We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Jardin is worth the trip...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Jardin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Jardin to your Saves list
El Jardin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Certificate of Excellence
Washington Dc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Jardin is worth the trip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tim, Delphine, and little Charlotte, along with their gracious staff, provided a great getaway for me and my buddy. Beautiful and clean hotel, and the meals were top rate. Tim is a wonderful chef, and the spaghetti bolognese was the best i've ever had! wonderful tenderloin as well! they work hard at making sure the guests get the best deals with travel around the area, willing to call a taxi ($10 per car) to get to town. they also got us two great deals with a sailboat captain and a tour guide and driver to Granada. Breakfast is included, which was wonderful--eggs cooked to your preference. fresh fruit too. No complaints at all, and I would recommend the El Jardin to any traveler who'd like a quiet/clean place to stay. Extremely safe. American food prices, but it's well worth it! Buen viaje!

Room Tip: get the two bedroom suite on the top floor of the place....beautiful view of the bay and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    18
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
72
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights for the second time in El Jardin. We love the place and the owners. Our 2y old kid loved to play with the owners daughter and both of the had great fun! Be aware that the hotel is about 4 km from San Juan del Sur, you need a taxi (cheap) or your own car. Enjoy the beautiful view over the pacific. I love it!

Try out in the restaurant the "beef tenderloin". It is just fantastic!

Room Tip: Book in advance, especially during holiday seasonl. The hotel is not very big and the best rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was our third time to go to Nicarauga, but it was our first time without our kids. My husband was playing around and looking for a resort that would be special to us and he came up with El jardin. The resort itself is located up in the mountain and has a beautiful view of the pacific. The resort is extremely clean and the hostess that took care of us was very warm and welcoming with his wife. He went out of his way to make us feel very much at home and made us wonderful breakfast's and his menu for the evening was very accomodating. There is a pool at the resort that was always a delight to jump into to get refreshed at all hours of the day/night. The resort is very quiet for the ones that just want to soak up the rays, and town is very close for the ones that like to do some bar hopping. I would recommend this resort to everyone! We definately will return there, thanks for a great time, Paul and Cathy Nov 5th/12

Room Tip: Might be a good idea to get a 4-wheel drive for the trip up to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel has a very nice view of the bay. The rooms were great nad dinner was excellent. The owners are excellent cooks! The only complaint i have is that the road leading to the hotel is pretty rough. You will need a car to get to the hotel as it is not that near to san juan del sur. we also had a very hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: We took the upstair rooms which had balconies. Some rooms only have fans and are a little cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My buddy and I just spent a week at the El Jardin and could not have asked for more. We had a beautiful two bedroom suite overlooking the paitio and plazas of the El Jardin including the pool and what must be the the most beautiful view in all of Nicaragua! The hotel is on a hillside overlooking one of many bays along the Pacific south of San Juan Del Sur. Tim was fantastic in getting us oriented and introducing us to Second Wind for two days of sailing. Delphine and the rest of the staff kept us well served and even better fed on the hotel's extensive and delicious menu. We ate there most nights just simply to try all of the menus listings. The grilled tenderloin was out of this world! The whole hotel is clean, colorful and comfortable!!

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa. But walking on the beach is about 5 minutes away and absolutely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

i travel extensively overseas.i prepaid two nights for this hotel ,based on good reviews.i didint realize that this hotel is located on a hill.the trek from the main highway to its location was a NIGHTMARE! it is a dirt road,w/ numerous potholes and bumps.if you suffer from back pain,pls dont dare to book this hotel ,as your condition may exacerbate.Ascending and descending the hill is perilous,as it is just one way lane.Me and the taxi driver just kept asking ourselves,when this hellish road going to end.By the time i reached the hotel,i told the owner that i am going to check out the next day,even,if I prepaid two nights with no refund.Yes,the view was spectacular,but i cannot be watching it 24/7, as i have other things to do.Once ,i enter my room,therE was a tin of roaches killer spray waiting for me to use it .I was in disbelief that there was no TV set,no hot water 24/7, and there was periodic power outtage! i kept the light on at all the time ,as there were roaches wandering around.i killed ,at least 3 of them.I only slept few hrs .When,i woke up,i was sweating profusely ,as there was no power.The owner/wife was very rude to me.Perhaps,she dislike ASIANS! Ordered chicken curry for dinner and was in disbelief that there were just 3-4 small chunks of chicken on i and was not spicy at all.The price was at least $10.00 .Will never go back to this hotel,even if the owners offered complimentary stay.For me,thiswas not a vacation,but a night in HELL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eljardinhotelSjds, Owner at El Jardin, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Mr. Pio Chua,
First of all we never refused to cancel your second night, we only asked you to cancel with expedia since you made the reservation with them. It is with pleasure we would have canceled your reservation.
As what concerns the food you may say a lot of things but not that our portions are small. We always serve a minimum of 400 gram per portion which most of our clients cannot finish. We put chili aside so people can add to their different tastes.
The never ending road to hell as you call it is actually 500 meters long and since it is a dirt road its condition largely depends on the season. Our community makes repairs every year. It might seem perilous to you but we have lower accident rate than in Brussels (capital of Belgium).
Since we are in the middle of the jungle we have a lot of wildlife around including all kind of bugs. We clean and spray the rooms every day and yes, we leave a spray bottle in every room for clients to use. We try to keep them outside as much as we can but we can’t close it hermitically.
Although we have less power cuts than a couple of years ago, it still happens but you should send your comment to the Nicaraguan electricity company. As soon as the power gets off we have our own power plant that furnishes largely enough energy for the whole hotel.
Being of track (but not too far, 4.5 km from the village) and surrounded by the wilderness is our choice and comes at a price.
Finally it seems obviously to me and as you stated it yourself, you immediately disliked the hotel because of its situation but you felt frustrated thinking of losing the money. We never kept a client prisoner and it happens people don’t find what they expected when they did the reservation. In those cases we always cancel but if your contract is with another operator you’ll always have to initiate the process with them.
Best regards,
Timothy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for two days and loved it. The view is spectacular. It's up in the mountains so if you are trying to relax away from the hustle of the city this is where you should be. The hotel in family run and the family is really nice and accommodating. My daughter loved the baby, they played in the pool together. It was worth the visit...

Room Tip: The balcony room from what I saw was beautiful.. Looked like a suite. You can see the ocean and moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
1.7 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
3.0 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#16 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#9 of 22 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
Rancho Cecilia Nicaragua
#2 of 2 in Playa Maderas
5.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Jardin

Address: Bahia Nacascolo | PO Box 68, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Jardin is the perfect place to relax while enjoying amazing views on Nicaragua's Emerald Coast. The hotel is located up a hill, 4 km (2,4 miles) North from San Juan del Sur. Yes the road is crap sometimes but it is definitely worth it. We offer free shuttles to town once a day. Our guests can also spend the day by the outdoor pool where they can enjoy stunning views on Nagascolo bay. Each room has a private bathroom and features charming decor with cheerful colors. Some of them have a private terrace overlooking the ocean which is the perfect spot to watch the sunset. El Jardin's bar & restaurant features both an indoor and an open-air dining area with views on the bay. We serve international food (for example, burgers and tacos) and are also very proud to offer European inspired options (including Beef Bourguignon, Shrimp bisque, Homemade lasagna and many more). The bar is open all day with a good selection of cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your El Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardin Hotel San Juan Del Sur
El Jardin Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.