We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! It was great before, now its even better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Soul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Del Soul to your Saves list
Casa Del Soul
Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW! It was great before, now its even better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our second visit to Casa Del Soul. We were thrilled with Randy and his wonderful home two years ago, but this time he has added even more services which is what really sets him apart from all the rest. He now has A PRIVATE CHEF! Yes, of course he has a wonderful complimentary breakfast, but now he offers dinners by TOP QUALITY CHEF Fabiloa...for only $7 per person. We went fishing (which he set up for us with the best charter service in town - Dario with San Juan Surf & Sport) at the beginning of our trip and brought back fresh mahi mahi which Fabiola cooked for us on two nights during our stay. These were hands down best meals we had in Nicaragua! We also stay in his premium suite on this trip. If he has this suite available when you book it make sure this is what you book. Its worth the very slight difference in price! Waking up looking at the ocean just can't be beat! Randy simply goes above and beyond for his guests in every way so that you can want for nothing! Thank you Randy & Brenda!

Room Tip: Get the premium suite for unparalleled views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
157
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

How does breakfast every morning by a private chef sound? Or breath-taking beauty around every corner, from every window? How about home-style hospitality? Randy gives you all of this. From the early stages of planning our trip, Randy helped us immensely. He was able to make our transportation arrangements from Costa Rica and back, amazingly simple and worry-free. You compound that with what has to be one of the most beautifully built houses and landscape in the city. By in the city, its actually on the outskirts of San Juan del Sur, in a secluded subdivision on the other side of the statue of Jesus. The walk to and from town can be a challenge, even more so after a few Tonas, the local beer, but Randy had personal Taxis that were at your every call, and connections, suggestions, and ideas that would pack even a month's worth of activities. My wife and I will return, refer, and bully anyone into staying here as we've never had accommodations more accommodating. Thank you, Randy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Randy-

Thank you again for all your assistance and understanding while we stayed w/ you at Casa Del Soul. Your generosity and patience are unparalleled.

My Fiance and I spent 3 nights w/ Randy at Casa Del Soul. The accommodations, food, scenery, service was perfect. We could not have asked for anything better.

But Randy went above and beyond. My fiance and I were robbed at gunpoint at Playa Hermosa, which is about 30 minutes from Casa Del Soul. Randy helped us with everything, from generating a police report, to contacting the embassy and making space for us an additional night. I do not want to go into the details of our poor experience at Playa Hermosa but Randy made our trip memorable for the right things. He knows the town better than most, will help you w/ trips and understands Westerners expectations (which are typically out of reach and far fetched).

Thank you again Randy. You are a saint! Please give Chucho our best!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randyman54, Owner at Casa Del Soul, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This is the first time any of my guests ever had a problem anywhere in NIcaragua.Playa Hermosa is safe if you stay where everybody is.They went down all the way to the end of the beach (it is 2K beach) by themselves,which is recommended not to do. Also there are lockers to lock up any valuables (which you should not bring to any beach) and they didn't use the lockers.This was an isolated incident in the safest country in Central & South America..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spectacular! We went for two nights, stayed for three, but wanted to spend a month! Casa Del Soul has an absolutely killer view of the serene Nacascolo Bay - a rock collector's dream! The pool sparkles and refreshes after an afternoon at the beach and you can almost reach out and touch the family of howler monkeys that swing through the nearby trees. There is a spotless kitchen where you can cook for yourself or hire a local cook who will not disappoint you with her delicious dishes.

After living in Nicaragua for three years I can say that it's rare to sleep as soundly as we did at Casa Del Soul.

What makes Casa Del Soul truely unique is Randy, the owner. He is kind, generous, helpful, and always with a positive attitude. He has us hooked. We'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: Room #2 is the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Casa del Soul is the very best in means of feeling relaxed and at home. We met Randy and instantly felt welcomed, he is very attentive and has a lot of information about the place and san juan. Breakfast were very good and you could have it anyway you wanted, you can even cook for yourself if you want. Also the beach that is just a small walk away from the house is private and chucho, the loyal guard dog, shows you the way! We had an excellent time in the house and will surely be there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great time in SJDS with plenty of fishing, surfing, turtle watching, exploring the town, and good food. Staying with Randy made it all easy. He was really helpful with arranging things if we wanted, or just leaving us to our own devices when we didn't:) He is happy to give you a lift into town when he's on his way, or pick you up if he's headed back. The house itself is beautiful and a welcome oasis to the sometimes busy downtown SJDS. Fabiola came over one night to cook up some fish we had caught and she is both a good cook, and a really nice gal. Overall, great place, great host, great times!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our visit to Casa del Soul was a dream come true. Randy and Brenda shared their beautiful home, wonderful breakfasts, and local expertise to make our visit to San Juan del Sur truly memorable. We were encouraged to do as little or as much as we wanted. We spent a great deal of time enjoying the pool area and surrounding spectacular views. We had long walks on an everchanging beach, listened to monkeys, and met wonderful fellow travelers. Fabiola prepared gourmet meals with just a day's notice and Randy guided us towards not to be missed restaurants and beaches and made sure that we had the best ways to reach them. We will happily return as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
3.3 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
5.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#5 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#9 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
3.1 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.