We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore Tuscany.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa il Pozzo

Save Saved
You added Villa il Pozzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa il Pozzo
Fiorentina, 50052 Certaldo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Perfect location to explore Tuscany.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days and found it a perfect location to explore Tuscany (within 30 minutes drive from Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano, Voltera etc.) Rooms are apartment like so self catering - recommended to keep overall costs down. Good wine is made on the farm and enjoyable winetasting was presented by Gianni (the one son). Service is typical laid-back Italian style. Huge pool, beautiful views and quiet country feel to round off a 9 out of 10 experience.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Villa il Pozzo is situated 10 minutes drive from Certaldo, is equi distant from Florence and Siena and is 20 minutes drive from San Gimiginano. Perfect for exploring Tuscany. We were there for the first 2 weeks of April 2012. This is a beautiful ancient property with its own excellent winery. It has a number of large beautifully decorated apartments with fantastic views of the Tuscan countryside. We were made to feel more than welcome by our hosts the Gori family. If you want to relax in tasteful splendour and beauty this the place for you. We have just taken delivery of the delicious Tenuta della Luia wine they produce here and when we return to Tuscany it will be to stay at the lovely Villa il Pozzo.

Room Tip: We loved the Bella Vista apartments as the uninterrupted views to the towers of San Gimiginano were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I recently had the good fortune of staying for 1 week at Villa il Pozzo in mid March, specifically, apartment Felicita. We were greeted by Alessandro and Guiliana who were very kind and welcoming. The villa is as magnificent as it appeared in the photos and there was no doubt we were in the heart of Tuscany. We lucked out with the weather as it was sunny for 7 straight days between 65 and 71 degrees. Our apartment was beautiful with fantastic frescoes on the walls and ceiling and a small kitchen area which was fine for a light breakfast and cooking some small meals. The nearby town of Certaldo was nice, particularly Certaldo Alta (the older medieval area). There was a commuter train in Certaldo which we took a couple of times to Florence. It was about 5 euros per person each way and took about 50-55 mins. Definitely better than driving into Florence. You really need to have a car to enjoy the area. Day trips to nearby San Gimignano, Volterra, and Siena are a must. Fortunately Alessandro recommended dinner at Casa di Chianti less than a 1/2 mile away which was excellent. We had dinner there twice and easliy could have gone more. We were fortunate to have a tour of the winery followed by wine tasting by Alessandro's son, Gianni. He did a great job explaining the whole process followed by sampling several wines while watching the sun go down over the Tuscan hills. All in all we had a great week and highly recommend this villa and we hope to stay there again as some point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 3 week trip to Italy and the 9 days that we spent at Villa Il Pozzo were by far the highlight of our entire stay. The villa is wonderful - furnished with beautiful antiques and yet provides you with all the conveniences needed. The grounds and the views all around the property are amazing and the area is peaceful and quiet, and a great location to tour the Tuscany towns, such as San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena. Allesandro is the perfect host - welcoming, helpful and gave us a great wine tour and wine tasting. We stayed in the Terrace apartment and enjoyed eating breakfast outside in the morning and a glass of wine in the evening as we watched the sunset. I highly recommend Villa Il Pozzo!

Allesandro, Bob and I are already talking about our next visit!!! We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

After staying in Paris and Venice, this was a welcome respite from the crowds and high prices. While staying here, each morning I would walk to the little country store to buy yogurt, a banana, and a Fanta from the wonderfully friendly owner who spoke not a word of English. As I walked each morning, the fog lifted from the vineyards revealing an exquisite silent beauty. We stayed in a room that was part of in a 1000 year old tower. The entire villa was furnished with wonderful antiques. Our room was the least expensive that they offered at 80 Euro/night (off season). It was wonderful. We peeked in some of the other apartments. One had a kitchen that was like something out of a Tuscan picture-perfect cookbook. Gianni (Johnny and son of the owner) spoke perfect English and met us late at night after we arrived late after getting lost. Hint: enter Certaldo-Fiano into you GPS. It’s 2 miles down from Fiano. There are several terrific restaurants nearby. These people are great. I’d go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Any room is good. You can't go bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Villa Il Pozzo. The apartment Giardino was lovely ... beautifully decorated, very comfortable, with everything we needed.
Lucky for us, it was grape harvest time and we were fortunate to watch the process and taste the estates excellent wines as well as the delicious olive oil.
The owners were always available to answer questions or provide information. The website is very accurate in its description of the property. The only surprise was that it was even more beautiful that the pictures.
We look forward to returning especially when this year’s harvest will be ready for drinking because Alesandro promised it would be a very good wine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Villa il Pozzo is located in a wonderful location, on top of a little hill, with a superb view over Tuscan landscape. The towers of San Gimignano are clearly visible in the distance.
The house and garden face south, so it is always sunny. There is also a pool on a lower terrace. In April, it was still too cold to use it, but it must be very nice in summer.
As we were rather early (two weeks in late April), we were the first guests this year and alone in the house most of the time. Even though the very friendly owners do not live in that place, they were around every day and always helpful if we needed something.
Internet is also included, but the access could be simplified. Nonetheless, all problems were easily and quickly sorted out.
All in all, I would definitely go there again when revisiting Tuscany and I can highly recommend that place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa il Pozzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa il Pozzo

Address: Fiorentina, 50052 Certaldo, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Certaldo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty lodging in Certaldo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically positioned between Florence and Siena, in the heart of the Chianti region, Villa Il Pozzo will impress its guests with stunning views of the gentle rolling hills leading to the extraordinary ancient towers of San Gimignano. All its beautiful apartments are personally furnished by Mrs. Gori with precious original antiques. Amenities include a magnificent Mediterranean-style swimming pool, a private library with recent and antique literature, a breathtaking classical Tuscan garden with hand-carved stone balusters and huge terracotta urns. Our guests may stroll through the olive groves and vineyards surrounding the Villa and taste the excellent Chianti wine and Olive Oil produced by the farm. Stucco, frescoes, and high hand-painted ceilings make Villa Il Pozzo the perfect place for an unforgettable vacation. At walking distance there are a family-owned Tuscan Restaurant, a mini-market, and one of the oldest churches of the region. Following an old tradition, all the weddings of the Gori family members are celebrated in this Romanic jewel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa il Pozzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa il Pozzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.