We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Piece of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Del Soul to your Saves list
Casa Del Soul
Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Piece of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband and I enjoyed 4 nights with Randy at Casa del Soul in March of 2010 and had a simply wonderful experience. In many ways it was like having a private mansion to ourselves with a full service staff at our disposal. Having a cell phone, lap top and Randy's local driver, Carlos, on speed dial was invaluable and made the trip so much better! Chuco was a blast and we so enjoyed visiting with everyone. Brenda made wonderful breakfasts each morning as well. Beyond all of that the best part may have been Randy's abiility to help you find a way to make everyting possible during your stay in Nicaragua. If there's something you want to do, then he can find teh best way to make it happen. Thank you Randy. I hope we get to come back soon!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazy4travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Great space, very quiet and the perfect setting. You wake up to a beautiful ocean view, while swimming in a pool. Breakfast is great, and Randy is very helpful. He got us into town to shop numerous times, and basically knows anyone and everyone in San Juan del Sur, so can lead you in the right direction.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleRobotN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Casa del Soul is a beautiful get away near San Juan del Sur. While it is only minutes from town it feels like you are miles away. The house is beautiful with a pool and gorgeous rooms and just down the hill is a quiet beach.

Randy and Brenda were amazing hosts. Randy is so easy going and he treats his guests like gold. Brenda is so sweet and an amazing cook. I highly recommend that you eat at least a couple of meals with them. We both fell in love with ChuCho the dog!

It was, by far, the most relaxing part of our trip and we enjoyed every second we were there. Our only regret is that we did not have more time to spend there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimmer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

This place is more like a B&B than a hotel - but its the fanciest B&B that you could find. We had a great time there. The owner cooks if you want him to but with use of the kitchen and a lift to the shops when you get there its also a good place to get your food in and cook for yourselves. There is a secluded beach down the hill which is spectacular as the sun goes down. The place was beautifully clean and the view was awesome (truly it is - I am not american..) The owner lives there with his partner and is really welcoming but also gives you your space, which was great. We had a great time and were lucky that the other guests were happy to play guitar under the blanket of stars by the pool overlooking the ocean - but that is only because we persuaded them to. If thats not your thing you can keep yourself to yourself and enjoy the beauty in silence. It is a bit of a way out of San Juan del Sur so you have to be prepared to get a taxi to go out but we had a great taxi driver arranged by the hotel who took us wherever we wanted to go.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scout2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

I miss Casa Del Soul! Randy and Brenda (and Chucho!) create a warm, welcoming enviornment for all their guests. Even before arriving at CDS, Randy helped us find transportation around Nicaragua with a very knowledgable tour guide. Once at CDS, Randy provides each guest with a cell phone so you are easily able to call taxis, tour companies, etc. during your stay. This was very convenient and a much appreciated ammenity for guests. Randy also hooked us up with his favorite local taxi driver, Carlos (who was also wonderful - I wish he had his own tripadvisor page so I could write about him too!). Randy even ran into town to get medicine for my husband one day when he wasn't feeling well. Brenda made wonderful breakfasts, and helped us prepare the fish we caught for dinner. She also served as a constant spanish vocab teacher. I am holding out hope she will take our idea of starting a CDS cooking / spanish school boot camp. :) I don't think I've ever been as relaxed on a vacation as I was at CDS!

I can't say enough good things about Brenda and Randy. The hospitality they provide their guests with is unparalled. We felt apart of the CDS family and am hopeful we will have the opportunity to stay with them again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmh3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at Casa del Soul for four nights, and we wish we could have stayed longer. This place was the perfect escape for us, in a quiet, beautiful spot close to Sun Juan del Sur. The views from the room, balcony and pool are spectacular. One can easily spend a day just staring at the ocean, it's a beautiful place to forget about time and just relax. Randy, the owner, has been very helpful throughout our trip. He arranged a car to drive us from the airport in Managua to Granada, where we spent a few days before coming to the house, and then organized a driver to pick us up in Granada. This way we never had to worry about anything, which we appreciated a lot. During the days we spent at Casa del Soul, we went to Ometepe for a day trip and discovered some amazing beaches around San Juan del Sur. We just loved it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California/Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My girlfriend and I, along with her best friend, enjoyed two separate stays at Casa Del Soul
in the spring of 2009. Words fail to describe the stunning sunsets,the breathtaking views and exquisite service Randy provides guests.
The entire house is beautifully appointed in an array of travertine marble and local stone work that is welcoming and warmth itself. Every imaginable detail for a delightful stay has been pre-thought out by Randy and his staff. The linens, towels and house keeping are something from a dream sequence.
Our friend had never been to a 3rd world country and had all the fears of a first time traveler who spoke no spanish.She was immediately caught up in the warmth and welcome Randy provides. She quickly made friends with 3 delightful Canadian visitors. And by the next evening had organized a fabulous barbque featuring fresh local fish and vegetables. We became fast friends attending a local baseball game and dining at the incomparable Pelican Eyes.
Randy is not only a cheerful and energetic soul who loves his gorgeous home, he is a natural facilitator who forsees and provides for the needs of all his guests, often before they know what they need.
Transportation, shopping, night club pickups, along with tips on preparing fish. How about advice for serious bargaining at the market place for a truly magnificent hammock? Randy handles it all with an ease and charm that is truly remarkable.
Casa Del Soul epitomizes the dedication of a seasoned Concergie in a 5 star European hotel.Much of the charm of Randy's home flows from the deep felt conviction that it should be an escape, a sanctuary for his guests. Only minutes from the spirited Latin energies of San Juan del Sur, Casa del Soul is retreat from discos, daiquiris and nachos.
Years ago I stayed in several Paradors in southern Spain that had been created from old castles, they were simply unlike anywhere I had ever spent a night....the elegance and grace of a bygone age seemed to evoke more gracious behavior from even the most energetic guests.
Randy Harvey's Casa del Soul replicates that feeling with 21st century technology married to timeless vistas,soothing sea breezes and a way of life that ends all too soon.
Such a unique get-a-way is usally far beyond the pocketbook of all but jet setters....Randy has provided us commoners with a vision of paradise that is a platinum framework for a vacation you will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salvoguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.3 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#9 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#6 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#8 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.8 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#17 of 23 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing