We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Paluffo - Main House B&B to your Saves list
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
Via Citerna, 144, 50052 Certaldo, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Certaldo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Schwarzach, Austria
1 review
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Our stay was wonderful in that Hotel. The stuff was very friendly and we felt welcomed.
We were in the yellow room and loved it. The swimmingpool is nature pure.
Also it is very close to Florence and other sightseeings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monza, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Last month my girlfriend had a wonderful weekend at Il Paluffo. The atmosphere and the energy in their idyllic setting is wonderful. The staff genuinely was interested in us, who we were, where we came from, and why we were there. I highly recommend it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My fiancee and I recently stayed at Il Paluffo during a trip to plan our upcoming wedding at the nearby Tenuta di Sticciano. We wanted a quiet, relaxing base, and one which was close to our wedding venue. Il Paluffo fulfilled everything that we wanted. We chose the Blue room, which is decorated in a classic Tuscan style and has a vast blue bathroom with a fantastic shower.
What sets Il Paluffo apart is their wonderful service. Prior to our stay we were sent several emails to clarify our arrival details, and offer services for our stay. Having followed the useful driving instructions (using a car to get here is essential) we arrived and were greeted by Federica, the Hospitality manager. She gave us a tour of the building and gave us a mini iPad with lots of useful information. Throughout our stay, Federica was able to give lots of help, and (despite her claims otherwise) her English was excellent!
There was a nice selection of wine available to buy, although we noted that one particular chianti was 'fizzy' when we tried it (twice!)- however, Federica kindly refunded us for these.
The room was comfortable, homely and very quiet and allowed us a chance to catch up on some well needed sleep.
My overall mark would probably be 4.5/5- with only breakfast being a slight let down. The choice is slightly limited, and maybe something to go with the freshly cooked eggs would be nice?
Overall though, it was a lovely stay and we plan to stay again immediately prior to our wedding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

In March 2014, my fiancé and I (in our late twenties) stayed at Il Paluffo near Florence for one week.

The staff was really friendly and we felt very welcome.

Our room (Liberty Room), including the bathroom, were spacious and nicely decorated. We chose this room partly because of its bathtub which was nice and big; however, be aware of the fact that it isn’t very practical if you just want to take a quick shower. Everything was clean.

There are some nice common areas where you can sit by the fire, relax, etc. There is also a beautiful natural pool area with an amazing view of the Tuscan hills.

The hotel is located southwest of Florence (40 minutes by car) and close to many towns worthwhile a visit (Siena, San Gimignao, Volterra, Montereggioni, etc.) as well as the Chianti-Region. Upon check-in we received an iPad - with suggestions for itineraries, restaurants, etc. - which we could use during our stay at Il Paluffo. It also had a 3G-connection, so we could take it with us on our trips. Be aware of the fact that it can take a while to get around in Tuscany as most roads are narrow and winding. There are many signs leading to the hotel, so it is relatively easy to find – at least at daylight. The last part of the road to the hotel is a narrow gravel road.

There is free parking right in front of the hotel. There is free Wi-Fi, too.

Breakfast was included in the price. It was served in the old wine cellar and there was a small but good selection of things including Il Paluffo’s own honey and olive oil as well as eggs cooked to order. You can actually purchase Il Paluffo’s honey and olive oil as well as some other products, if you feel like bringing some home with you.

There is no restaurant at Il Paluffo or close by, so you would generally have to take the car, in order to have lunch or dinner.

Please note that there are no permanent opening hours for the reception. However, the staff was extremely helpful and service-minded.

It is possible to book various activities at Il Paluffo including many different cooking classes. We chose to try a Pasta-cooking class which lasted about 2 hours (about 50 Euro / person). In this class we made our own pasta under the guidance of chef Wilma and we enjoyed it very much. One bottle of wine and dessert were included in the price.

Overall, we had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Il Paluffo and therefore, we choose to give the hotel 5/5. We paid roughly 90 Euro / night (low-season). We recommend Il Paluffo very much and will definitely consider visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We very much liked our stay at Il Paluffo. The place is quiet, located in the middle of wineyards and has breathtaking views on the valley. It is a bit hard to find so it is definitely helpful to have a GPS. The owners provide a mini Ipad to help you during your stay which is good for those who do not have internet access abroad. The place itself is beautiful, the rooms are spacious, the classic furniture and the original paintings on the ceiling give a lot of charm. We enjoyed having a glass of wine in the evening in front of the fire in the living-room.

The hosts are very friendly and the service very good. Frederica helped us a lot by giving us some advice about the sights to visit in the region and about the restaurants nearby. Since we were there at low-season, many restaurants were closed and she called some to make sure they were open. It was a bit annoying to have to drive 20mn every evening to have dinner but i guess it is not the case in the summer when you have more restaurants open and it is the price to pay to be able to stay on the countryside in a peaceful area.

The breakfast was good but could be improved: a carafe of still water should be added to the buffet (next to the sparkling water, milk and juices), there is only one type of salami and cheese (the same everyday) so maybe it could be improved by offering other sorts and some vegetables too. I found the bread a bit hard but it seemed to be the case in many restaurants in Tuscany. I appreciated the hand-made cake made every other day.

There were some construction works going on as we were there that started around 9am which made it difficult to sleep late. For those who are planning to stay at the B&B during the day, you might want to ask if the construction works are still going on.

I strongly recommend the place for a charming stay on the Tuscan countryside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks for your kind suggestions, the renovation works are now finished and a new walk path will be soon available for our guests. We offer for breakfast purified fresh water to our guests and the classic daily baked tuscan bread that has a crusty surface with a soft heart.

Grazie e arrivederci!

Luca and Liana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay and feel like your are in Tuscany, this is the place. The old farm house was used during centuries and it was refurnished and became a small B&B a few years ago. Do not expect a Hotel type of stay but more like a B&B and take your key and make yourself at home.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures and choose the one that you like the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucapaluffo, Proprietario at Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Our aim is to let our guests free to feel home: they can relax in the common areas sipping a glass of wine from the honesty bar or taking delight from our cooking classes or loosing the mind following the calm sounds of our country....It's up to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Cannot say enough about the great eperience we had here. A 2 hour drive from Florence, deep into the rolling Tuscan landscape and hillsides, is Il Paluffo. An old, restored olive oil and wine making farm that host eco friendly tourists and the like. Rooms are nice, old furniture (antique) modern tubs, cool pool, yes i went swimming, very deep in fact. not your 9 foot american pool, nice and cool on this end of summer day. The owners are so nice, the staff is amazing. We opted for the Pasta cooking class, which came together with our special mama chef Vilma. It was a real treat to learn how to make pasta, and then cook and eat it in the old dining room, resmbling a cave. The vistas here are amazing, sunsets especially. If you look 15 miles west, as the crow flies, you can see San Gimignano, a medium sized hittl town that you must go see in person during your stay. Il Paluffo is in the town of Fiona, so when you are traveling the multitudes of roads to get here, do not go down the hill to Certaldo city, stay in Fiano and follow Paluffo directions. Ceretaldo is a very small hill town, not a lot of people in late october, say 15 in the whole city walking around. As mentioned, go to San Gimignano, a 20 minute drive, park outside the city walls, public parking, and roam the cool tower town early in the morning. Visitors pick up by noon. Our favorite hill town, choosing from Siena, Certaldo, and this one. Just go! Back to Paluffo. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: They recommended CASA CHIANTI for dinner one night, WOW! What a great dining experience in the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Paluffo - Main House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paluffo - Main House B&B

Address: Via Citerna, 144, 50052 Certaldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic building has been restored, conserving its original structure and design. Paluffo features four independent apartments, each of them with a private garden – Torre, Stillo, Forno and Frantoio -, and the owner’s house, with four rooms available for B&B. The housing estate includes the historical mill, completed with a millstone and a press for the pressing of olives, a fermentation room used in the past for the production of wine, a wine cellar dug in the tufa rock, a bread oven and two wells. The fermentation room and the wine cellar are now at the disposal of guests as common spaces, and can be used for meetings and courses.. A laundry area is also available to guests. Paluffo is surrounded by six hectares of land on which olive trees and grape vines are cultivated. Guests can taste and buy the extra virgin olive oil produced in the estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Il Paluffo - Main House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Paluffo - Main House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.