We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable views and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Del Soul to your Saves list
Casa Del Soul
Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Unbelievable views and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Casa Del Soul for the last 2 nights of our 8 day tour of Nicaragua and we did NOT want to leave!
Randy was an absolutely delightful host who was always ready to help with a recommendation, a trip to/from town or some fun conversation. We felt more like we were guests in his home than random travelers passing through. The house has a kitchen, board games, dvds and a number of other amenities available to us to make us feel at home. We're definitely planing on going back within the year!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    23
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
155
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Set back from the action of San Juan del Sur, Casa del Soul was an amazing way to get away from it all. The hotel is beautiful, has a great pool overlooking a gorgeous view, a full kitchen and many other great amenities. Waking up each morning to see the view from the balcony was an experience in and of itself. Yet, what sets the place apart is Randy, the owner. He was so incredibly helpful during our stay and managed to walk the line brilliantly between being a helpful and gracious host without being annoying or bothersome. Traveling around Central America for our honeymoon, Casa del Soul was one of the highlights. The decision to splurge for a weekend after backpacking through Costa Rica was made well worth it here. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, but especially couples looking for some time for a little seclusion. Also, trust Randy's advice on tours/surf lessons/etc. He has been there for long enough to know who's good, who's worth spending money on, and more importantly who's worth avoiding.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My friends and I just recently returned from staying at Casa del Soul, and we had such a wonderful time. Randy, the home's owner, was so accommodating during the entire length of our stay in Nicaragua. Even since arriving back home, we still continue to talk about how amazing he and his staff were! They really outdid themselves!

We shared rooms with a joint balcony, and the view was spectacular. His sweet housekeeper made us breakfast every morning, where we would eat by the refreshing pool overlooking the bay and ocean.

The house is only a few minutes from the center of San Juan del Sur, and Randy provided a cellphone along with the number of his reliable taxi service, so that we could contact transportation services any time we needed. He was also willing to take us into town whenever he was making a trip himself. Anything we wanted to do, he was there to offer helpful guidance and would immediately call one of his many contacts to assist with our plans when applicable.

Overall, I would definitely recomend this property as a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vero beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had an amazing time at Casa Del Soul! Randy was an extremely great host helping us set up every aspect of our trip. We would definitely recommend his place to anyone. It is a great perk that he gives us cell phones to use so that we can arrange our taxi's and make plans. The view from Casa Del Soul is breath taking and it's just about a 10 min drive right into town. Thanks Randy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Casa del Soul is THE place if you want to relax, away from the hustle and bustle, and soak up the sun. However it is NOT the place to go to party and drink. It is located a 10 minute car ride from the town and there is nothing in the area but serenity. I know you have probably already read many of the reviews here so I will not rehash that but rather try to add to those comments.

Randy make Casa Del Soul a fantastic place to stay. Besides offering to help you with anything, even the task of getting into town Randy is ready, willing, and able. Randy also goes above and beyond the call do duty. For example, today he took me to another town to see a doctor because I got an allergic reaction on my feet to some insect bites that I got at the Jicaro lodge in Nicaragua (great place too!) Randy drove me all the way to the next town and made sure I was taken care of. Randy is great and so is his wife Brenda.

The hotel itself (all three bedrooms of it) is located over a small mountain away from the small town of San Juan del Sur. It is quiet and peaceful there. If you are looking for a good time, with drinking, and fun this is NOT the place for you at all. It is serene and peaceful and from the balcony and deck you cannot see ONE single house or human being anyway. Monkeys abound, as do birds, lizards, and even a grey fox.

I could go on and on but see for yourself, read the other reviews, compare to the other locations. IF you want peace and quiet this is your place to relax. IF you want party and fun this is NOT your place but there are many other hotel in San Juan del Sur that would be!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I would recommend renting a car if you want to go to town often, also buying some groceries and make dinner the sunsets are amazing and the common kitchen is great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

You will not be disappointed staying here at Casa del Soul. The view, the view, the view.
Very comfortable rooms, a nice refreshing pool overlooking paradise. Great hosts Randy and Brenda are. As everyone else says, wish we could stay longer.
Nancy & Dan & 4 hijos.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 57 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.