We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in San Juan del Sur!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Avenue Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Avenue Villas
Save
You added Park Avenue Villas to your Saves list
#1 Park Avenue, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in San Juan del Sur!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We have spent five incredible days in January. The view to the ocean is stunning, the staff is very friendly, and the hosts Ralph and Renda are just amazing. I loved the design of the hotel. A big pool in the middle and a large terrace where you can see the beautiful beach.
The rooms are also clean and nice with a TV, many English channels.
It is a definitely place I would stay again.

  • Liked — the design of the hotel and hosts
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
56
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Wow, what a find! We loved it. Stayed at Park Avenue Villas for two weeks in November/December, 2007 and are ready to go back. The hotel has everything and more you might need to enjoy a vacation in the sun. The owners designed and built a perfect place. You will find all the modern conveniences of home with the flavor of Nicaragua. The owners and staff are wonderful. From the first day to the last we felt welcome and part of the family. The sunsets are to die for and the view from the hotel is one of the best in town. We never found a cleaner hotel in Nicaragua; the staff does a great job and their English is coming along great too. Be sure to check-out the pool. We don’t usually go into pools but the one at the Park Avenue Villas was so clean and they don’t use chlorine!

There is plenty of great food available to cook or eat out in San Juan. We frequently eat at the central market and found everything we needed to cook in the local stores.

The hotel is a great value. You might be able to find a cheaper place but nothing comes close for convenience, location and quality.

  • Liked — Service, quality, location and price.
  • Disliked — We had to leave to go home!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We stayed at Park Avenue Villas for 7 heavenly days in November, 2007 and all I can say is that my wife and I felt pretty bummed out and depressed on our way back to Managua airport at the end of our visit.

The hotel is only 100 yards from the waterfront and restaurants, and the view of the San Juan del Sur bay from the hotel's 2nd floor balcony is to die for. Ralph and Renda Hewitt, the owners are transplants from Dallas, Texas and they treated us like family right from the time we walked into the lobby. The staff, consisting of Jenny, Jorge, Oscar and Alma….is absolutely wonderful and their service was incredible...a tribute to the owners' outlook and compassion. The rooms are spotless and we the attached kitchenette had everything you could want for cooking. And the enclosed pool is fantastic.

There are several wonderful restaurants only minutes from the hotel....and we recommend the El Colibri very highly. Also, don't forget to go to the Central Market and eat at one of the four eateries...it's cheap and authentic food.

Overall I would say this is probably one of the best hotel we have ever stayed in on a vacation and the rate was very very affordable.

  • Liked — very clean and big rooms and great service by the staff
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

A friend recommended Park Avenue Villas for our first adventure in any Central American country, and it was a perfect place for us. Our hosts helped with arrangements when the language barrier would have been an issue for us. We loved our suite, having a kitchen, and the deck and view are beyond wonderful. Ralph designed the hotel to stay as cool as possible and catch the breeze. My husband I definitely would go back.

A question for Trip Advisor: What's the definition of "Other Lodging"? Why isn't this place in the "Hotels" listing? It took me a bit of searching to find ... thanks.

Miriam

  • Liked — Location & views
  • Disliked — Not a thing. It was all great.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

The Park Avenue Villas is a brand new hotel in downtown San Juan. It is a smaller hotel in a higher price bracket , however, the perks make it more than worth it's weight in cordobas. The American ex-pats who designed, built and manage the hotel are warm and sweet ,and made our vacation feel more like a trip to gram's than to central america. Every night, all of the guests would meet on the balcony with a glass of wine and watch the brilliant sun set over the ocean. I would recommend this to families and backpackers alike.

  • Liked — the owners, the view, and the kitchen
  • Disliked — the mattresses were very firm
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

Park Avenue Villas is the place to stay in San Juan del Sur, hands down.
The faciltiies are excellent, hot water, air conditioning, daily maid service... The rooms/apartments are a lap of luxery, and the customer service leaves the pricest of places behind in the dust. It should be noted that you wont run into your crazy, run of the mill traveler. Park Avenue Villas is as welcoming to a cheery family, as it is to a group of young happy travlers, yet sorts out the less desirable ( anyone who has travelled knows excatly what I am talking about. = a plus to us all). To top it all off, the owners Ralph and Renda are to die for, I am already missing them. If you have a question they always have an answer, with a pleasent touch of southern charm. I look forward to my next stay at Park Avenue Villas.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2007

Our stay at the Villas was exactly what we were looking for on our christmas vacation.
The owners made us feel at home and provided us with all the resources we needed to enjoy our stay. It was lovely.
The Villas are clean, beautiful and comfortable.
And the views at sunset are not to be missed.
Relax and Enjoy!

  • Liked — The comfort of the whole building , suites and the balcony
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Avenue Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Avenue Villas

Address: #1 Park Avenue, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Avenue Villas is a condo hotel only a block from the beach within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, activities in the middle of town. The hotel is on a slight hill so you get a panaramic view of the bay with awesome sunsets from our second floor deck.We have long and short term rates and 4 selections of suites. Our motto, the longer you stay, the less you pay... We offer one and two bedroom suites with airconditioning, TV, DVD players, great selection of DVDs free...ceiling fans and hot water throughout the hotel. courtyard pool is on the lower floor. Call or email for pricing.In San Juan del Sur and Park Avenue Villas, there is truly No Bad Days. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Avenue Villas Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Avenue Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.