We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We rented villa 21, and the cost was very reasonable for 2 bedrooms with large closets, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, and large living room. Great view of the bay! The gate and shuttle staff were friendly and accommodating. Bar staff seemed generally clueless, and in the end we weren't charged for several drinks we had poolside, but we didn't always receive what we'd ordered. Housekeeping staff mostly did not speak English but were good. Any issues that came up were very quickly resolved by Palermo staff, who brought us extra pots & pans, and a floor fan. The beds were comfortable.
We ate only one meal at the restaurant, and it was good, but quite pricey.
The biggest drawback to the villas is that they are not designed with airflow in mind. Only a few of the windows open. The central air conditioning only blows in the upstairs bedroom and at the top of the cathedral ceiling in the living room. We were being charged for our electricity usage, so we set the AC for 28 (it was 33 outside) and it generally felt stuffy inside.
The pool is good for cooling off, but not designed for actual swimming.
Situated on the hillside, there is a lot of steepness in the roads, but stairs are provided for surer footing. If you want to be closer to the pool & restaurant, choose a villa with a lower #.

Room Tip: If you want to be closer to the pool & restaurant, choose a villa with a lower #.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the pool. Yes, the resort is located on a hill and if you prefer not to walk up hill then it is better to request a villa closer to the pool. However the higher numbered villas have spectacular view ocean views so it just depends on whether or not you think the hike is worth the view. In any event, thanks for staying with us and we hope you'll return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    43
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
61
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

A few girlfriends and myself took a chance on a groupon deal to the Villas de Palermo

As soon as we clicked "BUY" we were guessing at what to actually expect vs what the pictures showed. And I'm happy to say - the pictures don't do the place justice.

It was gorgeous. We stayed in Villa 20 and the view of the mountainside and the pacific in the distance was absolutely amazing. Every morning it was so nice to relax on the porch and take in the scenery. The villa was really nice inside as well. 2-story, 2-BR, 2Ba and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The beds weren't all that comfortable, but nothing compares to my own bed, so I'm a tough mattress critic. Our villa was close to the pool and the front desk. And we got dropped off right to our villa door every time we came back from town.

The food at the hotel was great. The service was slow, but that's because unlike us American's - Nicaraguans actually take their time to eat and converse and enjoy the entire dining experience. So, we welcomed the break from the fast paced life we live at home.

There is a shuttle that goes to and from the town. It was always on time, and reliable. And if you want to go in to town at night, they have a very friendly cab driver who they call. They helped book our adventures and excursions. We went zip lining and horseback riding and it was super easy to coordinate. It was supposedly the rainy season, but we only had rain one morning. The rest of the trip was perfect weather. And the sunset…woooowww, the sunsets!

The only thing that was surprising was that we had an unwelcome house guest the 2nd morning - a scorpion! EECK! But, we totally understand that it's a region where more exotic bugs exist and live - so we anticipated some sort of surprise. We told the front desk and they sprayed our room immediately while we were out on the town to help keep the bug sitch at bay. And we saw a noticeable difference once they did that. We also befriended the neighborhood kitty-cats. Bought some cat food in town and fed them to keep them loyal to our patio. Surely, they'd find more fun in hunting scorpions and bugs more than we did. And we didn't have any other problems after that.

Overall - I'd absolutely recommend this place to anyone. You don't get friendlier service than you do here. Especially in a time when customer service is dying - it's alive and well at the Palermo.

Thanks for the great experience!!

Room Tip: Villas 20 was great. Beautiful view and close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Palermo. We are very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent visit. While it is impossible to tame the jungle surrounding the villas, we strive to keep the interior of the villas spotless. We hope you will return in the future. Keep an eye out for future promotions. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We (three women) went to SJDS with a Groupon for the Villas. They were wonderful! The worked with us for round trip transfers to Managua (which included a 3 AM departure), and booked some of our outside adventures for us. The staff was delightful and took care of our every need, including a great cab driver for the nights we would be out past the last shuttle. Jonathan at the front desk was just a doll - we looked forward to seeing him each and every morning for breakfast! I would definitely recommend the in-room massages, too.

We stayed in Villa #20, water pressure was good, kitchen was modern and clean. We really had zero complaints about the trip. We'd all go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent vacation at Villas de Palermo. We hope that you'll return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fifth stay at Palermo and yet we keep coming back after having stayed at Pelican Eyes, another fine property in San Juan del Sur and at Bahia del Sol (avoid that one). This place has everything. Great pool, excellent service, nice comfortable, tastefully appointed villas, modern kitchen, clean bathrooms, centrally airconditioned (including the living room and kitchen). First time we stayed in 2010, we liked it so much, we extended our week stay to 10 days. Take my word, you can't go wrong with this place. Whether you're a family with kids or lovers looking for seclusion, it's perfect. Ask for a lower numbered villa so you don't have to drive to the pool. Also the only place in San Juan that has a road. Even the superior Pelican Eyes has a steep unpaved 'goat track' for a road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Palermo. We are very pleased that you continue to visit. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 20 days in July. We loved our Villa #20 and the beautiful views. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and found it delicious and reasonable. It was helpful to have the van drop us of and pick us up in town. Since we stayed so long, we got to know the staff. They are professional, friendly and helpful. We made several excursions -- Ometepe, Masaya, and Leon. Maria and Arlen, at the front desk were especially helpful in suggesting sites to see as well as providing transportation options. Unfortunately, I broke a tooth while on vacation, and Arlen made the arrangements for me to see a dentist. Villas de Palmermo is a wonderful and welcoming place to go as a couple or a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Janet,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Villas de Palermo. We hope that you will visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently joined my boyfriend in Nicaragua for a week and stayed at the Villas de Palermo, where he is living for a few months. The villas are nicely appointed and very comfortable. I liked the woodwork and the front porch, especially. We had a nice view of the beach and "El Grande Jesus" (our name for the big Jesus statue near the beach) from the upper balcony as well. I wouldn't call the Villas de Palermo fancy, but I would call them comfortable, clean and attractive. I agree with the other reviewers about the water in the shower. It was either scalding hot, if the water heater kicked on, or refreshingly cool. We didn't mind that much, but if I HAD to pick something to complain about that would be the only thing.

Having a kitchen was really awesome. We ate breakfast in the villa everyday. I loooooved sitting on the front porch when the rain came through. Very zen. Darn, why did I come back to the US?

It helps a lot if you speak some Spanish in Nicaragua, as both my boyfriend and I do. The staff in the reception area speak English, but i'm not sure if many of the others do. Anyway, it's a Spanish-speaking country, so learn some Spanish. It's a good language to know! I digress...

The pool area was nice and never crowded. My only recommendation about that is that they might consider getting slightly thicker pads for the lounge chairs. They are lovely chairs but made of wood and kind of hard and the pads they have for them are a bit thin.

There are many beautiful flowers around the property. The red hibiscus is my favorite. Also, Nicaragua has many, many butterflies of many different colors. Very magical.

Tip: If you take the mototaxi shuttle to town (the little one with the open sides), sit in the middle. You'll see... :)

Room Tip: We were in one of the lower villas, closer to the pool and restaurant. I think there are better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Jessica,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with your boyfriend at Villas de Palermo. While many of the employees in reception and the restaurant in Palermo can speak English, we certainly agree that learning some spanish is hugely helpful when traveling in Nicaragua. Thanks for your advice and we hope that you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This past January, my husband and I got married in San Juan Del Sur using a groupon wedding package that the resort was offering. It was gorgeous and the accommodations were great.

The things we loved: The view from the villa (we reserved a villa at the highest point), the food, the prices, the people, and the size of the hotel. The activities like the zip lining was only $30 a person and it was right on the grounds... and it was amazing! San Juan del Sur is great for people that like to explore a new place with some help getting around.

Things we didn't love: The unpredictability of the shower temperature and pressure (not that terrible really), and not having phones in the villas. Normally, this would not be an issue. However, our guests were staying at different villas in different areas of the resort. So in order to communicate, we used the free WiFi to connect to the internet with our phones. if you're coming with a large group, try to stay on close, I guess.

I wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish a little more before going. However, many of the staff members spoke English very well.

Room Tip: If your legs can handle it, we recommend the villas on the top of the hill! Such a great view and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed having your wedding at Palermo. We hope that your guests enjoyed their stay as well. Because of the high iron content in the water in Nicaragua, we are constantly cleaning the shower heads and water system. We apologize if the water in your shower was inconsistent. It is something we are trying to improve for the future. We hope that you will return again some day. We always offer discounts for returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.