We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since the original owner left, Chris the place is a garbage can!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
GreenLeadersSilver level
Granada, Nicaragua
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Since the original owner left, Chris the place is a garbage can!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a disappointment it was, went there and everything looked and smelled dirty the crowd was noisy and cheap. I was told the original Californian who built this hotel left and ever since is downhill. I wouldn't stay in this hotel even if they would give me the room for free.

Let's hope they change owners and go back to the California boutique hotel it used to be!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    140
    49
    35
    23
See reviews for
119
213
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family has stayed here a couple of times. It is quiet, comfortable and relaxed and within walking distance of town. The walk up hill at the end of the day will make you feel virtuous eating a delicious meal at the restaraunt. It is obviously far more expensive that a room in town but it it dramatically superior to anything you would get for a similar price in the U.S. or Canada.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, GA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pelican Eyes is a unique resort located on the hillside of San Juan del Sur. It is 10-15 minute walk down to the bay. The resort is comprised of very nice casa's or condo like units. Ours was a 3 story two bedroom unit. It has beautiful architecture. We loved it. The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and spacious. Our unit (Margarita) was near the top of the hill and had a wonderful view of the bay from each bedroom and the den. Be warned, the resort is on the side of a hill so there are lots (and lots) of stairs. If you are in reasonable shape this will not be a problem. The resort will provide transportation for $5 to and from the town. Our family of 4 rarely used it. There is a grocery store within a 5 minute drive. You can stock up and make use of the kitchen. Book a trip on the resort's sailboat - it was great. The restaurants are nice and predictable. The prices are a little high but they are convenient. Get to the pool(s) early as the chairs get occupied very early.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you aren't staying in a Pelican Eyes villa be prepared to pay $5.00 to use there pool. And also be in good shape to get to the upper pool. However, good things come to those who wait and have strong legs. The view from the Infiniti pool is insane. Super clean and friendly staff. By far the nicest resort in SJDS. Just like everywhere in Nica. if you are hungry or thirsty order as soon as you have a chance.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The "room" is a large house with a deep classy balcony and perfect 180 degree view of the bay, town and hills. We were provided with coffee and coffee maker plus a refrig. Tv good free internet plus three fans and 2 AC in the room bathroom is large and well equipped. Five minute walk to town and stairs are not that bad and well lit at night. Safe in room and it appears there is plenty of security. Pools are very modern with zero edge and clean. Quiet classy place I want to return to. I see 149 a night for 7 nights on Expedia. I paid $ 160 per night on Hotels.com for ocean view for 2. Good bed, linens etc. I think this is likely the best option in town ( you do need to be able to walk a bit)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean, view was fantastic, and most importantly the service was great! They offered a great breakfast and also had some of the best coffee we had while spending time in Nicaragua. We had a great experience overall the only downfall was that we thought it was a little overpriced.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed several nights here on recommendation of another couple who raved about it. It lived up to the expectations. The staff were friendly and lodging unique and top notch. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious, but overpriced for the area. Our casita was spacious, clean and inviting. The only disappointment was the other restaurant was closed and it seemed very vacant. However, it was low season when we went. Book on Tingo.com as they had the best rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.