We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Del Soul and Randy - The Best in San Juan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Del Soul

Save Saved
You added Casa Del Soul to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Del Soul
Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Casa Del Soul and Randy - The Best in San Juan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Randy-

Thank you again for all your assistance and understanding while we stayed w/ you at Casa Del Soul. Your generosity and patience are unparalleled.

My Fiance and I spent 3 nights w/ Randy at Casa Del Soul. The accommodations, food, scenery, service was perfect. We could not have asked for anything better.

But Randy went above and beyond. My fiance and I were robbed at gunpoint at Playa Hermosa, which is about 30 minutes from Casa Del Soul. Randy helped us with everything, from generating a police report, to contacting the embassy and making space for us an additional night. I do not want to go into the details of our poor experience at Playa Hermosa but Randy made our trip memorable for the right things. He knows the town better than most, will help you w/ trips and understands Westerners expectations (which are typically out of reach and far fetched).

Thank you again Randy. You are a saint! Please give Chucho our best!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randyman54, Owner at Casa Del Soul, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
This is the first time any of my guests ever had a problem anywhere in NIcaragua.Playa Hermosa is safe if you stay where everybody is.They went down all the way to the end of the beach (it is 2K beach) by themselves,which is recommended not to do. Also there are lockers to lock up any valuables (which you should not bring to any beach) and they didn't use the lockers.This was an isolated incident in the safest country in Central & South America..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
144
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Spectacular! We went for two nights, stayed for three, but wanted to spend a month! Casa Del Soul has an absolutely killer view of the serene Nacascolo Bay - a rock collector's dream! The pool sparkles and refreshes after an afternoon at the beach and you can almost reach out and touch the family of howler monkeys that swing through the nearby trees. There is a spotless kitchen where you can cook for yourself or hire a local cook who will not disappoint you with her delicious dishes.

After living in Nicaragua for three years I can say that it's rare to sleep as soundly as we did at Casa Del Soul.

What makes Casa Del Soul truely unique is Randy, the owner. He is kind, generous, helpful, and always with a positive attitude. He has us hooked. We'll be back soon!!

Room Tip: Room #2 is the bomb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Casa del Soul is the very best in means of feeling relaxed and at home. We met Randy and instantly felt welcomed, he is very attentive and has a lot of information about the place and san juan. Breakfast were very good and you could have it anyway you wanted, you can even cook for yourself if you want. Also the beach that is just a small walk away from the house is private and chucho, the loyal guard dog, shows you the way! We had an excellent time in the house and will surely be there soon.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a great time in SJDS with plenty of fishing, surfing, turtle watching, exploring the town, and good food. Staying with Randy made it all easy. He was really helpful with arranging things if we wanted, or just leaving us to our own devices when we didn't:) He is happy to give you a lift into town when he's on his way, or pick you up if he's headed back. The house itself is beautiful and a welcome oasis to the sometimes busy downtown SJDS. Fabiola came over one night to cook up some fish we had caught and she is both a good cook, and a really nice gal. Overall, great place, great host, great times!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our visit to Casa del Soul was a dream come true. Randy and Brenda shared their beautiful home, wonderful breakfasts, and local expertise to make our visit to San Juan del Sur truly memorable. We were encouraged to do as little or as much as we wanted. We spent a great deal of time enjoying the pool area and surrounding spectacular views. We had long walks on an everchanging beach, listened to monkeys, and met wonderful fellow travelers. Fabiola prepared gourmet meals with just a day's notice and Randy guided us towards not to be missed restaurants and beaches and made sure that we had the best ways to reach them. We will happily return as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Casa del Soul is a beautiful getaway place. The location is beautiful and relaxing. You are close to the town, but over the hill so it is very private and quiet. Randy was an excellent host, very knowledgeable and accommodating. I had a wonderful weekend with my family. I recommend going to playa hermosa as the name implies it really was beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Randy and Brenda are great! Casa del Soul is right next to town, in an exclusive community. Everything you can think of is taken care of. Information about tours, transportation, dining, personal chef is available, and the list goes on and on. He even gave us a local cell phone to use! Some of, if not, the most beautiful views and beaches in the world. Casa del Soul is 4 or 5 different individual all inclusive apartments that are super nice. There's a beautiful pool and lounge area with hammocks and a nice breeze almost all the time. The view and experience is priceless.

Room Tip: For the view pick room number 1 or two, but, you cant go wrong with any room...you wont be doing any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
El Jardin
El Jardin
#2 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#8 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolo...
#6 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#7 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort
Surf Ranch Action Sports Resort
#14 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
#11 of 20 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Soul

Address: Pacific Marlin, N-34, San Juan del Sur 99513, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Specialty lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Soul is an oceanfront, luxury 4,000 sq. ft. home. It is situated on Nacascolo Bay, 5 minutes from San Juan Del Sur. It has a large outdoor deck surrounding a 4 by 9 meter swimming pool. The big balcony off the 2nd floor bedrooms give it a commanding view of the ocean and the tropical forest. Cable TV, DVD, ipod music systems, refrigerator, coffee makers make your room very comfortable. A full breakfast is included. We give cell phones to our guests and I help you do anything you want to in Nicaragua. Transportation,tours,volcanos,surfing,fishing,shopping, REAL ESTATE, ATV's,zipline,horseback riding,etc... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Del Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Soul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Casa Del Soul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Del Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.