We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to see wildlife...Birthday getaway!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4X3 nights Special!
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in San Juan del Sur
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place to see wildlife...Birthday getaway!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

great service.. great food.. and overall best location to see wildlife, from sloths to howler monkeys and macaws you will have a great time here and don't forget to enjoy the beach.

Jason Rivera from Los Angeles, CA

Room Tip: ask for a lower room.. they have a better view of the beach. and must do the breakfast tour.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your post. Our natural wildlife reserve allows for these different animals to roam the Property at their will, which is great for our guests as they get to spot the animals in their natural habitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    44
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
70
149
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited for 3 nights from the 4th February 2013 as part of a three month tour of Central America. We had heard good things about the place and were very pleased that the first night's stay was on my partner's birthday. I booked dinner on the 'deck' well in advance by email, which was confirmed twice. Imagine my horror when they managed to double book the table and the restaurant staff did not have a clue what to do. The manager tried to make amends by offering his 'finest champagne', which turned out to be a cheap bottle of Cava.

Things went from bad to worse when on two occasions we were served gin and soda instead of tonic, this time the staff did not know the difference. This was also compounded by menu items (lamb) not being available and the general air of nobody being in charge of the food and beverage part of the hotel.

It is a stunning location and the rooms are very different and well maintained but it felt like a whole group of very new and inexperienced restaurant and bar staff had been taken on with nobody to train and help them.

To be fair to the manager, he took charge and we were offered a complentary tour of the farm and a bottle of good French wine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
It's always very difficult to begin a stay on the wrong foot. The confusion on your first night was one of those human errors we do our very best to avoid at Morgan's Rock. We apologize for that error here again, as we did that evening. We understand that a complimentary bottle of fine wine doesn't erase the error. But it was wonderful to hear your comments at the end of the evening and at the end of each of your dinners at the lodge about how much you enjoyed the food and special attention we provided. I was especially glad to hear from you while you were here about how much you enjoyed your stay overall.
As an ecolodge in a remote location in a newly developing country, with a focus on sustainability and a special effort to promote and implement a farm-to-table strategy in our food service, we do occasionally have availability difficulty with some items on our rather large menu at any one time. Thus our practice of attempting to collect dinner orders earlier in the day, so that we can make every effort to provide a top-notch dining experience, while reducing waste.Rest assured that we our trying our very best each day to meet every expectation of our guests, we continue to work hard to that end, and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

An incredible serene, beautiful, relaxing, awe inspiring, refreshing, get away. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Surrounded within the natural habitat, listening to the sounds of creatures, wind and crashing waves all day was a transcending experience. Accommodations of the uniquely made bungalows extended the experience of being alone in nature and the continued experience of all sites and sounds. We look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms include some stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Lisa - Your review gives an exact feeling of what we want to transmit to our guests. Thank you for expressing it so thoroughly. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved morgans rock it is a beutiful property and it is very secluded. The only negative I can say is that service is a bit slow. Everyone in the staff was very nice but the management has to be mutch more visible. This hotel was the best we stay at during our trip around central america.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for naming us the best hotel you visited during your Central American vacation. We are constantly working with our staff to improve our service for our guests to enjoy. We hope you visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned and I want to go back real bad. For anyone looking for a hidden paradise - this is it. Morgan's Rock is a place where the natural and still wild environment sets the perfect stage for a bounty of activities - or nothing but relaxing in the sun. First there's the private mile long beach where we actually were the only ones there (except maybe for the hatching sea turtles). You can even ride horses through the surf like so many movies you've seen.

The infinity pool was our next stop. wow, then lunch under the airy palm thatched dining room/patio. The food was great and plentiful served by some of the friendliest and caring staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet. Gotta have an ice-cold Tona - the local beer - served a degree over freezing. Then up to the Cottage for a nap in the shade on the swinging porch bed. The rooms were wonderful! Very airy. Very secluded. We had ocean views of two beaches. The crashing surf and constant breeze made sleeping a nice long dream.

Our only note to possible visitors is that you will do a lot of waking and stair climbing from the beach to the lodge to the cottages. Ours was up about 300 well lit and tended steps, along a nice path through the forest - a great workout but may be too much for some.

This place has soul - from the proud Nicaraguan staff to the farm workers where they get all the eggs, dairy, poultry and much of the produce they serve at the lodge. They are reforesting the 4,000 acres with native hardwoods and fruit trees so the wildlife was everywhere. We say 3 kinds of monkeys, possums, sloths, iguanas, tons of colorful birds and even a skunk!

We took advantage of the location to visit the non-touristy town of Revas and the local market (very cool and cheap!). Then went to the hip surf town of San Juan del Sur where we feasted on a lobster dinner (3 huge tails with all the fixings) for just $12. Nicaragua is a bargain!

If you come I'd recommend 4 or more days to take it all in - a week would be heaven. And the coolest thing - it's cred as an eco-lodge in the truest sense is real. The owners and directors are all dedicated to sustainability and making it the showcase eco-lodge in Nicaragua - and it shows!

Room Tip: Room #13 is where we stayed - best view of all but a nice climb up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for coming and see you next time (the Toñas will be waiting)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Morgan's Rock is an ideal place to relax and appreciate the beauty of the premises and the surrounding nature. The staff are very courteous and friendly and are engaged in providing a memorable experience to visitors. The cuisine is exquisite and offers healthy options prepared with care. The chalets provide a wonderful view of the lovely beach and provide a luxurious yet simple and tranquil environment for a holiday!
A memorable experience which we would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All chalets face the ocean so the view is equally as wonderful in each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments. Holidays at Morgan´s Rock are really about eco-luxury and tranquil environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Morgan's Lodge in February with 2 friends. The property and its architecture
were truly spectacular. It is apparently 4400 acres on the Pacific with the resort, stables and a Farm that feeds the resort. The bungalows are classic and uniquely designed to bring
all that surrounds you inside. Getting to the bungalows is part of the experience so prepare yourself for a hike across a suspension bridge and up a ledge. We rode horses up in the
forest and down to the beach guided by Bismark who was superb. We also hiked and kayaked which was very nice. If you go you should take advantage of the 'Breakfast on the Farm',
a unique experience not to be missed. I would give Morgans all around top ratings except that
a few things were lacking and this seemed to all be tied to its remote location. The staff worked incredibly hard but there simply were not enough of them. For example we could not do some of the great outings they offered because the guide was on another trip for the day. Also the wine selection was at best poor. We did understand that Morgan's is very aware of these issues and is in the process of taking steps to improve. I still would highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: If you like to climb stairs and hike to your room then any bungalow would be a fine choice, otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, Frances. Horseback Riding in the jungle and down at the beach is definitely a superb experience. We also thank you on your comments about our staff. We are definitely working to improve this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Address: Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exotic rain forest surroundings, private sandy beach and bay, secluded location and large open spaces makes Morgan's Rock an exceptional place that brings our guests peace, harmony and relaxation of the body and mind. Those wishing to relax in one of our bungalows can also discover nature, wildlife and aquatic activities through the option of a variety of tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda & Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hacienda And Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock
Morgan's Rock Hacienda And Ecolodge Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.