We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with breathtaking views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with breathtaking views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on top of a hill overlooking the horseshoe beach of San Juan del Sur. the view from the rooms is amazing, especially the sunset. All the rooms are in stand alone cabins, with kitchen and a porch. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Good wifi. There are two enterinity pools, the upper pool has even better view.
Few drawbacks: spa services have short operating hours; resort has multiple stairs, which might be challenging for some (hotel offers a shuttle service to the upper pool); there are tons of ants and other bugs in the room (expected being so close to nature), we also saw few small geckos.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with this commentary. I am pleased hearing that you had a rewarding stay at our resort. Indeed, we are located on a beautiful hilltop midst a tropical area, granting the resort with gorgeous views, however also with an abundance of stairs and insects in the room. Nevertheless it seems that you did not experience too much inconveniences of that. Thank you again for having provided us with this feedback. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    119
    44
    34
    19
See reviews for
100
196
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the pelican for 2 nights with my friend. I was hesitant to book as the price was excessive compared to other properties but she convinced me. Upon arrival we received a welcome drink and wet refreshing towels. Our room wasn't ready so we sat at one of the three moldy pools. The filters did not seem to be properly working either. There was a noisy wedding staying at the property which provided entertainment. The views are def spectacular and the room when we checked in was very nice but had numerous ants stink bugs and geckos roaming around. The food was mediocre and overpriced def walk to town where the waiters speak better English. The most annoying thing was the checkout process bc they have to send housekeeping to check the minibar bc they don't trust you, so leave a 1/2 hr for checkout. Honestly save your $, San Juan is beautiful no matter where you stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken your time to provide us with these commentaries. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to provide you with the service you deserve during the 2 nights you spent at Pelican Eyes. We are located on a beautiful hilltop midst tropical vegetation and its fauna. We do our utmost best to prevent for insects to enter the accommodations; we keep a tight fumigation schedule, however while being located in a tropical area at times this not inevitable. I have taken note of your remarks; we are very eager to learn from our missteps and cannot thank you enough for providing us with this feedback. I hope to be able to welcome you again in the future to deliver you the service you deserve.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at Pelican Eyes, which is always a treat. The staff are so warm and friendly, always welcoming you with a smile. Each time we have stayed in a different casa, which we have enjoyed seeing the different lay outs. This time we stayed in phase one, which is closer to the front/entrance, which was nice in regards to being a shorter walk to restaurant/pool and going to town. However staying in phase 2, offers panoramic views of both the bay/ocean in front and beautiful valley behind, but is more of a "hike" in regards to stairs. Regardless of which casa or phase you stayed in, all are wonderful and Pelican eyes is the best place to stay in SJDS and our favorite place in all if Nicaragua.
We have also done the pelican eyes sailboat ride each time we have stayed(half day sunset cruise) which is always one of our favorite activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with this review. First of all I would like to say that I am very pleased hearing your Pelican Eyes experience was so rewarding and that you enjoyed all the three times you stayed here. We are flattered to be your favorite place in all of Nicaragua. Thank you for the complimentary comments. We look forward being you of service again!

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I used a special we found on Travelzoo to spend 4 nights over Valentine's Day weekend at Pelican Eyes. We loved this place.

Granted, we have never been to a resort before, but this place made us feel like royalty. We were greeted with a drink and cool cloths when we walked up to reception (really!?) and were directed to our "room", which somehow was actually a Casa. We still think they must have made some sort of mistake because they had promised us an ocean view room, but our Casa was so ridiculously amazing, I couldn't even CONSIDER complaining. It was a duplex with two bathrooms, full kitchen and dining room, and two balconies overlooking the countryside of San Juan del Sur. Even our cleaning lady left us flowers after she cleaned our Casa. Amazing!

We also took a half-day sailing trip (sunset) which was truly beautiful. The 3 sailors made sure our glasses were never empty and they fed us fresh ceviche and crackers once we dropped anchor at a nearby beach. The sunset was wonderful and the sailors were so friendly...

AND, we both had massages! I am a bit of a massage snob (being that I was a professional dancer for a decade) but the massage therapist who gave me my Alegria massage was absolutely legit - reading what my body needed during the massage and was incredibly professional and skilled.

The restaurants were delicious and the service was really great. As New Yorkers, we get pretty annoyed with bad service, and from some other reviews we were anticipating mediocre food and bad service but it was not our experience at all. And the pools! What?! Those photos are real and they're worth the flight and 2.5 hour drive!

The ONLY thing that we found somewhat annoying was that we didn't receive any sort of schedule to outline what was happening at the hotel while we were there.. which was actually kind of a lot. There were two weddings which meant that for one night one restaurant was closed to those not at the wedding, and another night BOTH restaurants were closed. Actually, it was totally fine for us to go into town (much cheaper too!), but it would have been nice to know when the restaurants were closed. Also, on Sunday late afternoons apparently there is a party at one of the pools for local hostel-stayers that was SO loud and obnoxious (think Spring Break party). We didn't care that it was happening but would have LOVED to know when so we could have planned to go into town instead of try to go to the pool.

We truly can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Casa de valle was beautiful. Overlooking countryside...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having provided us with this detailed and complimentary comments. I am pleased to hear that you had such an amazing Valentine’s Weekend, making you feel like royalty! It seems like you truly experienced the Pelican Eyes experience, had a sailing trip and went to the spa. Thank you very much for the flattering comments about our employees. I will ensure our team is reminded of the outstanding job they are doing. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for 5 night at Pelican Eyes. Overall a good stay, the staff was very helpful and the views and hotel room are great. The mention about the stairs in all the previous posts is true, there are a LOT of stairs. You can get a car to drop you within the hotel for free but thats at the reception and you have to walk up to the reception from the entrance. There is also a vehicle which can drop you to the city centre for 5$ a round trip. The only reason I am giving it four stars is because the spa was expensive and a disappointment. They made us fill forms which specify where we want them to focus but did not even read it. The food at the hotel was OK, but pricey. The reception staff was great, always available for assistance and giving us advice. And the sailing trip organised by the hotel was great. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, be prepared to walk. If you don't want to walk, be prepared for an aver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with this commentary. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience at our spa, there will be looked into how to improve the spa experience. Nevertheless I think I can deduct from your review that you had an overall enjoyable stay. I am pleased hearing you had such a wonderful sailing trip. We look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The first thing you have to know is that Pelican Eyes is not an hotel but an estate of houses set on a steep hillside above S J del S. The houses are very well appointed and have great views but most of them are an unwalkable distance from reception and amenities. Pelican Eyes runs a fleet of Land Cruisers to get customers to & from their houses. You want breakfast by the pool? Call for a Land Cruiser! If, like my wife & I, you are stationed at the top of the estate, a steep half a mile from reception, it all gets a bit silly. Try to find an hotel in town. San Juan del Sur is a cool place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to provide us with this commentary. I am pleased hearing that you enjoyed the housed you stay in. This hotel has a unique architecture indeed and not all accommodations are as close to the reception and pools as others. The hotel was built on top of a hill and it was built in such a way that the original flora and fauna were not altered, providing the resort with magnificent view but with an abundance of stairs, which some might encounter as very inconvenient. Nevertheless I hope you did have a pleasant stay at Pelican Eyes, we would look forward being you of service again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Selected Pelican Eyes based upon previous reviews, overall value, and the infinity pool. Very pleasant arrival. Greeted by Tony at the front desk with welcoming refreshments. Great experiences, too, with Alberto and Daniel also at the front desk.
Truly wonderful staff recovered from issues.

Was truly caught off guard when:
1. ALL 3 pools closed to ALL guests on a Saturday for private wedding parties.
2. Checked in to moldy room and no ocean view. No hair dryer.
After lengthy back and forth conversations, and showing documentation, Sergio saved the day. He secured an ocean view suite for the night then arranged for an ocean view room for remaining nights (two queen beds rather than the one king reserved) for the remainder of the stay. But it took a call to maintenance to get the shower to work. The following night there was no hot water. In short order the team replaced the propane tank. A hair dryer was requested and promised but we were informed that there were none available. Sergio actually brought a hair dryer from home. Really outstanding customer service. Sergio and his team did the best that could with the available resources. Sergio also ensured an appropriate adjustment for the inconveniences.

Enjoyed a romantic valentines dinner under moonlight, poolside, with live music. Javier delivered outstanding, personal care, which topped off the perfect dinning experience. Sincerely dedicated to his craft.

Pelican Eyes Resort has opportunities to improve for sure.
But the sincerity and dedication of staff is outstanding and representative of the kind people of Nicaragua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken the time to provide us with this commentary. I am sorry to hear that you did encounter inconveniences due to the private wedding parties. We will look into how to better inform the customers for when events like this take place again. It is a pleasure for me to hear that you the staff created outstanding experiences for you. I am proud having such an incredible team here at Pelican Eyes. This is one example of how wonderful and accommodating our staff is. I appreciate your comments, I will ensure our team is reminded of the outstanding job they are doing. We look forward being you of service again in the future!

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.