We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu meal for 28 please - LOVELY THANK YOU !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria di Casa Chianti

Osteria di Casa Chianti
Loc. Case Nuove 77 Per GPS: Localita Palazzaccio, Certaldo, Italy
+39 0571 669688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Certaldo
Price range: $24 - $43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impromptu meal for 28 please - LOVELY THANK YOU !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were part of a 28 strong party staying locally for a week with the bride and groom and decided last minute to phone and ask if we could eat there that night - no problem was the answer. The staff could not do enough for us and we had a age-range from a cute 1 yr old to people with plenty of experience in wine and food :)
I would like to thank the owner, chef and the staff for making it a superb evening and giving us a memory which will remain with us for a very long time. Top food, great value, attentive service, marvellous sunset and no rush service. Thank you again - brilliant !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    62
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best meal i had since Feb 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

very delicious, very friendly. i simply love the restuarant!

i stayed 3 days in the B&B upstairs, had 2 dinners with Osteria di Casa Chianti, me and my husband were so addicted to it! The food and wine are so dicilous, sunset view is beautiful, service is perfectly comfortable. Actually i was there on 9th August night, didnt notice Osteria di Casa Chianti had a problem with customer...
Anyway, i miss the sliced beef with fancy salad, my husbad misses his raw beef starters and qual(is it the right spelling? small bird). Wish we stayed longer.

Worth to go!! Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a serious contender for the worst dining experience of my life. A place filled with mostly german tourists sweating under the unaviodable sun umbrellas which are so important at 9 o'clock in the evening to prevent you from seeing the wonderful star filled tuscan sky, ignorant service, disgusting food....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casachianti, Proprietario at Osteria di Casa Chianti, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Worst customer of my career.
It took me about 1 minute to understand your approach. You were annoyed and disgusted when I told you it was not possible to change your table with the one at the fence, which was too big and, most of all, already reserved.
You arrogantly asked the waitress to change the ice box (which keeps the bottle cold longer) with some real ice (which melted within 3 minutes) and she did exactly what you told her, but the best part of it was when the girl stepped out of the kitchen with the ice bucket and you were checking out what she was doing from the door…it looked a bit creepy.
I don’t know what kind of judgment you can give about the food, you didn’t even eat your meal, but if Tripadvisor’s not enough for you, you should have asked to all those sweaty german tourists (most of them are friends, not even customers) who come back to us every time they’re in Italy, and that’s why they got to know tuscan food and wines perfectly.
I reckon this review was really useful, because it assures me I won’t see you again and that’s why the staff, the german tourists and the beautiful sky of tuscan show their gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
“Great Views, Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here two evenings. It loved it and would go back in a heart beat. Favorite dishes were pumpkin stuffed rabbit, a simple pasta with zucchini, carrot, and celery. I also tried the Fiorentina steak. It was a great cut of meat - but don't try to fool yourself, it is a beast - about 3.5 pounds. Also, the waiter had it cooked the traditional way, which is essentially rare. I was prepared for this and enjoyed it, but others might be surprised! Really good views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bierbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very fine restaurant with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Been here twice, food was very nice, different then in mostother places but excellent taste. Service was friendly and one of the girls was perfect in english. Absolutely recommended. I would make reservations because it gets quite busy and the outside places are limited. It would als be nice to have a little more choice for children. They do not serve pizza but a small one for the kids would be an advantage.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria di Casa Chianti also viewed

Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 
Certaldo, Province of Florence
Certaldo, Province of Florence
 

Been to Osteria di Casa Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria di Casa Chianti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.