We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't believe we lucked out with this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estrella

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Estrella
Save
You added Hotel Estrella to your Saves list
Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Can't believe we lucked out with this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

One friend recommended this hostel and we couldn't be happier with the suggestion. Our group of 4 showed up December 20 without any kind of reservation or communication and the owner gladly welcomed us. For $8 per night we had our own room by default with an incredible ocean food, spectacular location, amazing (free) breakfast, and the most helpful staff that we encountered on our 4 country trip. They were amazing in arranging a surf trip and fishing trip with about 30 minutes of notice. I really wish we had spent more nights at hotel Estrella and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We originally planned to stay here for a night and ended up with three instead. The house is on the block opposite the beach with the bars/restaurants right out front. Our room was upstairs with a balcony at a side angle to the water. We had a view of the Christ statue lit up at night and the sound of the waves to put us to sleep.

The family that owns it is not overly friendly, but they are polite and attentive. Our room was $16 total for two and included our breakfasts. The bathrooms are downstairs and outside, which when the power is out (every night the power goes out in town during the stormy season) it can be a scary trek outdoors. There is a nice security guard there so you are safe...the scary part was my own imagination.

Rooms are very basic and kinda clean. There is also wi-fi.

All that for $16? I'd be back.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony facing the water. You cam sleep with the doors open safely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

First off, the picture posted to this hotel is absolutely not the Hotel Estrella in San Juan del Sur, Nic. Hotel Estrella is a 1920's colonial style hotel that has never been updated. The rooms are very bare. They really only have a bed and a fan. No more no less. Simple, yet worked out great for us. The hotel is run by a woman and her son. We each paid $8/night which included breakfast and a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The breakfast was very good. They have wifi and a computer to use. You can also use the kitchen from 5pm-8pm. If you're looking for an inexpensive place right by the beach, you can't beat this spot.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

We visited Hotel Estrella because of it's awesome location overlooking the bay at SJDS. The rooms are modest and bare but it does not matter since most rooms have nice balconies go people watch from and we didnt spend much time in the rooms anyway. The few things I didn't like... When we arrived we asked if it was possible to put our water bottle in a refridgerator, and there was a mostly empty one in front where they sell various drinks, and they said no. Also, they do not allow alcohol upstairs so they made us stay downstairs in a random ugly room vs keep to ourselves playing cards and being quite on the balcony of our own. Lastly, the bathrooms were far from the rooms.. All the way down some skinny narrow stairs and it's scary at night since they have no lights. Still, this hotel is the best place to stay in San Juan, expecially for only $6 per night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. The mother and son who ran it were very nice. Between the on the beach location, quiet nights, and awesome balconies it was a perfect place for me to spend a much needed week to myself. Plus it was close enough to everything that I could go out at night as well. And it was cheap and had a pretty good kitchen that they served food from. Would definetly recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you can reserve a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2010

The picture from my room that is attached to this review says it all! After we traveled all around Costa Rica and Nicaragua, my friends and I found Hotel Estrella to be the best bang for your buck in Central America. Incredible views, perfect location, awesome breeze coming off of Lago Nicaragua to keep your room cool, and all for 7 dollars U.S. a night. This is the place to stay in San Juan Del Sur. The staff is friendly enough, if you know how to communicate with them, and the internet was always available and always working.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Having travelled for 3 months in Central America, Hotel Estrella has been one of the worst places I have ever stayed in. The service is really crap and the staff and owner are the most unfriendly people I have come across in Nicaragua.

The rooms are OK for the price, although they seem to go up frequently, so always check the room before committing to stay.

The strange thing about the hotel is that you are forced to wear a stupid armband (which makes you feel like you are going into a nightclub or an exclusive hotel - which is not the case) and then if you choose to go out for dinner, you may come back to the hotel to find it in total darkness and locked up like fort knox. Strangely, the owners don't tell you that this is the case, and you spend a while trying to figure out how to get back inside. Trick is to find the gate around the corner to make your way in.

Whilst San Juan del Sur is a fun place if you are looking to party and get drunk, the waves are OK and you have to hire a boat to take you out to the waves and the cost is rather alot, so come with friends to share the expense (the water taxi ticket booth is just across the road) - one of the only good things about the hotel is that you get free internet from 7am to 7pm (when the hotel turns to darkenss) and the location is right on the beach.

Our overall stay has been disappointing due to the hotel. I would not recommed you stay at this hotel, but give the Pueblo of San Juan a go.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Estrella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estrella

Address: Paseo Maritimo, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Also Known As:
Hotel Estrella Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estrella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.