We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to get married” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place to get married”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had such a wonderful time there we still reminder the finer details to this day. They made our wedding day perfect, the food was excellent, the staff were fantastic, the spa was great, and the rooms were wonderful and traditional feeling. We would stay here again in a heart beat. What they do for the community there is amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    110
    40
    31
    17
See reviews for
92
182
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pelican Eyes is a lovely resort in San Juan del sur. When you arrive you need to know that the driveway up is VERY steep and it's best to have 4 wheel drive. The resort is actually a time-share of sorts so if you get a "casa" know that you will be in what is really a condo. Our unit was in phase 2 which is accessed by a rather bumpy dirt road. Once you are at your unit the views are amazing but just know that you most likely will need your car to get down the hill to the pool as well as further down the hill to the main entrance. This was low season so the restaurant in the phase 2 area is closed. It would have been nice if they had offered room service by the pool but when I asked I was told this was not an option. The resort did send breakfast to the room and the food was hot and very tasty. Only other issue was there were small children in all the pools. I wish they had kept families to the designated pool so those of us without kids could enjoy a quiet time. All the staff was top rate and the unit was very clean.

Room Tip: If you get a unit in the new phase you will most likely have to drive up very bumpy dirt road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Although I did not stay at Pelican Eyes, I did have a wonderful dinner. We were greeted at our taxi and led to the entry way. Our greeter passed us off to one of the restaurant hostess's which led us down the stairs to our server. Each person greeted us with warm smiles, and with great friendliness as if we had known them for a long time. Very inviting. We started with Flor de Cana 7 years on the rocks, and the Watermelon Gazpacho (delicous) and the Caesar Salad (delicious), we moved onto the main course which was Lobster and Shrimp. With dinner we ordered a glass of wine..our waiter, Rigo, brought over an unopened bottle of red and opened it specifically to pour me the one glass of wine. I didn't order the bottle, just a glass. Delicious, very well done. The food itself was delicious although the portions were painfully small for the amount of money we were paying. Still hungry, we ordered the Apple Pie with vanilla ice cream which was GRADE A delicious. We had ordered the Apple Pie and coconut flan but the flan was unavailable..bummer. During our desert, the manager brought over a lovely desert wine which went lovely with the desert. Again, very welcoming and on-the-house..beautiful! The place is very romantic, very inviting. The music was not too loud, just right, with a wonderful music selection perfect for dining. Very please with the service and food just wish we received more food for the amount of money spent.

Room Tip: Did not stay here just ate at the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Pelican Eyes need to invest in security system. We came today at 6:00 from Managua, went to dinner at 6:30 pm and came back to the brisas del mar house when we get into the house saw that we were stolen.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful resort! Nice rooms, great foor, cool pools with amazing views of the bay, and a resident cat to keep you company. Staff was very attentive, great service. Be sure to leave the resort and wander into town and get a taste of the real SJDS.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

i just return from 5 days in san juan del sur. I was with my mother and we were visiting family in the area. The resort was very nice and the views from the hillside was amazing. We stayed in a two room home called casa pacifica. It was a fully furnished home instead of a standard hotel room. I felt like it was a private house. We at dinner the first night and the food was very good. It was probably the most expensive place in town but the food was very good. My only complaint was that it was very difficult for my mother to get around do to the stairs that led up to the room. Not designed for the elderly. Overall beautiful resort with amazing resort in san juan del sur.

Room Tip: be prepared to do some walking up and down stairs at the resort. it is very close to the middle for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

San Juan del Sur is not lacking for lodging options but at the higher-end, the Pelican Eyes Resort is probably your best option - short of renting some of the private homes in the area. The living space is excellent and the service was solid.

We opted to stay in one of the homes. It was a wonderful place, complete with a kitchen with modern appliances. There were 2 1/2 baths and a sizable living room area. The home opened up to a wide veranda which overlooked the town, the bay and a gorgeous sunset in the evening. You will just want to sit and relax. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were ants in the living room area but this is something that is present nearly everywhere in Nicaragua. When we called the front desk, the maintenance manager arrived promptly within a few minutes.

Please note that the homes are not really safe for kids for one main reason - the stairs going from the first floor to the second floor do not have appropriate guardrails and it is VERY easy for a child to fall down from the second floor to the first floor. I am not sure if all of the homes are like this, but ours was.

There are three pools - all of similar size. One pool, called “semi-Olympic” although not even close to being semi-Olympic in size, has the best sunset view is highly recommended. One goofy experience that we had was that we were told at check-in that two of the three swimming pools were closed during our stay. When we went to see the swimming pools anyway, we found them to be open, fully-functioning and without any problems. We asked to speak to management about their own team’s miscommunication but we never heard from any manager.

The resort has a couple restaurants but on the advice of people who have stayed here, we were discouraged from eating there. We ate in town every day as the restaurants are barely 5 minutes away by vehicle.

While we did experience some minor negatives for a resort of this caliber, overall this is a satisfactory place that will allow you to unwind in comfort while enjoying some beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Tablet Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.