We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst tour ever !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Save Saved
You added Hotel Estrella to your Saves list
Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Foix, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worst tour ever !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We paid 25$USD each to go snorkelling but we couldn't because the visibility was less than a meter. Everywhere else they would have advised you do to something else or to wait for the next day... I tried to explain it nicely to the guy but it didn't work...so basically we paid for something we couldn't do. What a rip off !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
14
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel would be ok, except they are obsessive about requiring people to wear these hideous hotel bracelets. If you say anything about it, they try to kick you out.

What's next, star of david armbands?

I had wondered why this was the cheapest hotel in town, but people kept recommending I stay away from it. Now I know. I'll pay an extra $5 to be treated like an adult, thank you.

Also the staff are virtually never present, I've come into the hotel at least ten times and walked past it countless times over the last month, and the only times I've seen anyone there were after a ten minute wait today, and just now when they went all Gestapo on me.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

There are alot of new places to stay in and around San Juan Del Sur.if you are traveling through central america you have stayed at a lot of cool places. I have noticed that one place blends into the next and aside from the name on the can of beer there is no indication that I am in a different country.Do your self a favor when yo get to San Juan del Sur check into the Hotel Estrella. you will feel like you are in a famliy owned NICARAGUAN hotel. Yes the bathrooms are on the first floor but the building is awsome the location is great and Carlos and his Mon Lorrian are cool as hell. They have new surfboards to rent a car to diiferent surf beaches and a BOAT TO EMPTY POINT BREAKS. I have stayed with them on a couple of diierent trips got great surf and chilled out on one of the balconies. We partied in San Juan del Sur and walked back,woke up and took an awsome boat ride It is supper afordable and they were awsome Good luck enjoy nicaragua

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

One friend recommended this hostel and we couldn't be happier with the suggestion. Our group of 4 showed up December 20 without any kind of reservation or communication and the owner gladly welcomed us. For $8 per night we had our own room by default with an incredible ocean food, spectacular location, amazing (free) breakfast, and the most helpful staff that we encountered on our 4 country trip. They were amazing in arranging a surf trip and fishing trip with about 30 minutes of notice. I really wish we had spent more nights at hotel Estrella and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We originally planned to stay here for a night and ended up with three instead. The house is on the block opposite the beach with the bars/restaurants right out front. Our room was upstairs with a balcony at a side angle to the water. We had a view of the Christ statue lit up at night and the sound of the waves to put us to sleep.

The family that owns it is not overly friendly, but they are polite and attentive. Our room was $16 total for two and included our breakfasts. The bathrooms are downstairs and outside, which when the power is out (every night the power goes out in town during the stormy season) it can be a scary trek outdoors. There is a nice security guard there so you are safe...the scary part was my own imagination.

Rooms are very basic and kinda clean. There is also wi-fi.

All that for $16? I'd be back.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the water. You cam sleep with the doors open safely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

First off, the picture posted to this hotel is absolutely not the Hotel Estrella in San Juan del Sur, Nic. Hotel Estrella is a 1920's colonial style hotel that has never been updated. The rooms are very bare. They really only have a bed and a fan. No more no less. Simple, yet worked out great for us. The hotel is run by a woman and her son. We each paid $8/night which included breakfast and a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The breakfast was very good. They have wifi and a computer to use. You can also use the kitchen from 5pm-8pm. If you're looking for an inexpensive place right by the beach, you can't beat this spot.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

We visited Hotel Estrella because of it's awesome location overlooking the bay at SJDS. The rooms are modest and bare but it does not matter since most rooms have nice balconies go people watch from and we didnt spend much time in the rooms anyway. The few things I didn't like... When we arrived we asked if it was possible to put our water bottle in a refridgerator, and there was a mostly empty one in front where they sell various drinks, and they said no. Also, they do not allow alcohol upstairs so they made us stay downstairs in a random ugly room vs keep to ourselves playing cards and being quite on the balcony of our own. Lastly, the bathrooms were far from the rooms.. All the way down some skinny narrow stairs and it's scary at night since they have no lights. Still, this hotel is the best place to stay in San Juan, expecially for only $6 per night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.