We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay just outside of San Juan Del Sur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay just outside of San Juan Del Sur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I love Villas de Palermo. The villa I stayed in (#49) was a 2bd 2ba. The A/C kept things nice and cool inside. It was around 95F during the day when I was there in March 2013. The real star is the view from the patio. I had two rocking chairs and a table on the patio where a spent a lot of time. There's WiFi in the villas which was very fast and reliable. Housekeeping came everyday and did a very nice job making up the place. Maria, in reception, was very cool and was always ready to help out with problems(I didn't have any though).
I didn't eat at the restaurant. There are so many places to eat in town that I didn't have a chance. From I saw, the food looked good.
The pool is a great place to cool off after a day of doing whatever in SJDS. It was well kept and clean.
It was very windy while I was there. The trees and bushes made some noises at night and may have tapped the windows from time to time. There are critters outside at night that sometimes make noises too. Once I figured out what the noises were, I slept like a baby every night. If you need absolute silence for sleep, you might want some earplugs. It didn't bother me at all.
This is a great place to stay if you're going to SJDS. It's about a mile out of town. I never took the resort shuttle. I like to come and go on my schedule, so I rented my own car. There's plenty of parking on site. BTW: if you're going anywhere out of town(like to beaches), it's better to have 4X4.
Enjoy Nicaragua!

Room Tip: I liked having a higher villa. The higher numbered villas are on the top row and have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Sitting on a hill in San Juan del Sur is this little gem. The Villa's were beautiful and spacious with a full kitchen and two full bathrooms. The views from the upstairs balcony we're probably the best in SJDS. The staff was attentive and helpful. A bit of a language barrier, but overall we're friendly. The pool is clean and relaxing. I would recommend this place to everyone. The only draw back was you couldn't walk to town and the shuttle went only on the hour every hour until 6, so you'd have to wait or get a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivas, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff are lovely, friendly, and very attentive. The pool is beautiful and refreshing. The Villa was excellent, very comfy and safe feeling. The food however at the restaurant was only average, and disappointing. It is also overpriced. Next time I would look for a place to stay on the water.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed @ Palermo for a month in Jan. Very nice villa. Windows had screens, but beautiful large doors did not, but I had no real problem with insects. Talked to three couples at the pool who reported scorpions in their room. I had door open late at night, every night, never saw a scorpion the entire time I was there. Mionkey outside my villa as well as geckos in my room which was very cool. I did not have a phone with me that worked in SJDC so no phone in the room was a concern if there was an emergency.
I found the staff excellent, I liked the restauraunt, used it foiur times for dinner, steak was excellent and I thought the prices were reasonable. Pool was very nice. Onc piece of advice: to check what the wind conditions are like for the month you want to visit. In Jan the winds were relentless, every day gusting 20-40mph, making the beaches pretty unusable. The winds made it necessary to shim every window and door the rattling was so bad. Nonetheless, I would highly recommend and hope to return next year. Appreciated free shuttle to town.

Room Tip: Highest rooms have beautiful views near the rainforest but a steep walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in unit #20. In terms of the complex as a whole, it is well maintained and clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is nice, with a view out to the ocean. It is built on a hillside, so depending on your location, you may have quite a hill to walk up from the pool/restaurant area. The pool chairs are quite hard, there are not enough pads to go around, and the ones they have a pretty thin. If you are in the water all the time this won't bother you. There is also not much shade around the pool and it gets very hot. The complex offers a shuttle into town on the hour, which takes about 8 minutes. They stop running at 6 PM, however, so you will have to taxi back in the evening. The shuttle driver told us to expect to pay about $8 to taxi back, however, we were able to negotiate between $2 & $4 depending on the driver. Set the deal before you get in the car!
Unit #20 is spacious, clean and sparsely furnished. It was disappointing to see how poorly stocked the kitchen is. With very little expense on the owner's part this unit could be SO much better. They literally had 4 sets of dishes and cutlery, which meant you were doing dishes constantly. Old aluminum pots and pans had seen better days. Each bedroom has a large walk-in closet but only 4 hangers between them. I hope the owners read this because if they added a few little things it would make a big difference to travelers. For example, 20 hangers in each closet, and: an iron (travelers get wrinkled!), a toaster, a kettle, kitchen towels, and a broom. We spilled stuff on the floor and had to call housekeeping to clean it up...seriously??? Put a darn broom in the room so people can keep it tidy. And more sets of dishes so people don't keep running out. Other things you should be aware of: You pay extra for drinking water, albeit only $5.00 for an office-sized bottle. Also, the power goes out frequently, sometimes hours at a time. Bring a flashlight and candles. Booking staff were great, and on-site staff was responsive with any concerns we had. We would stay there again, however, we would research specific units first.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view and others do not. Check out the reviews for specific units...some are much bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The kitchen supplies were sparse, not even a strainer. The restaurant was overpriced and the food mediocre. Maria is fantastic! She was able to arrange for a taxi to the Dr. office when my daughter developed a seafood allergy, they were ready and waiting for us when we arrived.
The shuttle service was not reliable and one day we waited 45 minutes to go into town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I must agree that semicolon1 has hit the nail on the head. Your experience at Villas de Palermo will in great part be determined by the furnishings provided by the owner of the unit you are renting. This is not a reason to hesitate renting there, however. The staff is outstanding and really is dedicated to providing a satisfying experience for all guests. Maria Louisa in particular speaks fluent English and has an extensive knowledge of the whole country of Nicaragua, as well as the SJDS area. She can arrange everything from hikes to in-room massages and will iron out all the wrinkles you encounter.

The restaurant, while of course quite convenient to the resort, is very high-priced compared to other SJDS dining options and the food quality was just average. They were unable to provide several dishes that I ordered, claiming on one evening that they had no limes, avocados, or crabmeat. The crabmeat I can understand since it's imported, but I had just bought limes and avocados myself at the local grocery. How could a full-service LatAm restaurant fail to have these items on hand? Unless you're really wedded to the view, go downtown and sample the wonderful restaurants in SJDS. You'll eat better (at El Colibri, for example) and spend less.

All in all, we had a great time here and are strongly considering renting for a full month next winter. We will, however, call ahead to make sure there are more than two worn-out pots in the kitchen cupboard.

Room Tip: There are 50 villas. The higher the number, the higher up the [steep] mountain you are, but all 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.