We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were incredible.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Birthday Party Central
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The staff were incredible.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were here for 8 days and loved every moment. The food was awesome. We ate fresh everything; it was cooked to perfection. The hotel, bar and restaurant staff were really friendly. It wasn't a stuffy feel at all. Super relaxed and authentic. The Villas were comfortable and clean. The accommodations were perfect for resting after a day in the sun. We loved it and would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the food. We have a new chef and are working on expanding restaurant options and seafood specials. We hope that you enjoyed it and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    42
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
61
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has a lot to recommend it. It has what most travelers looks for: central location, cleanliness and tranquility, Put all that together with great rates in the off-season and you've got a pretty nice place to stay.
However, there is an interesting story behind how this hotel got its start, helping to at least partly explain the mystery of why so many places are for sale. Each condo is individually owned, but the owners have to agree to the following: they must rent it out for most of the year and all condos share the proceeds! So, you are allowed to advertise your own property, but there is no incentive to do that.
There are also strict regulations about how each condo is furnished and what it can contain, so there is no real way to make your condo more comfortable. No little extras that turn a regular hotel into a luxury one (exactly two pillows per bed, 300 thread count sheets, etc).
It seemed to us that this hotel could be made a lot nicer than it is, if they could relax some of these rather strict ownership rules that they currently have.
The restaurant is actually pretty good, but glacially slow, so we ended up going into the town for meals most of the time. They have a cute little vehicle that leaves for town every hour, but even if it's just sitting there, they won't take guests into town unless it's the right time. At one point, they did agree to give us a ride into town in their van, stating that they would do it "just for us".
All in all, I'd stay here again, but probably not for more than a few days.

Room Tip: There are a number of "luxury" condos (I think #1-7?), but they were not offered to us whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is my second time staying at Villas Palermo and again came back with a smile. The beauty of this place is the stand alone villas that have the feel of coming home. The villas are rather modern and have all the luxuries. I appreciate that it is not in the heart of San Juan rather tucked up in the mountains with a wonderful view of the bay. You have the option of walking into town (about 20 minutes) or riding down in the tuk-tuk (compliments of the hotel). After eating at a few places in town, I kept coming back to Villas Palermo for the price and quality of food out ranked others. The lomito in chimichirri sauce is incredible, the caesar salad (although a bit small) is delicious. The shrimps in the chef's sauce also delicious.
Very pleased with the service, villas, and restaurant. Will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Great views and private choose #34, 35. Although it is a bit of a walk to the restaurant..the view i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit just as much the 2nd time. Also great to hear you loved the chimichirri sauce. It is always a local favorite! We hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here recently. We stayed for 4 nights using a Groupon Deal. The resort is up above the town of San Juan del Sur, about a 10-15 minute walk or easy shuttle ride. You have beautiful views of the ocean and surrounding green hills.

The condo had modern, comfortable furnishings. The bathrooms were clean and the kitchen had everything you might need to cook on your own. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms spacious. The ground were beautiful and all was tranquil and quiet.

The condos are arranged on a switchback type road above the pool and restaraunt. If you stay in the units further up the hill you have to use the paved road to walk on to get to the restaraunt. There is no protected sidewalk. Traffic is just within the resort traffic, but cars do go up and down the road regularly. This was an area of concern for my husband and I with our 2 year old son. It ended up being fine but I just really wish they had put in a sidewalk.

The pool is a highlight! It is beautiful, clean and has a fun waterfall feature. My son loved the pool and we spent many hours there.

The food at the restaraunt was delicious and varied. The Nicaraguan breakfast was my favorite each AM. Prices were reasonable.

It was easy to arrange excursions, massages, rides into town from the main office. We loved our tour to see the turtles at night at the catamaran sailing trip.

The office never had change for large Cordobas and neither did the restaraunt. Keep this in mind for tipping (get smaller bills before you get to the resort for tips).

All in all a great place to stay. I would definitely return!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit! We hope that you will return again soon. Keep an eye out for our next Groupon offer coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for four nights after a wonderful stay in Granada. We were surprised at how big and open the villa was. It was impeccably clean. Two master bedrooms, two full bathrooms and a full kitchen, a big, open plan living/dining room, balcony off the bedroom and large patio with rocking chairs and a wonderful view. It did not feel like a hotel, it felt more like it was our own home which was terrific. We loved the views, the big pool and the restaurant which served the best food of the trip. All the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. They arranged the tours and our massages which I highly recommend. We had a couple of cute visitors every day. Two cheerful cats came to our door for food and love. One was very pregnant and we made sure to give them a lot of food and affection. We hope that they continue to be well cared for by the hotel and by visitors especially as she delivers her kittens. My favorite part of being there was the howler monkeys. Make sure to look for them in the forests next to the road on the property, especially in the late afternoon. One thing I wish they would try to do is clean up some of the litter and trash which gets washed into the forest by way of the drainage ditches. I understand this would be a challenge but it would be great if they could install some kind of grate to catch the trash before it gets washed to the forest floor which we could easily see from the road. Other than that the property was both peaceful and beautiful. I highly recommend this excellent hotel as an alternative to the town which can be a bit busy and noisy.

Room Tip: The higher the villa the better the view. All of the villas seem to be the same in layout but some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and travel advice on Villas de Palermo. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed there 3 years ago and loved the view, the rooms, the drinks at the pool. At first I thought it was too far away from the town, but then I appreciated the location better. I'm goin back on Thanksgiving week this year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a response. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you plan to return over Thanksgiving. Email us about the specials we offer our returning visitors - info@villasdepalermo.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed in Palermo for 4 days this August and the exceeded my expectation on all counts. Clean villas, excellent service, extremely friendly staff and amazingly yummy food. The villas are spacious, comfortable, equipped with modern facilities and can easily accommodate a small family (4-5 members).

Our ocean view villa had a fantastic view from both the levels. Watching the blue moon rise over the hill top, from the bedroom was winderful!

We took a Groupon deal which included stay, food, non alcoholic drinks and all Nicaraguan rum & beer!! It was a steal really!

In all, a great place to chill out, relax and a big shout out to the team (especially the chef)!!

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillasdePalermo, Director of Sales at Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were pleased with your Groupon deal. We have been working hard to improve our all around service and glad to see it's paying off. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort

Address: Carreterra San Juan del Sur, km 139, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palermo Hotel and Resort is located in San Juan del Sur, a city that bridges Costa Rica and Nicaragua on the Pacific Ocean. The hotel features 50 villas, flexible in-room work spaces, full-kitchens and room service, wireless broadband connectivity throughout the property, as well as both large and small, air-conditioned conference and meeting spaces. Terraza de Palermo Restaurant and Bar offer a dramatic dining experience overlooking the tropical pool and sunsets into the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas De Palermo Hotel And Resort
Villas De Palermo Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Villas De Palermo Hotel & Resort Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.