We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4X3 nights Special!
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Most amazing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at Morgan's Rock at the end of August and we are so happy we decided on this vacation. The property is enormous and beautiful with so much to explore. Since we were there in the "off season" it was very quiet. I think the busiest it was during our stay was 4 couples. We had the beautiful private beach to ourselves almost the entire vacation. The beach was great - somedays the waves were pretty big but it made the boogie boarding very fun.

The time of year for this vacation was actually perfect in our opinion. It was very green and the rain never kept us inside for very long. It usually rained hard for an hour or at night, so it didn't impact any tours we wanted to do.

The bungalow was very nice and comfortable. It took a couple nights to get used to the sound of the ocean, but we can't really complain because it was such a treat to be so close to the ocean. It was really nice to have coffee delivered every morning so you could wake up and enjoy the beautiful morning on your private patio with a cup of coffee.

The food, tours and service were exceptional! Had one of the best steaks we've ever had in our lives here. Breakfast at the farm was so much fun and tasty. All of the staff were so friendly. Our spanish was terrible but they really tried to help us with it and it was a blast. The shuttle service to and from the airport was also really nice to have available. Our flights arrived late at night and departed early in the morning and the staff were very flexible with our shuttle service.

Overall 10/10 for our vacation and we would definitely recommend Morgan's Rock to anyone interested in a relaxing and quiet vacation. If you're used to big hotel chains and huge resorts and prefer that setting, this isn't likely for you. This is a great couples resort or would be really fun with a small group of friends. Very secluded and romantic place for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for such a thoughtful post! We are so glad you had the ¨most amazing vacation¨. Green Season is a great time to visit for the same reasons you mentioned: very green flora, rain doesn´t affect much, private and excellent waves. We hope you guys come back down in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    43
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
66
147
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What an unique and amazing experience! We loved it. Everything about our stay was outstanding. We had great food and the service was excellent too. The resort has a very private beach which was very relaxing. We highly recommend a stay at Morgans Rock while visiting Nicaragua....you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: No AC..but, nice ocean breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for kind words and recommendation. The private beach is one of our best features as you do not have to deal with a crowd. Its 2.2 km of sand, sea and yourself. We hope you visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights there. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. From the pick up at airport to the guided hike with bismar to the meals to the design of the room - great way to spend time with nature

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very glad you got to enjoy your overall stay with us! Our experience starts from the time we pick you up to the time you leave the property. The hikes are very liked by everyone as you get to see the great wildlife and the immense forested Property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The bungalows are amazing...set on a hill overlooking the pacific...creating the sense of being outdoors! The 30 yard footbridge above the flora below lead to the amazing bungalows. the beach is prisitne and beautiful andy and private!
Breakfast is very good...the dinner is good but unimaginative...With improved food this would be a truly first class destination!!

Room Tip: Bungalow 3, 4 and 5 have good beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate your time to post. The bungalows, private beach, hanging bridge and flora/fauna are what make our place one of the best in Central America. Thank you for your comments on our dinner menu. We will certainly take these comments in a positive way to improve in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you like sleeping in the jungle without giving up luxury, this is the place for you. Gorgeous, spacious bungalows with screened walls on most sides allow you to hear the sounds of waves crashing below, monkeys hooting and bugs buzzing. The food is excellent and they cater very well to vegetarians. On-site tours allow you to see the huge property with or without a guide. Bismar, the tour director, gave me a great tour. If you want to see all the animals and learn about the trees and plants, a guide helps. I was especially excited to see a mother and baby sloth. Pack your DEET. Mosquitoes love the jungle.

Room Tip: Room 8 has an awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We do our best to cater to vegetarians and we are very glad to see that you had no issues with this. We´re sure our fresh green products from our farm were a treat for your meals. The Jungle Walk which you went on was an excellent choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I love to travel, and rarely re-visit places, since we like to explore new ones. Morgan's Rock is the exception. We just returned for our third visit, and the place is as beautiful, peaceful and well-run as it was eight years ago. It's hard not to gush over this unusual property that mixes elegant architecture and furniture made from native woods, its own farm and lovely restaurant, with secluded, spacious casitas that have views of crashing waves, the uncrowded beach and lush forests. There really isn't any place like it. The closest we have come is a luxury resort in Bali! Everything is simple, beautifully designed and well-maintained. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We got to participate in the release of 60 sea turtle hatchlings on the beach one morning. An amazing experience! It was our second trip during the "green" season in August. It rained during two nights and once, for a couple of hours during the day. Otherwise, the weather was sunny and mild.

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the water are easier to reach and more secluded. We enjoyed the brilliant view f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for a great description of what you will find at Morgan´s Rock. We do our very best to keep everything well maintained, simple, but more importantly, beautiful for our guests. We appreciate your re-visit and are very glad you loved it as much as your first visit 8 years ago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I run a Hotel in Granada (Hotel Colonial) and wanted to spend some relaxing days at the beach. Morgan's Rock was just the perfect place! Wonderful view to private beach, relaxing walks there almost alone, friendly staff, fresh and good food ... It was just what we where looking for. We'll be back again. Thank you all
J&R

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Relaxing walks are the norm around here due to the private beach and enormous property. The fresh food comes from our Property, hand picked by our staff. We are glad that you want to come back. The second time around is even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Address: Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exotic rain forest surroundings, private sandy beach and bay, secluded location and large open spaces makes Morgan's Rock an exceptional place that brings our guests peace, harmony and relaxation of the body and mind. Those wishing to relax in one of our bungalows can also discover nature, wildlife and aquatic activities through the option of a variety of tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda And Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock
Hacienda & Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Morgan's Rock Hacienda And Ecolodge Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.