We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oustanding Contemporary Resort In The South Of France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   3100 Route de Bagnols-en-Foret, 83440 Tourrettes, Fayence, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tourrettes
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An Oustanding Contemporary Resort In The South Of France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been visiting Terre Blanche each August since the property opened in 2004. As a Four Seasons resort until 2012, Terre Blanche set high expectations (and mostly delivered), as one of the very few true resort experiences near the French Riviera. However, in recent years, the late summer influx of families with small, often poorly behaved, children - and management's reluctance to enforce basic standards of behavior - sometimes made Terre Blanche struggle to meet even 4-start expectations. In fact, my wife, daughter and I weren't sure we would return this year, but are very glad we did.

Now operating under independent management and affiliated with Leading Hotels of the World, Terre Blanche has preserved all the best Four Seasons features and added a few more. The resort, which spills down the hillside from the main building, restaurants and pool area, to the golf club below, features some of the most spacious and well-appointed accommodations to be found in the South of France. Captivating views across the valley to the villages on the opposite side, the scent of lavender in the summer air, and uniformly friendly, courteous, and helpful service from the knowledgeable staff, help to create a welcoming and relaxing ambiance.

Dining options include the casual-chic Le Gaudina main restaurant and lounge, with spacious interior and terrace seating (during warm weather months), and the over-the-top Faventia (for which a Michelin star should be only a matter of time). A new high-end Northern Italian restaurant at the golf club rounds out the on-property dinner options. An excellent daily breakfast buffet is on offer at Gaudina - much improved from Four Seasons days. During peak seasons, Tousco grill, just off the dramatic negative-edge main pool area, offers al fresco buffet lunches (including tempting daily fruit tarts and other freshly prepared dessert options). The restaurants now offer gluten-free menus, and staff are generally very attentive to food allergies or other dietary restrictions. (Our only complaint/suggestion is the need to broaden the variety of dinner options available at Gaudina, especially for families who may dine there most evenings during their stay.)

Two championship golf courses (which host the European Senior Tour French Riviera Masters this month), and one of the best (if not the best) contemporary spas in southern Europe, round out the leisure options on property. The twice-weekly Provençale market in the nearby town of Fayence makes for a fun and convenient excursion, while Cannes and the seaside are a 40-minute drive.

Terre Blanche is a luxurious (if expensive) oasis and an ideal base camp for couples and families interested in a mix of relaxation and sightseeing around southern Provence and the eastern Riviera.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or villa close to the main building and pool area, which are both more convenient and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    24
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
58
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A gang of twenty of us attended a four day conference and unanamously loved it, the spa is amazing and the golf course pristine. Don't remember ever swimming in a nicer pool and I've swam in quite a few. The rooms are well kitted but could become a little cold in winter I imagine. I would return for buisness or pleasure and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and will not be returning.
For me it lacked Character and any Charm, i have seen it all before and at prices that are more suited.
I really am not to sure what else to say as i found that it left no image in my mind, i wouldn't recommend but i would not say that people would not enjoy it, it was just not for me.
If you are looking for something with character where the staff are happy to see you, only on waiter seemed to smile or make any effort at all in the 3 days that i was there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had not visited Terre Blanche since 2003 in its early Four Seasons days.
The good news is the resort accommodation, setting, ambience were as good as I remembered.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The build quality is very high, the space and decor of the accommodation as if new, the views incredible and the infinity pool a perfect temperature.
The wide choice of food at the buffet breakfast very good.

* the BAD news, and seriously bad news is the quality of food at dinner. It was so bad that I would need to be assured it had improved before returning to the resort again.
The food on the main terrace in the evening is an overpriced disgrace.
How hard is it to construct a sound menu based on Provencal ingredients?
3 members of the family eat fish, and one is a vegetarian.
The food was unnecessarily elaborate, and many of the combinations did not work.
The website describes fine Provencal food - there is no need to re-interpret a Salade Nicoise.
Why serve sole layered with mozzarella?
There is no main vegeterian choice on the main courses, and at a hotel of this calibre and international clientele, a surprising omission.
On the second evening we opted for fresh seabass from the fish counter to avoid interference from the Chef. It was €210 for 3 people and I have tasted fresher fish that cost a good deal less.
The last two nights we ate in the golf club and resorted to the safety of pasta and tomato sauce .Not what we came to eat in Provence.
The golf courses were easy to book, uncrowded, and quite challenging for a high handicapper like me, but very enjoyable all the same. We preferred the Riou course. The driving range is of a very high standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, I was astonished by the scenery and loved my room. Having spent the vast majority of my holidays, under canvas, all I generally look for in a hotel is four walls and a roof. If you're splashing out, you can't go far wrong with a visit here.

My only issue was with the food, which occasionally didn't match with my expectations but the rest of my stay more than made up for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

You rather get the feeling that everything would be perfect for the managers of this hotel if it wasn't for the guests. They clog up the swimming pool with noisey children. They want simple food like pizza for the kids, or a steak that doesn't have to be ordered a day in advance. At times it almost felt like Fawlty Towers - but it just wasn't funny.

A particular low-light was dinner on our first evening - six adults and six kids. We could barely find anything on the ultra-over fussed menu that we wanted. In the end five of the adults settled for Chicken Biryani. After waiting an eternity for it's arrival, we were presented with something resembling a pie. It had a pastry top ay any rate. The waiters then spent about 10 minutes trying to arrange it on the plate and presented the resultant mess with a great flourish. This couldn't, however, disguise the fact that it tasted like no Biryani should. It was vile and had clearly spent an age in the freezer which resulted in the chicken having a powdery texture.

The staff responded to our evident displeasure by avoiding our table for the rest of the evening, and reluctantly conceding that we probably shouldn't have to pay for it.

Other irritants included a passive aggressive swimming pool attendant who couldn't bear children making a noise, children playing with a ball, children jumping into the pool, children of any kind doing anything - even when the pool was empty.

This could be such a lovely hotel - it's in a beautiful setting and. most of, the staff were actually very helpful and nice. The manager listened attentively to our comments - but when we looked on trip adviser we could see that many of the complaints we had, had already been made by others.

In essence Terre Blanche needs to decide - it a luxury family hotel, or a luxury hotel for couples? In any event, it needs to sort out its food issues.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

for the second time we stayed some days here. In 2012 was it the Four Seasons hotel, now Terre Blanche. The restaurants were not that good anymore as last year. For the rest same good service and the rooms very nice and clean. What you can expect from a 5 star hotel
Neighborhood very quiet, so do not expect many other restaurants where you can go to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa

Address: 3100 Route de Bagnols-en-Foret, 83440 Tourrettes, Fayence, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Var > Fayence > Tourrettes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tourrettes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional Hotel, Spa, Golf & Family destination, in Provence. Member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Leading Spa and Leading Golf. A European Tour Destination. Easy to reach: 45 minutes from Nice Airport.DescriptionA haven of tranquility set in the eastern side of Provence, facing the perched villages of Fayence, Tourrettes, Callian and Montauroux. 45 minutes from the beautiful vineyards of Lorgues area, 30 minutes from the perfumers of Grasse, 35 minutes from Cannes, 90 minutes from Les Gorges du Verdon or Aix-en-Provence. Ideal to experience Provence from a country chic estate. Terre Blanche is a perfect getaway from the city, a paradise for Golfers, a Spa destination and a resort of choice for families with children. Great venue for corporate and private events including weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Escapio, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Provence At Terre Blanche
Terre Blanche Hotel And Spa Provence, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terre Blanche Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.