We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in San Juan del Sur” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Tarrytown, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in San Juan del Sur”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at the Pelican Eyes Resort in November as part of an organized surfing vacation. My room was absolutely beautiful, with a large bathroom, bedroom and a sitting area with a gorgeous view of San Juan Del Sur from the balcony. Although I did not make use of it, there was a refrigerator and small kitchen area as well that could be used to make snacks. Everything was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the restaurant every morning was delicious - traditional nica fare. All of the servers at the restaurant were very courteous and well-trained, which I understand is sometimes hard to find in the area. Although I was mostly surfing nearby, I made use of the lap pool one morning, and like everything else it was clean and gorgeous. This is a beautiful resort for both families and for couples for a romantic get away. I just wish I would have brought somebody along with me!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    117
    44
    33
    18
See reviews for
99
193
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
orangeville ont. can.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went to Pelican Eyes for Valentines. The food was great,the service was good and the views from the outside dining area were awesome. The pricing is higher than other restaurants in the immediate area but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Pelican Eyes is a great resort with very friendly staff and good, clean accommodations. The rooms were all a very good size and the views over the harbour were spectacular. It was only a very short walk in to town or the hotel provides cheap transportation to anywhere in town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pelican Eyes is excellent. It is a really nice resort and it is connected/integrated with the town of San Juan del Sur so you can have a simultaneous taste of resort luxury with all the fun and offerings of a small Nicaraguan beach town. You are not trapped at the resort!

As with most properties the staff make the experience. From the front desk to house keeping to the restaurant the staff is friendly and competent. If you don't speak much Spanish there is always someone around that does.

There are a lot of reviews so take an average. I see some negative reviews. It seems like those writers stayed at a different Pelican Eyes than I did. I'm guessing that, regardless of the hotel throughout the world, guests get the the same treatment that their behavior deserves. Karma? For me and my wife, the karma was great.

At departure I made sure to book a week for 2014!

Room Tip: There is a Phase 1 and Phase 2. Phase one has the best ocean views and is close to the pools. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort is gorgeous and the service outstanding. We stayed in a lovely villa with a spectacular view of the sunset over the Pacific from our balcony. The staff of the resort were very friendly and customer service-oriented, and we loved the people of San Juan del Sur. I'd love to go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pacific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed in a Casa last December and were initially very impressed. The gardens are gorgeous and the pools and view are one of a kind. But the cleanliness of our bedroom was appalling. The sheets were dirty with black dots and hair. The bed cover never gets washed and was covered in tiny black dots. Room service tried to replace the sheets, but all the 5 new sheets they brought were covered in hair. Cockroaches live in the AC unit just above the bed and between the mattress and boxspring. When you turn on the AC the cockroaches will fall onto the pillow. This is not a romantic place. We looked at other places in town and they were all clean. The gardens and pool are usually filled with non-guests and families since non-guests can use all the facilities for $5 per day. Besides for one person the staff only speaks spanish and the management did not think that cleanliness is important. We recommend for you to visit the pool but stay somewhere else in town where it's less run down.

Room Tip: Inspect the room for bed bugs and cockroaches when you first arrive. Pull back the cover sheet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days and we had a wonderful time. Our habitation was spotless and the staff was great. Very accommodating, Mr. Romero provided us with excellent service. We're going back to Nicaragua and we're definitely staying at pelican eyes again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.