We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Villa with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Arrived on a very hot day and after a 1 hour taxi ride from San Jorge we were happy we could check in early and head straight to the pool. Staff are very kind and helpful. Easy to book free shuttle into town and back. They had a taxi take us in a couple of times. Walked into town a few times and felt safe.
We stayed a week in Villa 27 and it seems that every villa has the same stuff except some have newer T.V.s. Very clean. Two cleanings done for 20$ US while we were there. Well worth it as they change towels and bedding. Only 7$ US for anoter cleaning. Water is 5.75$ US for 5 gallons. You will need it! You pay for electricity usage so make sure you read the meter by the front door when you check in and maybe have an employee sign it. We had a bill of almost 200$ US after a week but since I read the meter at check-in it was easy to prove my usage was MUCH lower. We didn't use the AC so only used about 4$ US a day!
Yes we would go back and if you book through an owner it is reasonably priced (VRBO,Homeaway ect).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for visiting Villas de Palermo and taking the time to provide feedback on your visit. We will hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    43
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
53
61
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very pleased with the service. I would definately come here again. I had a wonderful stay. I was recently there last week with my volleyball team. We enjoyed every minute we were there. We had an awesome experience. The food was great and i was very pleased with the service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are pleased to hear that you and your team enjoyed your visit to Villas de Palermo. We go to great efforts to accommodate teams and group vacations for travelers in San Juan del Sur. We hope that you will visit us again in the future on your next visit to Nicaragua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Overall I would sum it up to: the biggest swindle, fraud as a "hotel" they are very far away of giving the sevice of at least a 3 star hotel would give. The staff is very poor qualified the villa was poorly taken care of the TV is from last century, they dont have purified water you have to bring your own!
Theres no comunication (no phones) you must bring your own cell phone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
En realidad lo sentimos, al escuchar que no haiga disfrutado su visita resiente en villas de Palermo, estamos en proceso de actualizar todo el sistema de televisión por cable de todas las villas. Desafortunada mente no contamos con teléfonos convencionales pero tenemos internet gratis en cada villa al cual ustedes tienen acceso gratito , para solicitar servicio a su villa o reservar al guna actividad. Todo el personal hace todo lo que está al alcance posible para servirles. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I've stayed here on two separate trips and I don't think there's anything negative to say about the villas, staff, or amenities at the resort. The villas themselves are more like a two bedroom house, with great AC, they all have a great view (be it from the upper balcony or the patio), the kitchens have modern appliances and some cooking utensils (if you need more, there's a super cheap Pali and a free shuttle to get you there), maybe the TV could be updated, but if you're watching Law and Order reruns on your vacation, then you're doing it wrong.
The resort property is immaculately maintained and landscaped. The pool is for leisure, definitely not for laps, and the lounge chairs get snatched up fast, so you have to claim yours after breakfast if you want one.
The restaurant and bar are good. Sure, its more expensive than some of the places in town, but its a resort restaurant, not a taco shop on the beach, and the beers are still only about $1US, which is comparable to the rest of the town.
The resort offers a free shuttle that runs until 6, and you usually don't have to wait longer than one beer at the bar for the next shuttle. They'll drive you to the super market (3 minutes) or to the beach (6 minutes), or pretty much anywhere else in town for free (I always just tipped a dollar per trip).
As nice and comfortable as everything is there, the staff is why I keep going back. On my first trip, the GM of the hotel personally escorted us on a tour of a local farm (part of a Living Social package) and had a basket prepared of all the fruits we tried on the tour, picked just for us, and he was a great translator and brunch companion. Another night that trip, there were no cabs anywhere in town (it was pretty late) and one of the shuttle drivers (long off duty) gave us a ride and refused to take cash for the ride. On my second trip, I needed to see a doctor (for an injury I got in Costa Rica) and the driver took me to the health center, translated for the doctor, and asked how I was doing every time I saw him after. You could stay pretty much anywhere in town and have a good trip, but staying here is always one of the best parts of visiting Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay at Villas de Pallermo was a pleasure. The villas are spacious, clean, and complete with many amenities for a comfortable, long-term stay. The two full rooms and bathrooms are great for various group sizes, and the kitchen is equipped enough to accommodate a decent amount of cooking. Clean and comfortable beds, great maid services. The balconies overlook incredible views (along with the pool), and the rocking chairs out front provide a relaxing end to the day. Functioning air conditioning is also a plus. The pool is clean and the breakfast buffet is delicious. The staff is more than willing to answer any questions and arrange a quick shuttle ride to the town. Highly recommend this place for a safe and comfortable stay a little outside of the dirty center of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went on a Couples trip for a long weekend on a groupon deal. We got a very good price on this hotel, and the exchange rate for Cordobas (local currencies) was very good when we were traveling.

Pros - great view, we were in Condo 33, or 36 can't remember, highly recommend, beautiful. More of a house than a condo, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances, central air conditioning, patio downstairs and upstairs balcony, perfect for the price. Service at bar was great, food and drinks were both about average, nothing special. Shuttle service was great, but the last shuttle is at 6 pm, not convenient for dinner.

Cons - blackout for Saturday night, truck ran into telephone pole, not the resorts fault obviously, only about 50% of restaurants downtown had generators, and our condo did not have a generator, but condos 1-8 do, not a big deal for our group, we just hung out at the pool. No workout facility. Distance from town is not walkable, it's about a 45 minute walk, also not a safe walk. My wife actually got robbed, and had her purse stolen while I was walking right in front of her, I recommend having the male walk behind. Again, not the resorts fault, just part of traveling to a third world country. Don't take anything out that you aren't willing to lose.

We did the catamaran trip and the in room massages, both I would highly recommend. Catamaran trip was the best part of the trip! Food was much better on the beach at the local restaurants.

Overall highly recommend this resort, we actually liked the distance and added security of not being close to the "downtown" area

Room Tip: Rooms higher up = higher numbers. More of a walk, but a better view, that's the tradeoff. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love Villas de Palermo. The villa I stayed in (#49) was a 2bd 2ba. The A/C kept things nice and cool inside. It was around 95F during the day when I was there in March 2013. The real star is the view from the patio. I had two rocking chairs and a table on the patio where a spent a lot of time. There's WiFi in the villas which was very fast and reliable. Housekeeping came everyday and did a very nice job making up the place. Maria, in reception, was very cool and was always ready to help out with problems(I didn't have any though).
I didn't eat at the restaurant. There are so many places to eat in town that I didn't have a chance. From I saw, the food looked good.
The pool is a great place to cool off after a day of doing whatever in SJDS. It was well kept and clean.
It was very windy while I was there. The trees and bushes made some noises at night and may have tapped the windows from time to time. There are critters outside at night that sometimes make noises too. Once I figured out what the noises were, I slept like a baby every night. If you need absolute silence for sleep, you might want some earplugs. It didn't bother me at all.
This is a great place to stay if you're going to SJDS. It's about a mile out of town. I never took the resort shuttle. I like to come and go on my schedule, so I rented my own car. There's plenty of parking on site. BTW: if you're going anywhere out of town(like to beaches), it's better to have 4X4.
Enjoy Nicaragua!

Room Tip: I liked having a higher villa. The higher numbered villas are on the top row and have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.