We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time stay - perfect as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Pozzo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa il Pozzo to your Saves list
Villa il Pozzo
50052 Certaldo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Herts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Third time stay - perfect as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have stayed at Il Pozzo twice before, the last time eight years ago when our eldest child was one. We returned now that our children are old enough to appreciate the beauty of Tuscany. As always, we stayed in 'Il Camino' and as always, Alessandro could not do more to make sure we enjoyed our stay - including booking tables for us at the fabulous Casa Chianti trattoria just 1km further along the road.

This was our first stay in the summer holiday period and the apartments were all full which meant the pool area was much more busy than on previous trips but we were glad to see they had invested in much more loungers and shade pergolas. The large size of the pool meant that plenty people could enjoy it simultaneously. Given the very hot and dry summer the gardens looked beautiful and dinner on the terrace overlooking the vineyards with San Gimignano in the distance, whilst drinking the wines produced from those grapes by the Gori family simply cannot be beaten.

Florence is a easy 40 minute drive straight to the free parking at Piazzale Michelangelo and San Gimignano is a short hop way. Pisa is 70 mins trip - mostly motorway. Just make sure you plan your journeys/SatNav routes in advance to avoid entering ZTLs and incurring €100 fines.

We will be back for our fourth visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rekamds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Triel Sur Seine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife, daughter, and I have just returned from a week-long stay at Villa il Pozzo, and we could not have been more pleased by our experience. The villa itself is superb - the apartment we rented (il volte) was huge and cool (temperature-wise), despite the 37º outside temperature, and cool (architecturally) with neat, brick arched ceilings throughout, and tastefully decorated.

Gianni and Alessandro are extremely friendly, enjoyable, and kind hosts. They hosted an interesting and casual wine-tasting session for my wife and I, introducing me to their fine Tenuta della Luia. If you read this review and stay at Villa il Pozzo, ask Gianni to let you try some of his "Hello, Kitty!" rosé ;-)

The villa is located on top of a hill, overlooking the Gori family's olive trees and vineyards. The vantage from the villa's terraces are breathtaking, with views of the green and gold rolling Tuscan hills as far as the eye can see, interrupted by the occasional medieval church tower and a splendid silhouette of the towers of San Gimignano.

The villa's pool is large, cool, and clean. If my nine year-old daughter had her way, we would have spent every one of our seven days just hanging out at the pool. When we weren't spending time at the pool, we were able to visit Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, and Certaldo, all at most an easy 45 minutes away from the villa.

Villa il Pozzo is a picture-perfect little pocket of Tuscan paradise - highly recommended!

tom

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t0mf1scher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You know that sinking feeling when you have spent months planning your big vacation, researched everything, and then you are driving up and it looks nothing like the pictures? Well thats NOT going to happen at the fabulous Villa il Pozzo! Everything was even more beautiful than the pictures, and Alessandro was kinder, more helpful than we could have hoped, helped with dinner reservations, touring suggestions and even met us at 11 pm when we locked ourselves out.
Kitchen have enough to make simple meals, beds are very firm (I didn't mind this), and AC units worked wonderfully, even in the July heat
We were traveling with five children, and had the upstairs units. We enjoyed the beautiful piano, antiques, fabulous times on the patio with views of the tuscan hills. The pool is refreshing and lovely- hills surrounding with vineyards, olive trees and even a wild boar (a baby)
The drive from Certaldo was about 10 minutes, great restaurant down the street, wonderful, personal wine tasting that was educational for all. We are anxious for our wine to arrive by mail
but can it taste as good without the view?
I'm a picky traveler and I feel comfortable recommending this beautiful spot to a couple for a romantic get a way or a family for a great base to explore tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl333333_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been to Villa Il Pozzo three times and every time our experience has been wonderful. We were lucky enough to stay at the villa for a week with our family and friends this June. We celebrated our wedding by having a garden reception back at the villa. The villa is seriously stunning. Each apartment is different,but beautifully decorated throughout. The views are breathtaking and all of our guests were blown away by the sheer beauty. The owners of Villa Il Pozzo are super helpful and very sweet. THe day after the wedding we josted a pizza party at the pool. Tasty pizzas were cooked in the wood burning pizza oven and wine tasting was enjoyed. A wonderful, wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Bella Vista has the most beautiful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My friend got married here in June, and we were lucky enough to stay - it is such a special place! It is a little further out of Certaldo than they say (about 6km), but it really doesn't matter - the views are breathtaking, and the owners are just so helpful & friendly. I would more than recommend this to anyone looking to get married or groups looking for a house to use. Wine is also very special (made on site) and facilities are great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MovinToTheCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villailpozzo, Proprietario at Villa il Pozzo, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear SKCF,
we thank you for the time taken to write this words on TA... we're so happy all went ok with your friend's wedding.
Sure that the groom and the bride will better remember these days at Villa il Pozzo :-)

You'll be always welcomed back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days and found it a perfect location to explore Tuscany (within 30 minutes drive from Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, Voltera etc.) Rooms are apartment like so self catering - recommended to keep overall costs down. Good wine is made on the farm and enjoyable winetasting was presented by Gianni (the one son). Service is typical laid-back Italian style. Huge pool, beautiful views and quiet country feel to round off a 9 out of 10 experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slabberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Villa il Pozzo is situated 10 minutes drive from Certaldo, is equi distant from Florence and Siena and is 20 minutes drive from San Gimiginano. Perfect for exploring Tuscany. We were there for the first 2 weeks of April 2012. This is a beautiful ancient property with its own excellent winery. It has a number of large beautifully decorated apartments with fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside. We were made to feel more than welcome by our hosts the Gori family. If you want to relax in tasteful splendour and beauty this the place for you. We have just taken delivery of the delicious Tenuta della Luia wine they produce here and when we return to Tuscany it will be to stay at the lovely Villa il Pozzo.

Room Tip: We loved the Bella Vista apartments as the uninterrupted views to the towers of San Gimiginano were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thesiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Certaldo hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Certaldo
Hotel Certaldo
#2 of 4 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il Paluffo - Main House B&B
3.1 mi away
Podere Benintendi
Podere Benintendi
#1 of 4 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Latini Hotel
Latini Hotel
#4 of 4 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
3.5 mi away
Albergo Il Castello
Albergo Il Castello
#3 of 4 in Certaldo
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Il Pianigiano
Il Pianigiano
#3 of 13 in Certaldo
5.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Pozzo

Address: 50052 Certaldo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically positioned between Florence and Siena, in the heart of the Chianti region, Villa Il Pozzo will impress its guests with stunning views of the gentle rolling hills leading to the extraordinary ancient towers of San Gimignano. All its beautiful apartments are personally furnished by Mrs. Gori with precious original antiques. Amenities include a magnificent Mediterranean-style swimming pool, a private library with recent and antique literature, a breathtaking classical Tuscan garden with hand-carved stone balusters and huge terracotta urns. Our guests may stroll through the olive groves and vineyards surrounding the Villa and taste the excellent Chianti wine and Olive Oil produced by the farm. Stucco, frescoes, and high hand-painted ceilings make Villa Il Pozzo the perfect place for an unforgettable vacation. At walking distance there are a family-owned Tuscan Restaurant, a mini-market, and one of the oldest churches of the region. Following an old tradition, all the weddings of the Gori family members are celebrated in this Romanic jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa il Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing