We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Azul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada Azul
Save
You added La Posada Azul to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Calle Parque de Iglesia, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Fe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

This hotel is truly a gem. It is beautifully but simply decorated. Everything is very clean. The staff is very friendly and a lot of fun. Our breakfasts were the best food we had in Nicaragua. Everyday was something a little different. Each one delicious and filling. I am a black tea drinker and I would recommend bring your own tea bags if you enjoy strong black tea. Other than that everything was perfect. San Juan Del Sur is quite a busy little town and I always felt relieved to walk in the door of La Posada Azul, after walking around the town. It truly is an oasis.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    47
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
153
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

This is a boutique hotel in a nice old building with wooden floors and matching furniture. There is a small pool (I've not seen any bigger pools at other hotels in Nica.) Great location, near the beach. The people that worked at the front desk all spoke English well and are super friendly. We were late for breakfast, but the housekeepers were happy to cook us up whatever we liked anyway. We felt very well taken care of.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed at La Posada Azul over December break with our two sons, ages 14 and 11. This little inn just gets it right. The simple rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious - cooked to order and always accompanied by a large fruit plate and fresh baked pastry. The large veranda with the ceiling fans and comfortable rocking and other chairs are perfect for early morning coffee (which is left for guests each morning) or late in the day reading. The pool was lovely after a day at the beach - especially with the honor bar available for a late afternoon beer or coke. And the staff could not have been more helpful or accomodating. All in all one of the nicest places we've stayed ever.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

this hotel is a beautiful place, i was there in raining season,, it was cool, great pol,, the staff very friendly..

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

Perfect location .Excellent full breakfast. The staff was attentive and friendly

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

This hotel made our stay - it's a beautiful home with a great pool, amazing service and the best location. The rooms are not huge, but clean and comfortable. The common areas are beautifully decorated and the pool area is very relaxing. Breakfasts are delicious and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. It's the best location for staying in town, which is very handy for accessing the nearby beaches and restaurants in town. We loved it and would return in an instant!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The best, hands down, I live in Granada and traveled all over the country, needI say more?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Address: Calle Parque de Iglesia, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
La Posada Azul Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.