We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've tried them all & keep coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Birthday Party Central
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We've tried them all & keep coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fifth stay at Palermo and yet we keep coming back after having stayed at Pelican Eyes, another fine property in San Juan del Sur and at Bahia del Sol (avoid that one). This place has everything. Great pool, excellent service, nice comfortable, tastefully appointed villas, modern kitchen, clean bathrooms, centrally airconditioned (including the living room and kitchen). First time we stayed in 2010, we liked it so much, we extended our week stay to 10 days. Take my word, you can't go wrong with this place. Whether you're a family with kids or lovers looking for seclusion, it's perfect. Ask for a lower numbered villa so you don't have to drive to the pool. Also the only place in San Juan that has a road. Even the superior Pelican Eyes has a steep unpaved 'goat track' for a road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Palermo. We are very pleased that you continue to visit. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    37
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
59
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 20 days in July. We loved our Villa #20 and the beautiful views. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant and found it delicious and reasonable. It was helpful to have the van drop us of and pick us up in town. Since we stayed so long, we got to know the staff. They are professional, friendly and helpful. We made several excursions -- Ometepe, Masaya, and Leon. Maria and Arlen, at the front desk were especially helpful in suggesting sites to see as well as providing transportation options. Unfortunately, I broke a tooth while on vacation, and Arlen made the arrangements for me to see a dentist. Villas de Palmermo is a wonderful and welcoming place to go as a couple or a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Janet,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your vacation at Villas de Palermo. We hope that you will visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I recently joined my boyfriend in Nicaragua for a week and stayed at the Villas de Palermo, where he is living for a few months. The villas are nicely appointed and very comfortable. I liked the woodwork and the front porch, especially. We had a nice view of the beach and "El Grande Jesus" (our name for the big Jesus statue near the beach) from the upper balcony as well. I wouldn't call the Villas de Palermo fancy, but I would call them comfortable, clean and attractive. I agree with the other reviewers about the water in the shower. It was either scalding hot, if the water heater kicked on, or refreshingly cool. We didn't mind that much, but if I HAD to pick something to complain about that would be the only thing.

Having a kitchen was really awesome. We ate breakfast in the villa everyday. I loooooved sitting on the front porch when the rain came through. Very zen. Darn, why did I come back to the US?

It helps a lot if you speak some Spanish in Nicaragua, as both my boyfriend and I do. The staff in the reception area speak English, but i'm not sure if many of the others do. Anyway, it's a Spanish-speaking country, so learn some Spanish. It's a good language to know! I digress...

The pool area was nice and never crowded. My only recommendation about that is that they might consider getting slightly thicker pads for the lounge chairs. They are lovely chairs but made of wood and kind of hard and the pads they have for them are a bit thin.

There are many beautiful flowers around the property. The red hibiscus is my favorite. Also, Nicaragua has many, many butterflies of many different colors. Very magical.

Tip: If you take the mototaxi shuttle to town (the little one with the open sides), sit in the middle. You'll see... :)

Room Tip: We were in one of the lower villas, closer to the pool and restaurant. I think there are better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Jessica,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with your boyfriend at Villas de Palermo. While many of the employees in reception and the restaurant in Palermo can speak English, we certainly agree that learning some spanish is hugely helpful when traveling in Nicaragua. Thanks for your advice and we hope that you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This past January, my husband and I got married in San Juan Del Sur using a groupon wedding package that the resort was offering. It was gorgeous and the accommodations were great.

The things we loved: The view from the villa (we reserved a villa at the highest point), the food, the prices, the people, and the size of the hotel. The activities like the zip lining was only $30 a person and it was right on the grounds... and it was amazing! San Juan del Sur is great for people that like to explore a new place with some help getting around.

Things we didn't love: The unpredictability of the shower temperature and pressure (not that terrible really), and not having phones in the villas. Normally, this would not be an issue. However, our guests were staying at different villas in different areas of the resort. So in order to communicate, we used the free WiFi to connect to the internet with our phones. if you're coming with a large group, try to stay on close, I guess.

I wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish a little more before going. However, many of the staff members spoke English very well.

Room Tip: If your legs can handle it, we recommend the villas on the top of the hill! Such a great view and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed having your wedding at Palermo. We hope that your guests enjoyed their stay as well. Because of the high iron content in the water in Nicaragua, we are constantly cleaning the shower heads and water system. We apologize if the water in your shower was inconsistent. It is something we are trying to improve for the future. We hope that you will return again some day. We always offer discounts for returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmas, TO
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel looks more like a house, it has a kitchen, living room, balcony, it has a lot of space. SanJuan is a party town, great for surfing, meeting interesting people or just relax. You can do it all in this place. It is a little far from the city but we always had a suttle bus taking us to downtown. No a problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit. We are working on continuing the efficiency of the shuttle service to make it easier for people to get to and from town on a regular basis. Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you down here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Villa for two nights and found the accommodations quite luxurious for the area. We only ate breakfast here but it was very tasty. Our only complaint was that the manager seemed a little rude and wouldn't let us have a glass of water as we were leaving.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friend and I stayed in Villa 13 from July 12 - July 18. The villa was situated right accross from the main office / reception area and restaurant. It was absolutely perfect in every way. We had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant almost every day and the chef prepared absolutely delicious food. Whole grilled snapper, Mayan steak, fresh fruit with almost every meal. The prices were very reasonable and the service was spectacuar in every way. The daily housekeeping service was exceptional and she was vey nice too, by the way. The gate house security did a great job, recognizing us when we returned after each trek to town via local taxis. The daily shuttle van service dropped us off in town wherever we requested. Although it was a few minutes out of town, it was definately worth it ! I will stay no where else on my next trip to San Juan Del Sur !

Room Tip: Villa 13 was located close to the restaurant and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review Patti. We really appreciate it. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Palermo. We hope that you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.