We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with robers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in San Juan del Sur
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Problems with robers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Pelican Eyes need to invest in security system. We came today at 6:00 from Managua, went to dinner at 6:30 pm and came back to the brisas del mar house when we get into the house saw that we were stolen.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    113
    41
    32
    17
See reviews for
93
186
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful resort! Nice rooms, great foor, cool pools with amazing views of the bay, and a resident cat to keep you company. Staff was very attentive, great service. Be sure to leave the resort and wander into town and get a taste of the real SJDS.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

i just return from 5 days in san juan del sur. I was with my mother and we were visiting family in the area. The resort was very nice and the views from the hillside was amazing. We stayed in a two room home called casa pacifica. It was a fully furnished home instead of a standard hotel room. I felt like it was a private house. We at dinner the first night and the food was very good. It was probably the most expensive place in town but the food was very good. My only complaint was that it was very difficult for my mother to get around do to the stairs that led up to the room. Not designed for the elderly. Overall beautiful resort with amazing resort in san juan del sur.

Room Tip: be prepared to do some walking up and down stairs at the resort. it is very close to the middle for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

San Juan del Sur is not lacking for lodging options but at the higher-end, the Pelican Eyes Resort is probably your best option - short of renting some of the private homes in the area. The living space is excellent and the service was solid.

We opted to stay in one of the homes. It was a wonderful place, complete with a kitchen with modern appliances. There were 2 1/2 baths and a sizable living room area. The home opened up to a wide veranda which overlooked the town, the bay and a gorgeous sunset in the evening. You will just want to sit and relax. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There were ants in the living room area but this is something that is present nearly everywhere in Nicaragua. When we called the front desk, the maintenance manager arrived promptly within a few minutes.

Please note that the homes are not really safe for kids for one main reason - the stairs going from the first floor to the second floor do not have appropriate guardrails and it is VERY easy for a child to fall down from the second floor to the first floor. I am not sure if all of the homes are like this, but ours was.

There are three pools - all of similar size. One pool, called “semi-Olympic” although not even close to being semi-Olympic in size, has the best sunset view is highly recommended. One goofy experience that we had was that we were told at check-in that two of the three swimming pools were closed during our stay. When we went to see the swimming pools anyway, we found them to be open, fully-functioning and without any problems. We asked to speak to management about their own team’s miscommunication but we never heard from any manager.

The resort has a couple restaurants but on the advice of people who have stayed here, we were discouraged from eating there. We ate in town every day as the restaurants are barely 5 minutes away by vehicle.

While we did experience some minor negatives for a resort of this caliber, overall this is a satisfactory place that will allow you to unwind in comfort while enjoying some beautiful sunsets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sitting on rocking chairs in the spacious veranda of our cabina, drinking Nicaraguan coffee (coffee, cofee maker, and drinking water supplied in room), eating pineapple pastries purchased in town, admiring fantastic view of tropical flora, town, and ocean, listening to birdsong and the occasional distant mono congo (holler monkey) - what's not to like? This is an exceptional resort, especially in Nicaragua.

Service is first rate; the staff is friendly, attentive and efficient. When we arrived, for example, the air conditioning unit was noisy. 5 minutes after calling reception, the maintenace crew already finished a repair and the machine was humming normally.

We had a cabina (there are also casas for larger groups), a spacious, lovely, well appointed, air conditioned room, with exceptionally comfortable mattresses. Our cabina was located in the middle of this sprawling Pelican complex, close to two beautiful pools and a restaurant. September is off-season for San Juan, so we had the pools mostly for urselves; the upper restaurant was closed. There is a third (small) pool and another restaurant at the reception area.

Another advantage of this resort is its proximity to the town and its bay. Mornings you can walk to the Malecón (beachfront street) in 10-15 minutes. Sit down at one of the fine restaurants, leave your gear, and take a dip in the ocean. Return to restaurant for a lunch of local fish, and then go swimming again. We also had supper on the beach. Our favorite restaurants were El Timón and Vivian, and for a break from typical food, La Terraza serves good pizza and pasta. El Gato Negro, in town, is also worth a visit.

One thing not to be missed is a trip to Ometepe, a large island in Lake Nicaragua. You can arrange transportation and guide at some of the tourist agencies in town (the trip at the hotel is expensive).

There is one drawback to this excellent resort: stairs, stairs. If you are not reasonably fit or physically handicapped, climbing up and down the stairs may be a challenge. There is transportation by van, but who wants to get into a vehicle several times a day? Though we are in our 60's, we walked three times a day to the middle part of the resort. At night, after a few drinks or wine, we settled for a ride.

Room Tip: Middle section, near the upper pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Love this place. In fact, we really love Nicaragua. I have been there multiple times for work - but we decided to make a vacation of one trip and stay in San Juan del Sur - what a good idea that was.

Pelican Eyes is fantastic. The food, the service and the amazing views. A real gem of a vacation spot in one of Latin Americas most under-traveled countries. A must see place and a must visit country.

Room Tip: Stay further up the hill. Yes - it is a trek to get your bags to-and-from the registration area - bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went just the two of us and got the Casa Ruso (the biggest suite with a PRIVATE POOL!!!). It was absolutely PERFECT! Never seen such a huge room with two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, oh and THE VIEW, took my breath away! We spent the most incredible sunsets on our huge terrace. After 3 nights and 4 days we did not want to leave! This room also has an adjacent twin-bed-room you can choose if you want to come with your family and enjoy a private little house with your own pool.

We enjoyed walking up and down the stairs to check out the many infinity pools the property has and the views. It has a lot of stairs which is great to get your little workout while you vacation. There is a lap pool in the property, so you can also get your workout with the most amazing view of San Juan del Sur in this infinity pool. (Do bring your swim gear because the town doesn't sell this kind of stuff. I tried to buy goggles because I had forgotten them and couldn't find anything even similar around the whole town. It is very small and only sells the basics).

Back at the hotel the staff was very helpful. We asked for the same waiter , "Minor" who was excellent. The sailing trip was very relaxing and we got to meet people from other countries. Nicaragua is a must right now. We felt everything was cheap compared to other resorts around the world. A private villa would cost you 5 times more than what you pay here. We had our dinners by our pool in a cute round table outside watching the sunset, relaxed and enjoyed. It was simply perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa

Address: De la Parroquia 1 1/2 cuadras al este, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa offers a stunning hillside location and panoramic views of San Juan del Sur and the ocean beyond. Our infinity pools, spacious accommodations, romantically lush gardens, wonderful restaurants, open air bars, and one-of-a-kind San Juan Del Sur coastline sailing adventure are a unique experience.A visit to our Tranquila Day Spa is an experience of sheer indulgence. We offer a menu of massage and body treatments to ensure that you truly relax on your romantic Nicaraguan getaway. Experience more of Nicaragua with day trips to Granada or the artisan markets in Masaya. Here at the resort, open air yoga classes, water aerobics, and active local excursions (arranged by our concierge) help keep you fit while visiting paradise. Even our brick stairs—winding up the hillside — contribute to the cause!Our San Juan del Sur hotel’s mission is to provide a unique and memorable Nicaragua vacation experience in every aspect of your stay. Our friendly staff endeavors to fulfill every possible need or special request (and to predict those wishes perhaps not yet even realized!)No request is too big or too small. Let us know what we can do to enhance your stay in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Splendia, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Eyes Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hotel Pelican Eyes
Resort Pelican Eyes
Pelican Eyes Resort And Spa Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Eyes Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.