We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jersey Boys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cha Cha Cha

Cha Cha Cha
Avenida Gaspar Garcia Laviana y Callejon del Sindicato | 10 Meters North of Central Market, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
+505 8125 6611
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Southwestern, Middle Eastern, International, Asian fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Jersey Boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had heard that the best Fish and Chips in San Juan were served here on Friday nights so we dropped it. It is owned by two brothers from New Jersey. Super nice and friendly.
This is a cozy restaurant which would well be suited for a romantic dinner or just dropping in for a drink to say hi.
The Mojito was the best I had in San Juan. The Fish and Chips were awesome. We enjoyed our meal so much we were sorry we were leaving shortly after and couldn't return. Good luck with this new venture guys, you are certainly on the right track.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djzenn, Owner at Cha Cha Cha, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for all of the wonderful compliments. Neither one of us had ever made a Mojito before opening Cha Cha Cha so we´re glad to hear we figured that one out. Glad that you came on a Friday since Fish & Chips is only served once a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    17
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank God !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Finally a great Place in San Juan del Sur. Years of waiting for great food, value service and a great place to be while in this beautiful area are over. The safe bet!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djzenn, Owner at Cha Cha Cha, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
What a wonderful review. Thank you very much. We intend to be here for a long time so make sure to come by often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Is The Chef, Son of Julia Child? He Looks Like Her”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The best food in San Juan del Sur. Fish and Chips on Friday is the way to go. Keep those fishermen fishing, keep the cooks cooking and keep eating fish, save the cows. Cow watching just might become a new tourist attraction in the USA.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djzenn, Owner at Cha Cha Cha, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your new and improved review, Marlin M. Fish & Chips is a big favorite on Fridays. In fact, this pst Friday we had to order more fish before dinner because we had sold 20+ orders by 4:30. As for your Julia Child comment, I don´t know if that suppose to be an insult of Steven or Julia Child. Either way, it´s funny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Given the rave reviews of this place, we were expecting excellent food - maybe we went on an off night, but the food was very average. Our fish came out still frozen in the middle and we had to send it back to be recooked, twice. The spices on the jerk chicken were unbalanced - it tasted strongly like cloves. Overall the food was okay, but I wouldn't go back or recommend it to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djzenn, Owner at Cha Cha Cha, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We cannot apologize enough for your experience with us. Obviously there is no excuse for having to cook your Fish Fingers three times. I remember your table and speaking with the staff in the kitchen at the end of the night about the situation. I´m not sure that it was an off night because I do not recall any other issues from that particular evening. As for the Jerk Chicken, it might simply be a matter of taste because the Jerk Chicken tends to be a favorite dish among our customers. In fact, one couple who has eaten with us two or three times before came in last nght for their last meal in town and both ordered the Jerk Chicken because they loved it so much. We hope that the rest of your stay in San Juan dle Sur was more enjoyable than your night with us at Cha Cha Cha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Food at Affordable Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant on several occasions within the last month. Each time we were delighted with our food and service. We are often asked to recommend restaurants in this town and this one is right at the top. The specials have always been just that, "special" a new taste to enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djzenn, Owner at Cha Cha Cha, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and for recommending us so often. ¨Word of mouth¨ is the best form of advertizing whether in person or online. We couldn´t make it without customers like yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cha Cha Cha also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Cha Cha Cha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cha Cha Cha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.