We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Jardin to your Saves list
El Jardin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LaSalle, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Oasis!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Amazing view of the bay and and amazing staff to go along with it! We rested there for 10 days and enjoyed every minute. Tonguay and Maria (filling in for the regular owners) were so accommodating and made use feel right at home. Even the Saturday night noise from those returning from a night of partying in nearby San Juan del Sur was limited and did not dampen our stay. Met lots of nice travellers and always felt safe and well cared for. Food was amazing - especially the tenderloin (and other beef dishes) that my husband loved! The road up is a bit steep and bumpy, but no problem with the right vehicle! Would go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    16
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
17
66
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is hands down, the BEST hotel I have ever stayed at.
Delphine, Timothy, and their family are wonderfully accommodating, & are genuine, kind people with hearts of gold. Unfortunately, when my friend and I stayed in San Juan del Sur, we were robbed on the beach, but Delphine and Timothy still managed to make the experience one of the best. Timothy even brought the police to the hotel so we could file a report, drove us to the police station, picked us up again, and allowed us to use their personal computer to contact our families. I could not be more thankful for everything they did for us!
Furthermore, Delphine and Timothy know everything there is to know about the secrets of San Juan del Sur. They will direct you to some of the most beautiful, secluded beaches, the best restaurants, and know of all the local hot spots. But by far, the BEST food in San Juan del Sur is right in the El Jardin hotel! BEST food I have ever had in my life thus far, no joke. I would even return to San Juan del Sur solely to eat Delphine & Timothy's first class meals again!
The hotel itself is beautiful. Clean, comfortable and in a BEAUTIFUL location. The view is breathtaking!! Although it is a bit of a hike from town, its secluded location is one of its best features! It is close enough to town to access all the excitement that San Juan del Sur has to offer, but far enough away to enjoy a relaxing evening, watching the sunset and sipping on one of Delphine's famous drinks. There is a large pool for guests, rooms are spacious and beautifully designed, and the hotel is very affordable.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Juan del Sur! I can't wait to go back!!

Thank you Delphine & Timothy for the fantastic experience in San Juan del Sur! I hope all is well!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is very colourful and has a nice swimming pool with a great view of the bay below. I had the basic room (#1) which was $45 plus tax. It was small but had air conditioning included and hot water shower. The room was nothing fantastic but good value for the money. The restaurant had very good food. I had the tenderloin and it was one of the best steaks I have ever had. The breakfast was also very good. The view from the swimming pool area was nice and great for taking photos of the sunrise or sunset. I took a taxi into town for $6 each way so am not sure how long it takes walking but noticed afterwards that the walking route across the foot bridge is shorter than the way the taxi goes. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful. I received a 5% discount for paying cash and credit cards are accepted without surcharge if you wish to pay that way.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This place is great. Delphine has a wonderful heart and the gift of hospitality. The view is amazing, make sure you watch some sunsets from up there. The food is delicious. The breakfast is perfect. Try the tenderloin for dinner, you won't be disappointed. SO GOOD! The rooms are very very clean, and the beds are comfortable. The AC works well. It's a little ways out of town, easy with wheels, 15-20 min walk (nice in the morning), 6-10 cab ride from downtown. Oh yeah, nice pool too ;) Overall, I would say AMAZING PLACE TO STAY. Delphine and Timothy will take care of you!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our second visit to Nicaragua and we spent 19 days with Delphine and Timothy. Such a wonderful and relaxing experience. Everything and more than we expected it's a shame we had to leave. Would have liked to get to know our hosts even more as they made our stay that much more, Delphine made us so welcome.
A breakfast to die for and evening dinner watching the sunset not to be missed, great good/wine & coffee. Hope to maybe see you all again next year. Maybe a trip on that boat?
Best wishes to you, your family and staff. Dean & Nina Nottingham, England. Xx

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

So peaceful, Quiet, Beautiful and wonderful food! The owners are splendid and were so helpful!
The view is amazing overlooking a beautiful bay! We enjoyed everything about our stay here! The sunsets are breathtaking! Oh and the breakfast that is included is delicious! Wonderfully presented and prepared to perfection! We are a family of 4 and loved every bit of our stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed in El Jardin on our first night in Nicaragua. Definitely a soft landing. The place is 10 minutes out of San Juan Del Sur and we weren't aware of tat.
A good thing I had a copy of my reservation so I could show the taxi driver the location. The ride is supposed to cost 6-10 USD.
The hotel is run by a very nice French couple who speaks good English and serves excellent breakfast which is included. There are eggs+ bacon, fruit, a passion fruit shake and bread and cheese. Really good!
It also have a restaurant for dinner, we didn't try it but it looked great (about 14$ for a meal).
Our room had AC and fan and a private shower with warm water as well. Clean and nice with good air.
The only reason e left the hotel was we were looking to meet some young travelers and there weren't any there.
Try booking your room via El Jardin's website itself. It might be less expensive. They accept credit cards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on Nicaragua's Emerald Coast. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. Yes the road is crap sometimes but it is definitely worth it. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nagascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.