We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good place!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Maritimo el Coco

Save Saved
You added Parque Maritimo el Coco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parque Maritimo el Coco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa el Coco, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Pretty good place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I went with a small group and we rented out a cabin- it wasn't on the beach, but you are never too far from it! It was nice to have 2 bathrooms in our cabin (3 bedroom) and each room had air-conditioning (the main room had 2 large fans) and safes to lock up personal belongings. Wifi is available and handy in the cabin. The rooms are cleaned daily but do tend to get a bit dirty- that's the life of bringing in lots of sand! Sometimes the kitchen wasn't cleaned because we used it minimally.
Breakfast at the beachfront hotel restaurant was included and offered good variety (the best is honestly the Creole breakfast- eat Nicaraguan fare!). Your order can take a long time to prepare but if you pre-order the night before for a set time they are good about being on time.
It worked well for our group and we spent more of the days out exploring and visiting the sea/beaches so we didn't really use the pool. The office staff were not always found at the desk during the state hours, but when they were they were mostly helpful and friendly.
The area is known for nesting sea turtles and surfing- watch out for stingrays, they are common and we saw many (no incidents) and the hotel is clear about warning guests about it.
I think if you are a relaxed traveler you will be happy here- it is a good place overall and I could recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    28
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nindiri, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I went with a group of my friends to this hotel about a week (July 14, 2012). It was a great location for us. While we were there we felt as if we had our own private beach. We sat on the beach and went swimming in the pool and just relaxed. If you are looking for a place close to San Juan del Sur then this isn´t the place for you. It is about a 30 minute drive on a rough road to get there from San Juan. But if you are looking for a quite relaxing vacation with a group of people it´s idle! The staff was very nice and helpful and the restaurant that they have there is very good. I woul recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parque_Maritimo, General Manager at Parque Maritimo el Coco, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Kellie:

Thanks for your positive comments about your last stayed at Parque Maritimo el Coco. All Parque Maritimo el Coco staff is excited to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have stayed at the Parque Maritimo, in the "Cangrejos" (crab) appartments a few metres from Playa Coco beach, a couple of times before and were happy to return in January 2012 for three nights. The facilities have been improved since our last visit, with better furniture. Although the cooking space is rather restricted, it is possible to prepare meals in the room that can be enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the sea. The beach at sunrise and sundown is fantastic, especially if you like watching flocks of pelicans zooming across the waves and diving clumsily for fish. The nearby "Puesto de Sol" restaurant has also been upgraded since our last visit and serves very good food. The hotel staff are also helpful in providing information about the expected arrival of the thousands of turtles that lay eggs on the adjacent beach (Playa Flor) at particular times of year. It will be interesting to see how the Parque Maritimo and other hotels and guest houses spread out along the 1½ km Playa Coco, cope with the probable increase in visitor numbers when the surfacing of the 19 km road from San Juan del Sur is complete. Nos vemos!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parque_Maritimo, Gerente at Parque Maritimo el Coco, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Guest:

Parquer Maritimo el Coco`s staffs appreciate your opinion and say thank you for recommending our hotel. Every month all the staff get together to evaluate comments and critics for past month. We try to full fill most of the suggestions giving by guests. We are glad you have found the lodging facility improved from your past visit. Your comment is a rewards for us.

Regarding the road and the new developments on Playa el Coco. We are also concern about the positive and negative impact they will bring to Playa el Coco. Here at Parque Maritimo el Coco we will keep our houses among trees and animals. We have strict rules about construction and construction area. The next time you visit Parque Maritimo el Coco, you will not see changes from out side but from inside, and of course a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel was the only disappointment during our visit to Nicaragua in November, 2011. The place has gone to seed and NO maintanence has been performed in many months. The road to the hotel was almost impassable and looked like something out of Jurassic Park. The dining room was closed, permanently, and the rooms were unsafe: Our apartment had a stove with the propane gas tank stored underneath the counter top, RIGHT NEXT TO THE OVEN!! Can you spell FIREBALL?? Numerous other plumbing and electrical conditions would be code violations anywhere on earth. Plus, no towels and NO HOT WATER!! We left immediately and stayed at Hotel Victoriana which was lovely.

Mike & Barbara, New York, NY

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parque_Maritimo, Gerente at Parque Maritimo el Coco, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Mike & Barbara:

I am sad to read Parque Maritimo el Coco was your only disappointment during your visit to Nicaragua. At the moment is it difficult for me to find your reservation and look how it was done. I would like to know if the Reservation staff informed you about the road condition, the restaurant and some areas of the hotel closed by maintenance. Obviously it is a dirt road and during raining season (from July to November) is it only accessible by a 4x4 vehicle. We also did some maintenance to the restaurant (change palapa roof) and to the water and electrical system on all houses on November. We always perform the maintenance on November when the raining season has ended. If the reservation staff did not informed you about these, I apologies for it. Unfortunately there isn’t anything I can do right now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Having given ourselves five days in SJDS, we chose to spend three nights at Playa El Coco. The Parque Maritimo El Coco offered all kinds of accommodation, and was quite memorable in itself. It has a good restaurant on the beach. There is a shop, if you want to make your own food. And ten minutes further down the beach, or road, you come to Lug's place, which offers very good food, and more basic, but cheaper, accommodation. Activities included boogie boarding, and a half hour walk to a river affording welcome shade, and non-surfy swimming. But really, it's just a lovely place to be. And we saw a turtle. To get there, we got a taxi for $25, about an hour, as the bus went a little late. But the bus is good for the return - early morning or late afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diriamba, Nicaragua
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I have actually stayed here twice, both times with a group of friends. The kitchen is great for saving money and cooking meals at home, but we also enjoyed the beachfront hammocks and cocktails at the restaurant!
It is worth the long bumpy ride though I would not risk it during the rainy season!! And be sure to arrange the price of your ride beforehand.
One more thing, the stingray warnings are REAL--be careful!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

This is an Ok hotel located on one of the greatest beaches in Nicaragua, playa El Coco is a must.

For regular prices you can get a quite nice cabin, with kitchen, a nice bed an a balcony or terrace, not the best design or comfort Ive seen but still a nice place to stay. From were I stayed, I only had to make a few step to the beach.

Regarding the restaurant, i suggest you rather take your own food and cook, this way you wont have to pay 20$ for a regular lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parque Maritimo el Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parque Maritimo el Coco

Address: Playa el Coco, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parque Maritimo el Coco 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 18 kilometers south of San Juan del Sur is situated Parque Marítimo el Coco, a resort specially conceived to allow our visitors to relax in a peaceful environment, in direct contact with nature. The resort - of category III - offers lodging in houses of different design). A characteristic of this resort consists in its location in plain nature, where since 1994 have ben constructed houses under the roof oft trees. The resort’s administration wants to conserve these natural surroundings, which offer the suited hiding places for many wild animals like squirrels, skunks, iguanas, garrobos, etc. During October and November herds of hauler monkeys visit the resort, attracted by the fruits of jobos. You can watch birds like urracas, colibris, woodpeckers, small parrots and many others because we respect nature’s biological rhythmus. The growing of the trees during the rainy season is part of this rhythmus, the falling of there dry leafs and branches is part of the rhythmus, too. These branches y leafs are not garbage, but important natural dung. Furthermore they help to keep humid the soil retaining the water, the main source of life, in the ground. We invite our guests to immerse into nature witch surrounds the hotel, to enjoy healthy vacations in harmony with the environment. The extended grounds, that surround each house, are another characteristic of this resort. They guarantee privacy y extensive playground so that parents can supervise children easily. It is the perfect spot for couples or whole families, because our beach allows a safe and enjoying swim. We offer different lodging options, from small bungalows to large houses: - Apartments located directly on the coast, which invite you to take an early morning swim or to jog on the 1 km long, sandy beach - Bungalows on a gently hill at about 200 m from the seashore with a terrace in the middle of treetops, a place perfectly suited to watch birds - Houses on top of hills with outstanding sea view, about 100 to 200 m from the shore. All lodgings are equipped with fully furnished kitchens. In the Mini Super, at the entrance of the resort, you will find all you need to prepare a good meal. To allow the kook to enjoy vacations too, you can visit the nearby restaurant “Puesta del Sol”, right on the shore. While parents savor a sundowner looking in astonishment at the spectacular sunset, less contemplative youngsters might enjoy plying beach ball, frisbee, volleyball, table soccer, billiard or dive into the pool. Excursions: We recommend visiting by horse or bicycle the nearby villages. On the way you might encounter hordes of howler monkeys, and other sylvatic animals. Very friendly and poor agricultural workers will be happy to invite you to participate on their cultural activities like worships. At night you can visit “Playa la Flor”, a sanctuary for endangered marine turtles. On nesting periods of the marine turtle “Paslama” (Lepidochelys oliveacea) you can observe up to 20,000 turtles on a period of four days. During the day you can take a boat tour nearby, where marine turtles can be seen mating. With a bit of luck you can see dolphins or even whales on some periods of the year. Another tour you can take is to “Bolanos” island on the boundaries of Costa Rica and Nicaragua, a sanctuary for frigate birds (Fregata magnificens) and other marine birds like pelicans. You can climb to the nesting sites and observe the brooding of different kinds of birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Parque Maritimo el Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Maritimo El Coco Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Parque Maritimo El Coco Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Maritimo el Coco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.