We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel near the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bahia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Bahia Hotel to your Saves list
Casa Bahia Hotel
Marsella Beach, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off December 25th
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hotel near the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed our time at Casa Bahia. The room was clean and comfortable though there was unfortunately no wifi in the rooms (router had died). The pool was great and it was only minutes to small and quiet Marsella Beach! If you like a quiet remote hotel, this is for you. The hotel had basic food that was good (but not much variety of vegetarian options). The hotel owners and cook were very friendly!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great place to stay on Marsella Beach. You can also walk to Maderas beach in 15 minutes. The room was very comfortable and spacious with great view (room no. 4 as far as I remember). The owners, Marcia and Ron, are very friendly and helpful. There are many facilities within the property like a swimming pool or snooker. They also have a decently priced restaurant with good food (thugh we dined there only once). Tasty Nica breakfast was included in the price. A good thing to know - there is a great pizza place nearby run by an Italian. It's a crazy place and totally different to all experiences we had before. Ask Marcia or Ron for directions.
The only thing that could see more maintanance was the air conditioning unit in our room that needed some cleaning inside. This doesn't however spoil our very positive experience of the place and we would definitely recommend Casa Bahia to anyone visitng the area.

Room Tip: We had room no.4 and it was an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Bahia. The room was very clean, the pool was refreshing after a day at the beach, the view was beautiful and the owners were very helpful in arranging taxis to San Juan del Sur and the owner drove us to and picked us up from Playa Madera. Playa Madera is a very short walk but there is a steep hill to go up and over. The breakfast was delicious each day and we ate dinner at the hotel one night and it was tasty.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have water/beach view, you can ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our several night stay. It is within walking distance to the beach and the only disc golf course in Nicaragua. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this place and stay here again. The restaurant at the hotel had a simple fare, but delicious and not too expensive. Breakfast was included.

Unfortunately, the free wifi did not reach our room, but that was fixed during our stay. The router had burnt out, so it was not a problem with the hotel.

I was disappointed that the jacuzzi didn't work -- it had a leak and they needed to replace the motor or the pump (don't remember). But that was on the to-do list. This was not a deal breaker, since they were in the process of getting it repaired.

Be warned, that this area can have power outages at times, no matter what hotel you stay at, that is the nature of this area, for now at least.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The proprietors of the hotel are a lovely couple that were very helpful with our stay. They drove us into San Juan when we needed a ride, they gave us information about the area and were altogether sweet and happy people.
We stayed for 8 wonderful nights. The view from the balconies is spectacular. The hammocks were a great touch. The pool was clean and perfect temperature. The rooms were clean and there was hot water for the showers (not that you need it in that heat). And the kitchen/cleaning staff were friendly and efficient. Laundry service availability as well. Rates are completely reasonable and only a 3 min walk to the nearest beach and a 15 min walk to the surf beach.
I highly recommend this hotel. Best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We were beyond satisfied with Casa Bahia. It all starts with the friendliness of the owners. The owner happily came to San Juan del Sur to pick us up at no charge. His daughter and son also worked at the hotel, and besides being incredible cooks, they were very friendly and helpful. The food was all delicious and very reasonably priced, as was the hotel room. There was never a bored moment, as there was a ping pong table, pool table, workout area, beautiful pool and hammocks around. The beach was an easy 5-minute walk away, and the hotel has great views of the beach and the bay. Would strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

The hotel is very well located, with a beautiful view on playa Marsella (on very nice white sand beach) and close to playa Maderas, which is one of the best surf spots in the area. Beware, the hotel is 20-30 min away from San Juan, and is a bit remote. For us, it was perfect! But maybe not if you want to enjoy the nightlife. The hosts, Ron and Marcia, were incredibly kind to us. Ron would give us a ride to wherever we wanted to go, every single day! We stayed there 5 nights and were the only guests (except for a very discrete group which had a room on the other side for a couple of nights), so we had it very quiet! The swimming pool and the hammock area were perfect for when we wanted to relax. Our room was ok. Altogether, we would definitely recommend staying at Casa Bahia!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bahia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bahia Hotel

Address: Marsella Beach, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 8 bedrooms and private baths. A 3 bedroom 2 bath cabana with kitchen and dining room. Swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Observation decks with pool and ping pong tables. Beach is walking distance (150 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bahia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bahia Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bahia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.