We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estrella to your Saves list
Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for three nights, didn't pre-book, basic hotel with OK showers. Right on the beach front. Good breakfast, you get what you pay for. Good place to use as a base for exploring more of the area. Really good ice-cream place next door that opens in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Nicaragua
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Hotel Estrella is a great little place to stay. It's a mix between hotel meets hostel. All rooms are private with any number of beds available in them, it's hostel dorm room priced and all rooms have a balcony that allow you views of the bay along with its gorgeous sunsets. The bathrooms are shared and at the bottom of a creaky old narrow stairwell. Breakfast is hotel styled and delicious served to you by the owner and her son. It's a family affair and the abuelos sit in their rocking chair in the main room. Don't expect 5 star service but it's definitely a great time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We had a room at the front wich was very nice as the view is amazing. However the room was very small and basic. We only had two separated beds (we are a couple), a table and two chairs. The street was quite noisy at night. The bathroom is downstairs so it was an effort to get there. The included breakfast is good and not poor. There is a cupboard full of books that you can borrow. If you are on a budget I would recommend you this place, I you are not, you could find better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foix, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We paid 25$USD each to go snorkelling but we couldn't because the visibility was less than a meter. Everywhere else they would have advised you do to something else or to wait for the next day... I tried to explain it nicely to the guy but it didn't work...so basically we paid for something we couldn't do. What a rip off !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel would be ok, except they are obsessive about requiring people to wear these hideous hotel bracelets. If you say anything about it, they try to kick you out.

What's next, star of david armbands?

I had wondered why this was the cheapest hotel in town, but people kept recommending I stay away from it. Now I know. I'll pay an extra $5 to be treated like an adult, thank you.

Also the staff are virtually never present, I've come into the hotel at least ten times and walked past it countless times over the last month, and the only times I've seen anyone there were after a ten minute wait today, and just now when they went all Gestapo on me.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

There are alot of new places to stay in and around San Juan Del Sur.if you are traveling through central america you have stayed at a lot of cool places. I have noticed that one place blends into the next and aside from the name on the can of beer there is no indication that I am in a different country.Do your self a favor when yo get to San Juan del Sur check into the Hotel Estrella. you will feel like you are in a famliy owned NICARAGUAN hotel. Yes the bathrooms are on the first floor but the building is awsome the location is great and Carlos and his Mon Lorrian are cool as hell. They have new surfboards to rent a car to diiferent surf beaches and a BOAT TO EMPTY POINT BREAKS. I have stayed with them on a couple of diierent trips got great surf and chilled out on one of the balconies. We partied in San Juan del Sur and walked back,woke up and took an awsome boat ride It is supper afordable and they were awsome Good luck enjoy nicaragua

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

One friend recommended this hostel and we couldn't be happier with the suggestion. Our group of 4 showed up December 20 without any kind of reservation or communication and the owner gladly welcomed us. For $8 per night we had our own room by default with an incredible ocean food, spectacular location, amazing (free) breakfast, and the most helpful staff that we encountered on our 4 country trip. They were amazing in arranging a surf trip and fishing trip with about 30 minutes of notice. I really wish we had spent more nights at hotel Estrella and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.