We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights with ants, one night with spiders in the room!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Three nights with ants, one night with spiders in the room!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The experience at this hotel left us with a bittersweet taste of San Juan Del Sur; although the bay views from the hotel and the nature aspect of the area is quite beautiful, the hotel showed a strong lack of genuine care for the well-being of their guests experience in the following ways:
1. The first day we arrived at the hotel the toilet got clogged. The gentleman from the maintenance department who came to the room to fix it and clean it up decided it was ok to use our shower as the best place to squeeze out the mop, leaving our bathroom and shower with water from the toilet... we were not able to take a shower without flip flops for the rest of our stay.
2. Even though the views from the pools were outstanding they were not cleaned properly, leaving guests to enjoy only a section of the pool (the least dirty part of the pool)
3. Only the pool by the restaurant seemed to be the one getting semi-consistent clean ups (the one by our room was not cleaned throughout our stay).
4. The first night we arrived the generator by our room was not working leaving us in the dark (this seems to be the norm in San Juan del Sur as the electricity goes out quite often)
5. After the generator for our room was fixed we went back to our room only to find a colony of ants living by our light switch (picture attached), we complained and the hotel sent a maintenance person with some sort of bug spray which only worked for a few hours (we found out later that the whole hotel has an ant problem from some of the other hotel guests who also had complained of that same problem)
6. The hotel granted us a free sailing trip to "make-up" for the ant situation, and although we were a little more relaxed after the sailing trip, we came back and the hotel had not taken the courtesy to check or clean our room leaving us with ants for one more night. This same night as i was going to sleep we found a spider walking on our bedsheets.. this was the worst part of it all by far.

We were expecting that going by going to the most expensive hotel in SJDS, our experience would be different. This hotel has a lot of potential...it is beautiful and the views are breathtaking but we would never go back. The price does not match the quality, especially if you are going during high season.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    113
    41
    33
    17
See reviews for
94
186
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Room did not have hot water and had to wait almost 2 hours to be fixed.
A/C had only On/Off and no way to regulate temperature
There was dog feces on the side of the pool.
If you decide to stay at this hotel make sure you ask if your room has hot water. Apparently not all rooms have it and they do not tell you until you call reception from your room

Room Tip: Look for other options in San Juan del Sur. Definitely not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

First and foremost thank you for contribution. I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you went through. I am stunned to hear your experience at the pool; I can assure you this will not ever occur again in the future. We are very keen on learning from our mistakes and are happy that you provided us with this honest feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Pelican Eyes in the future to provide you with the service you deserve.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

There are very few upscale lodging options in SJDS. The view from the property is amazing, truly beautiful. The nightly rate is steep and I think if there were more options in the town they would have trouble maintaining those rates with current level of service.

We rented 2 bedroom casa but had to switch casa's the first night - a couple times due to mouse infestations. The casa's weren't adequately cleaned in advance of our arrival - evidence of mouse infestation everywhere. We booked for 2 week stay and left a little early. They advertise a spa but they have NO service or facilities even resembling a spa - really weak.
The pools are nice. The food is sub par. We purchased food at the market in town from farmers

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, your opinion is very important to us. We value each and every guest that comes to Pelican Eyes and we appreciate you choosing our resort as your choice hotel in San Juan del Sur. We take our customers comments very seriously.

I am glad you were able to enjoy our views and that you found our property truly beautiful. I am sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced with our units. I can assure you that we run a tight fumigation schedule and we have never had any issues with rodents.

Our full service spa offers a large range of services, including room service massages, outdoor massages, body wraps, facials as well as many more luxury services.

Again we are sorry to have disappointed you during your stay, we truly do strive to deliver a topnotch service unlike any other in Nicaragua. Please accept our sincere apology, every client is important to us and we wish to give everyone the Pelican Eyes experience our clients have come to love. We really do appreciate your business and invite you back to let us prove to you why we are one of best luxury resorts in Nicaragua. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at reservations@pelicaneyesresort.com I will personally take care of your stay.

Best,

Gabriel Holt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Overall very good service, villas are nicely equipped with everything, housekeeping excellent service, food very good except for brunch was very disappointing.....
The only inconvenience is the roads to the villas can be very dangerous since they are dirt and rocks...... Beautiful view and peaceful ambience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. I am happy to hear that overall you had a more than pleasant stay at Pelican Eyes. I am sorry you did encounter some inconveniences, thank you for your feedback. I will look into the by you mentioned points and will do our best to further improve our services and accommodations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I personally love the pools and enjoy drinking at the bar. The rooms are nice and clean. The view is truly amazing. Always available for transportation if you are need. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

First and for most thank you for your review. I am always happy to hear that our guests had a pleasant time at our resort. I appreciate your comments. Looking forward serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in this resort with the goal to relax in this place for a couple of days.
We received a warm welcome and were assigned to a small apartment overlooking the bay - a room with a fantastic view. The apt. had a full kitchen and living room area and an outside porch where we stayed quite often and enjoyed the view.
We stayed in the low season and enyoyed this tranquil space, especially the upper pool.
The breakfast included in the room rate was of traditional type, i.e. pinto gallo, and if you are not an aficionado of such fare, then you just need to ask for sth. different.
Only downside is that the french windows of the apt. opening onto the porch/patio are not hermetically closing and therefore you have to share the room/apt. with all kind of kritters, such as ants, small geckos, morphos.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. I am happy to hear that you had a good experience staying at Pelican Eyes. We are located in a tropical area and therefore encounter more often problems with bugs; however we will keep on doing our utmost best to diminish this inconvenience. I appreciate your comment and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

It is absolutely gorgeous! We were greeted with a tasty refreshing drink at the reception area while registering. The staff was incredibly friendly and always made you feel welcome. Our room was spacious with a large deck to take in the amazing views of the ocean and the town.The infinity pool by the bar made for the perfect way to enjoy the incredible sunsets. They also have the best Micheladas!! We were able to catch live music one night and an awesome pool party the next. We were only a few short blocks from the beach and made for an excellent way to explore the town. Whether you’re in the mood for a relaxing vacation or an exciting adventure Pelican Eyes definitely delivers. Gracias Gabriel por una experiencia inolvidable!!

Room Tip: If you're not a big fan of stairs, ask for a room on the lower part of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelican Eyes R, General Manager at Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for having taken the time to write this review. It was gratifying to hear that you had such an unforgettable experience. We appreciate your comments, especially the ones concerning our staff. Looking forward serving you again in the future in order for you to have one of our Micheladas!

Best regards,

Gabriel Holt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.