We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sweeping views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Delray Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful sweeping views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed several nights here on recommendation of another couple who raved about it. It lived up to the expectations. The staff were friendly and lodging unique and top notch. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was delicious, but overpriced for the area. Our casita was spacious, clean and inviting. The only disappointment was the other restaurant was closed and it seemed very vacant. However, it was low season when we went. Book on Tingo.com as they had the best rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    104
    39
    28
    17
See reviews for
89
175
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pelican Eyes is a great resort! The rooms are large and cozy. The views are awesome and the staff is friendly.
The downside.... the land. My first night there I had the luxury of tripping over a sand bar on the dusty, bumpy, rocky road, and spraining my ankle. I was able to savage my "trip" after I was able to obtain Ibuprofen and an ace bandage from the farmacia in town, but it was quite difficult to hobble around with all of the stairs (inside of the casa and on the property). The drivers were pretty good and transporting around the resort and to the front gate (but sometime they would take too long which is not good with a busted ankle).
The map they provided to show the lay out of the land, is not a very good one. You think the rooms are more spread out, but really are not. We learned a few short cuts the third day on the trip. Once again, that sucks when you have a busted ankle.

All in all if I didn't trip, I would not have complained as much. But I was a solider and I can still recognized an excellent resort. Just be prepared to walk tons of stair (which are uneven), if you are in a large party like I was, you all are closer to each other than you think (the map sucks), and be careful on the road (bumpy and uneven).

The food at the resort is more "american" priced, although not expensive to me, you can eat for a lot cheaper in town. Try the chicken skewers.... AWESOME!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our group returned in November for another wonderful time. we stayed in in Casa El Faro and Brasil near the upper pools. We had 3 friends with us that were first time Pelican Eyes and San Juan del Sur visitors. They all want to come back. You relax so much at the resort, the views, grounds and sunsets are gorgeous. The staff were wonderful as always. We also brought donations for A. Jean Brugger Foundation. We are hooked, what a great feeling when you hand a student something as small as a notebook and get a smile like you would not believe. This wonderful beach town does not require a large wardrobe, carry on your clothes and pack donations for a "feel good" vacation. I was unable to travel alot in 2012 due to various reasons, but made sure Pelican Eyes was a place I returned to! Our group has not missed a year since Pelican Eyes opened in 2004!

Room Tip: Gorgeous views from upper Grounds, many stairs but think of it as a beautiful gym.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Pelican Eyes was everything I hoped it would be. The staff was great and the grounds are beautiful. One of the few places I have been where its actually prettier than the pictures on thier website. The pools are gorgeous and the views of the town are amazing. Our room was very large and cozy and well equipped with a full size coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave, TV and DVD player. The outside patio also had 2 rocking chairs and a little table. My favorite part of the trip was drinking coffee out there in the morning with bread we got from the bakery in town. The only part of the resort that some people might not like is all the walking. It is VERY, VERY hilly and the walk down to town and back from where we stayed (habitacíon cielo) was quite a workout. However if walking is not your thing, the hotel offers a free car service within the resort grounds and its only $5US to have them take you in to town. Overall I thought Pelican Eyes was wonderful and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had such a wonderful time there we still reminder the finer details to this day. They made our wedding day perfect, the food was excellent, the staff were fantastic, the spa was great, and the rooms were wonderful and traditional feeling. We would stay here again in a heart beat. What they do for the community there is amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pelican Eyes is a lovely resort in San Juan del sur. When you arrive you need to know that the driveway up is VERY steep and it's best to have 4 wheel drive. The resort is actually a time-share of sorts so if you get a "casa" know that you will be in what is really a condo. Our unit was in phase 2 which is accessed by a rather bumpy dirt road. Once you are at your unit the views are amazing but just know that you most likely will need your car to get down the hill to the pool as well as further down the hill to the main entrance. This was low season so the restaurant in the phase 2 area is closed. It would have been nice if they had offered room service by the pool but when I asked I was told this was not an option. The resort did send breakfast to the room and the food was hot and very tasty. Only other issue was there were small children in all the pools. I wish they had kept families to the designated pool so those of us without kids could enjoy a quiet time. All the staff was top rate and the unit was very clean.

Room Tip: If you get a unit in the new phase you will most likely have to drive up very bumpy dirt road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although I did not stay at Pelican Eyes, I did have a wonderful dinner. We were greeted at our taxi and led to the entry way. Our greeter passed us off to one of the restaurant hostess's which led us down the stairs to our server. Each person greeted us with warm smiles, and with great friendliness as if we had known them for a long time. Very inviting. We started with Flor de Cana 7 years on the rocks, and the Watermelon Gazpacho (delicous) and the Caesar Salad (delicious), we moved onto the main course which was Lobster and Shrimp. With dinner we ordered a glass of wine..our waiter, Rigo, brought over an unopened bottle of red and opened it specifically to pour me the one glass of wine. I didn't order the bottle, just a glass. Delicious, very well done. The food itself was delicious although the portions were painfully small for the amount of money we were paying. Still hungry, we ordered the Apple Pie with vanilla ice cream which was GRADE A delicious. We had ordered the Apple Pie and coconut flan but the flan was unavailable..bummer. During our desert, the manager brought over a lovely desert wine which went lovely with the desert. Again, very welcoming and on-the-house..beautiful! The place is very romantic, very inviting. The music was not too loud, just right, with a wonderful music selection perfect for dining. Very please with the service and food just wish we received more food for the amount of money spent.

Room Tip: Did not stay here just ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Venere, Tablet Hotels and Otel so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.