzata sala meeting dotata di video proiettore e maxi schermo. La ricca colazione a buffet e servita tutti i giorni dalle 7:30 alle 10:00 anche in giardino (tempo permettendo): caldi croissant, frutta fresca, salumi e formaggi tipici e torte, biscotti, pane e schiacciate della tradizione toscana preparate direttamente da noi!Possibilita di light lunch e dinner anche per singoli, cene aziendali e ricevimenti; ristoranti e locali tipici a qualche minuto a piedi dall'Hotel Certaldo.Attivita nelle vicinanze: degustazioni di vini toscani e altri prodotti tipici come la celebre marmellata di cipolle di Certaldo, visite a musei, castelli e borghi medievali, passeggiate a cavallo nella spledida campagna toscana, lezioni di ceramica, percorsi naturalistici, visite guidate, lezioni di cucina toscana, shopping in outlet, noleggio bici/auto, massaggi su appuntamento, voli in mongolfiera sul Chianti, tariffe agevolate per uno dei piu rinomati Golf Club in Toscana.Reception aperta 24 h, personale multilingue, bar interno, prenotazioni taxi/ristoranti, escursioni ecc..., Mappe e cartine, informazioni turismo Toscana, deposito interno bici, disponibilita di culle, camere disabili, camere comunicanti, ascensore, servizio sveglia, pulizie quotidiane, aria condizionata/riscaldamento regolabile, camere insonorizzate, sky tv, cassaforte in camera anche per pc, telefono, asciugacapelli, doccia, ferro da stiro a richiesta. Servizio lavanderia esterna (no week end), frigobar, connessioni wi-fi/internet point, room service a pagamento. Gruppi accettati. Contattaci direttamente per conoscere l'offerta piu vantaggiosa del momento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Certaldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Certaldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.