We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Save
You added Hotel Estrella to your Saves list
Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
“Great Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a great little place, right on the beach. A private room for my girlfriend and I was inexpensive, it was clean, and quiet. They are basic rooms, but what do you expect for a budget hotel? The price included a nice little breakfast. and all in it was 24 dollars a night. Not bad at all! I had read some reviews that the staff was unpleaseant, but this was not our experience at all. The staff was extremely kind, and helpful.The manager was great! If you want a quieter place in San Juan del sur, this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the beach, it is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My husband and I loved this place!
It's a quiet, old, bright hotel with tons of character... Lovely balconies overlooking the ocean.
The family are helpful and reasonable.
We had originally booked an unimpressive hostel, but switched upon finding this place, which was cheaper and had breakfast included.
It's simple.. The bathrooms and showers are downstairs, but If you're looking for a simple place with lots of character for great value, than this is a great spot.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This hostel is average to poor quality. The washroom are all downstairs while all the rooms are upstairs. They are cleaned regularly but the also often don't flush properly. The lady who owns the hostel is also not winning any prizes for miss congeniality. Breakfast is from 7-9. I went down at 5 mins to nine and she told me no, that I was too late. Granted I was very close to 9 but I think it's bad form to be so chintzy with stuff like that. I was very disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Location good, service questionable.
We got stuck in our room in the morning as the door had no handle on the inside making us 1 minute ( yes really 1 minute) late for breakfast and she wouldn't serve us. We then had to buy further breakfast which ended up costing more than the room in the first place.
It is a cool old building, very rambling. Shame the service let you down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dominical
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Simple but very good price relating to the quality. friendly people and it is right on the beach. no partyhostel, a nice place to rest and enjoy san juan. good breakfast included if you want. patio with garden and internetfacilities.fgriendly atmosfere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Bfst advertised from 7am but if your lucky you will get it after they finish cleaning past 8am then I was told I had to eat with my friend who was still sleeping and not on my own. Service zero.
Also we got bothered about joining tours and they didn't really help unless they were getting something out of it.
Location couldn't really be better though. Amazing sunset views.
Overall just below average

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite shabby chic but clean with really helpful staff (the son speaks really good English), and is right on the beach. Breakfast was included and was really good. The gelato place next door is incredible!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.