We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4X3 nights Special!
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Ingleside, Texas
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

An incredible serene, beautiful, relaxing, awe inspiring, refreshing, get away. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Surrounded within the natural habitat, listening to the sounds of creatures, wind and crashing waves all day was a transcending experience. Accommodations of the uniquely made bungalows extended the experience of being alone in nature and the continued experience of all sites and sounds. We look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms include some stair climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Lisa - Your review gives an exact feeling of what we want to transmit to our guests. Thank you for expressing it so thoroughly. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    43
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
149
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We loved morgans rock it is a beutiful property and it is very secluded. The only negative I can say is that service is a bit slow. Everyone in the staff was very nice but the management has to be mutch more visible. This hotel was the best we stay at during our trip around central america.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for naming us the best hotel you visited during your Central American vacation. We are constantly working with our staff to improve our service for our guests to enjoy. We hope you visit us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned and I want to go back real bad. For anyone looking for a hidden paradise - this is it. Morgan's Rock is a place where the natural and still wild environment sets the perfect stage for a bounty of activities - or nothing but relaxing in the sun. First there's the private mile long beach where we actually were the only ones there (except maybe for the hatching sea turtles). You can even ride horses through the surf like so many movies you've seen.

The infinity pool was our next stop. wow, then lunch under the airy palm thatched dining room/patio. The food was great and plentiful served by some of the friendliest and caring staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet. Gotta have an ice-cold Tona - the local beer - served a degree over freezing. Then up to the Cottage for a nap in the shade on the swinging porch bed. The rooms were wonderful! Very airy. Very secluded. We had ocean views of two beaches. The crashing surf and constant breeze made sleeping a nice long dream.

Our only note to possible visitors is that you will do a lot of waking and stair climbing from the beach to the lodge to the cottages. Ours was up about 300 well lit and tended steps, along a nice path through the forest - a great workout but may be too much for some.

This place has soul - from the proud Nicaraguan staff to the farm workers where they get all the eggs, dairy, poultry and much of the produce they serve at the lodge. They are reforesting the 4,000 acres with native hardwoods and fruit trees so the wildlife was everywhere. We say 3 kinds of monkeys, possums, sloths, iguanas, tons of colorful birds and even a skunk!

We took advantage of the location to visit the non-touristy town of Revas and the local market (very cool and cheap!). Then went to the hip surf town of San Juan del Sur where we feasted on a lobster dinner (3 huge tails with all the fixings) for just $12. Nicaragua is a bargain!

If you come I'd recommend 4 or more days to take it all in - a week would be heaven. And the coolest thing - it's cred as an eco-lodge in the truest sense is real. The owners and directors are all dedicated to sustainability and making it the showcase eco-lodge in Nicaragua - and it shows!

Room Tip: Room #13 is where we stayed - best view of all but a nice climb up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for coming and see you next time (the Toñas will be waiting)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Morgan's Rock is an ideal place to relax and appreciate the beauty of the premises and the surrounding nature. The staff are very courteous and friendly and are engaged in providing a memorable experience to visitors. The cuisine is exquisite and offers healthy options prepared with care. The chalets provide a wonderful view of the lovely beach and provide a luxurious yet simple and tranquil environment for a holiday!
A memorable experience which we would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All chalets face the ocean so the view is equally as wonderful in each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments. Holidays at Morgan´s Rock are really about eco-luxury and tranquil environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Morgan's Lodge in February with 2 friends. The property and its architecture
were truly spectacular. It is apparently 4400 acres on the Pacific with the resort, stables and a Farm that feeds the resort. The bungalows are classic and uniquely designed to bring
all that surrounds you inside. Getting to the bungalows is part of the experience so prepare yourself for a hike across a suspension bridge and up a ledge. We rode horses up in the
forest and down to the beach guided by Bismark who was superb. We also hiked and kayaked which was very nice. If you go you should take advantage of the 'Breakfast on the Farm',
a unique experience not to be missed. I would give Morgans all around top ratings except that
a few things were lacking and this seemed to all be tied to its remote location. The staff worked incredibly hard but there simply were not enough of them. For example we could not do some of the great outings they offered because the guide was on another trip for the day. Also the wine selection was at best poor. We did understand that Morgan's is very aware of these issues and is in the process of taking steps to improve. I still would highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: If you like to climb stairs and hike to your room then any bungalow would be a fine choice, otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, Frances. Horseback Riding in the jungle and down at the beach is definitely a superb experience. We also thank you on your comments about our staff. We are definitely working to improve this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Morgan's Rock for a few nights last November. The property is beautiful - secluded and pristine. A lot of thought was put into the placement and building of structures and the structures are beautiful! There are cabins scattered throughout the property, overlooking the beach. I really can't say enough good things about Morgan's Rock. It's far enough away from San Juan del Sur, that you feel as if you are in another world. The beach is FABULOUS - super clean with the whitest, softest sand. You basically have an entire cove to yourself - there is no other development nearby - you can't see other hotels or houses - nothing. Just you and a beach. The food at Morgan's Rock is OUT OF THIS WORLD. The staff is super friendly and helpful - the pool is gorgeous and the coffee service in the morning is a very nice touch. Really, a lot of thought goes into running operations here and it shows.

I would never return to Nicaragua without spending a few nights here. It's a wonderful place for couples and families were enjoying themselves immensely as well. There is a naturalist on staff to arrange excursions and we went kayaking every morning in the mangroves. I can't imagine not liking this place - it's exquisite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your post. The privacy at the beach is something a traveler truly enjoys. We´ll let our Restaurant Staff know about your kind comments regarding the food being ¨OUT OF THIS WORLD¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Morgan's Rock for a week after Christmas, and brought our 12 year old son. It is a very special place, perfect for families, or for a romantic getaway. It combines a rustic, ecologically friendly approach to everything they do, with a casual sense of luxury. You sense that they really practice an approach which tries to maintain a light environmental footprint while giving the vacationer a relaxing, full-service stay.

The accomodations consist of individual thatched roof, screened cabins, set above the beach on a hill side full of trees, that are secluded from the Main House, where a living room, bar and dining room allow people to congregate for meals and conversation.
The cabins are spacious, with comfortable beds, and a big bathroom, featuring plumbing crafted in an original rustic style. Nothing feels old or out-of-date, but almost like a luxury safari camp, without the overkill.

You walk to the beach and dinner along staired pathways to the beach and over a hanging bridge to the main house. For people who are over 60 and not in good shape these 10 minute walks might prove a burden, since there is an incline and you will complete these walks several times a day. You might want to ask for a cabin lower down to the beach and closer to the Manor House. For us, it was a nice way to transition from the room to the beach or the room to dinner, and since we enjoy a hike, we thought it was a perfect way to interact with Nature, to see monkeys and sloths, and listen to the many sounds of the reserve.

The grounds are huge, and there are a number of trips and hikes that you can take when you do not elect to lie under a lean-to on the large private beach all day, both of which we did. A visit to the farm gave our son a chance to harvest eggs for breakfast, learn to make tortillas, and milk a cow. The horseback ride climbs up the property to a beautiful vista overlooking the beach, then finishes on the beach, where we cantered to stop in front of the stairs to our lodging.

We fished one day, and I wish I had brought my fly-rod. The area is full of birds crashing on baitfish, while tuna and other species hit them from below. The boat we were on would have been perfect to chase birds and use a fly rod or light spinning tackle to cast from the boat. Unfortunately, they were using trolling gear for game fish, with no light tackle on the boat, so we would drive through these schools, hoping to snag a fish while the rods sat waiting. We caught two fish when we could have caught fifteen or twenty. It became more of ride along the coast than the fishing it should be, so I spoke to management about it, and they were enthusiastic about exploring this option, as they had seen a fly fisherman land ten the day before.

The dining room service is very friendly and helpful, and you got to know them over the course of a week. At the time, the kitchen was in the midst of change, and sometimes dinner would come out with an entree cold, or a dish overdone. We sent back two dishes, which were quickly addressed without hesitation. You would want to buy the meal plan, as anything more than a day trip to town one day is not really desirable, unless you are a surfer.
Nearby San Juan del Sur consists of a string of so-so beach-side restaurants and another street of inexpensive souvenirs. Granada, about 45 minutes from Managua and 2 hours from Morgan's Rock, is worth a stay for two days or so. If you are flying from Managua and leaving Morgan's Rock, take a flight later than 11. Some people were leaving to catch their flight at 4 or 5AM.

Overall, Nicaragua is very reasonable, and your money goes further than neighboring Costa Rica. It also still feels off the beaten track, and still has a sense of discovery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Main House if you don't want to hike 5-10 minutes to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear FishMore
Thank you for your review. You give a great description of what it feels like to walk through the bungalows, beach and Lobby/Pool area. We will definitely take your fishing advice for further fishing tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Address: Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exotic rain forest surroundings, private sandy beach and bay, secluded location and large open spaces makes Morgan's Rock an exceptional place that brings our guests peace, harmony and relaxation of the body and mind. Those wishing to relax in one of our bungalows can also discover nature, wildlife and aquatic activities through the option of a variety of tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda And Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock
Hacienda & Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Morgan's Rock Hacienda And Ecolodge Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.