We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of tranquility on the Pacific Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4X3 nights Special!
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“An oasis of tranquility on the Pacific Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Morgan's Rock is an ideal place to relax and appreciate the beauty of the premises and the surrounding nature. The staff are very courteous and friendly and are engaged in providing a memorable experience to visitors. The cuisine is exquisite and offers healthy options prepared with care. The chalets provide a wonderful view of the lovely beach and provide a luxurious yet simple and tranquil environment for a holiday!
A memorable experience which we would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All chalets face the ocean so the view is equally as wonderful in each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to post your comments. Holidays at Morgan´s Rock are really about eco-luxury and tranquil environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    43
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
149
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at Morgan's Lodge in February with 2 friends. The property and its architecture
were truly spectacular. It is apparently 4400 acres on the Pacific with the resort, stables and a Farm that feeds the resort. The bungalows are classic and uniquely designed to bring
all that surrounds you inside. Getting to the bungalows is part of the experience so prepare yourself for a hike across a suspension bridge and up a ledge. We rode horses up in the
forest and down to the beach guided by Bismark who was superb. We also hiked and kayaked which was very nice. If you go you should take advantage of the 'Breakfast on the Farm',
a unique experience not to be missed. I would give Morgans all around top ratings except that
a few things were lacking and this seemed to all be tied to its remote location. The staff worked incredibly hard but there simply were not enough of them. For example we could not do some of the great outings they offered because the guide was on another trip for the day. Also the wine selection was at best poor. We did understand that Morgan's is very aware of these issues and is in the process of taking steps to improve. I still would highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: If you like to climb stairs and hike to your room then any bungalow would be a fine choice, otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, Frances. Horseback Riding in the jungle and down at the beach is definitely a superb experience. We also thank you on your comments about our staff. We are definitely working to improve this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at Morgan's Rock for a few nights last November. The property is beautiful - secluded and pristine. A lot of thought was put into the placement and building of structures and the structures are beautiful! There are cabins scattered throughout the property, overlooking the beach. I really can't say enough good things about Morgan's Rock. It's far enough away from San Juan del Sur, that you feel as if you are in another world. The beach is FABULOUS - super clean with the whitest, softest sand. You basically have an entire cove to yourself - there is no other development nearby - you can't see other hotels or houses - nothing. Just you and a beach. The food at Morgan's Rock is OUT OF THIS WORLD. The staff is super friendly and helpful - the pool is gorgeous and the coffee service in the morning is a very nice touch. Really, a lot of thought goes into running operations here and it shows.

I would never return to Nicaragua without spending a few nights here. It's a wonderful place for couples and families were enjoying themselves immensely as well. There is a naturalist on staff to arrange excursions and we went kayaking every morning in the mangroves. I can't imagine not liking this place - it's exquisite.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your post. The privacy at the beach is something a traveler truly enjoys. We´ll let our Restaurant Staff know about your kind comments regarding the food being ¨OUT OF THIS WORLD¨.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at Morgan's Rock for a week after Christmas, and brought our 12 year old son. It is a very special place, perfect for families, or for a romantic getaway. It combines a rustic, ecologically friendly approach to everything they do, with a casual sense of luxury. You sense that they really practice an approach which tries to maintain a light environmental footprint while giving the vacationer a relaxing, full-service stay.

The accomodations consist of individual thatched roof, screened cabins, set above the beach on a hill side full of trees, that are secluded from the Main House, where a living room, bar and dining room allow people to congregate for meals and conversation.
The cabins are spacious, with comfortable beds, and a big bathroom, featuring plumbing crafted in an original rustic style. Nothing feels old or out-of-date, but almost like a luxury safari camp, without the overkill.

You walk to the beach and dinner along staired pathways to the beach and over a hanging bridge to the main house. For people who are over 60 and not in good shape these 10 minute walks might prove a burden, since there is an incline and you will complete these walks several times a day. You might want to ask for a cabin lower down to the beach and closer to the Manor House. For us, it was a nice way to transition from the room to the beach or the room to dinner, and since we enjoy a hike, we thought it was a perfect way to interact with Nature, to see monkeys and sloths, and listen to the many sounds of the reserve.

The grounds are huge, and there are a number of trips and hikes that you can take when you do not elect to lie under a lean-to on the large private beach all day, both of which we did. A visit to the farm gave our son a chance to harvest eggs for breakfast, learn to make tortillas, and milk a cow. The horseback ride climbs up the property to a beautiful vista overlooking the beach, then finishes on the beach, where we cantered to stop in front of the stairs to our lodging.

We fished one day, and I wish I had brought my fly-rod. The area is full of birds crashing on baitfish, while tuna and other species hit them from below. The boat we were on would have been perfect to chase birds and use a fly rod or light spinning tackle to cast from the boat. Unfortunately, they were using trolling gear for game fish, with no light tackle on the boat, so we would drive through these schools, hoping to snag a fish while the rods sat waiting. We caught two fish when we could have caught fifteen or twenty. It became more of ride along the coast than the fishing it should be, so I spoke to management about it, and they were enthusiastic about exploring this option, as they had seen a fly fisherman land ten the day before.

The dining room service is very friendly and helpful, and you got to know them over the course of a week. At the time, the kitchen was in the midst of change, and sometimes dinner would come out with an entree cold, or a dish overdone. We sent back two dishes, which were quickly addressed without hesitation. You would want to buy the meal plan, as anything more than a day trip to town one day is not really desirable, unless you are a surfer.
Nearby San Juan del Sur consists of a string of so-so beach-side restaurants and another street of inexpensive souvenirs. Granada, about 45 minutes from Managua and 2 hours from Morgan's Rock, is worth a stay for two days or so. If you are flying from Managua and leaving Morgan's Rock, take a flight later than 11. Some people were leaving to catch their flight at 4 or 5AM.

Overall, Nicaragua is very reasonable, and your money goes further than neighboring Costa Rica. It also still feels off the beaten track, and still has a sense of discovery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the Main House if you don't want to hike 5-10 minutes to your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear FishMore
Thank you for your review. You give a great description of what it feels like to walk through the bungalows, beach and Lobby/Pool area. We will definitely take your fishing advice for further fishing tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I really enjoy a vacation that provides us with lots of active options but is also a great place to relax. Morgan's Rock was just what we needed. We really enjoyed hiking or kayaking in the morning and evening, and relaxing on the beach or by the pool in between.

The beach was one of the prettiest I've seen that is part of a resort. The private cove is scenic and wide enough to make for a nice stroll. The sandy beach is quite expansive and you can sit under your own cabana, gazing out at the pelicans diving for fish, and rarely see another guest walking by. The beach is so wonderful that many guests opt to spend their whole stay enjoying it, foregoing other activities completely. (Should I read my book in a lounge chair or a hammock today?)

Our bungalow was wonderful as well. We especially enjoyed the double-size lounging swing on the porch. The coffee that was delivered in the mornings was delicious, made even better by the ocean view and the visiting magpie jays, kiskadees, and iguanas in the surrounding trees. The king-size bed was very comfortable. (The sound of the surf at night was a little on the loud side so bring earplugs if you need it very quiet to sleep.) The shower water is heated by solar power and was always plenty hot enough.

Bismar was a terrific guide for both the hiking and kayaking. He was great at finding and identifying birds, both visually and by their call, and terrific at spotting other wildlife as well. There seemed to be a lot more howler monkeys in the vicinity of Morgan's Rock than we have seen in other eco-lodges we have visited. I got some amazing photos when a pair of them were hanging out and feeding on either side of the suspension bridge for quite a while one afternoon.

Kayaking was both relaxing and rewarding. There were plenty of birds to view and the water in the estuary is pretty calm. Bismar would even ready the kayaks for us if we asked to take them out on our own.

We were lucky enough to be there when some of the baby Olive Ridley sea turtles hatched and were then released as part of Morgan's Rock's conservation program. Turtle eggs are reburied and protected under a hut until they hatch (so they aren't eaten by raccoons) and then released to find their way to the sea (during a cooler part of the day) under the watchful eyes of guests (so not eaten by predators). It was such a treat to watch their march to the sea!

All of the staff was friendly and helpful, including the bar/wait staff. Meals are all all ordered off a fairly large menu. The food was pretty good--we really enjoyed the ceviche, Asiatic shrimp, 'Nica way' breakfast, and the desserts.

Morgan's Rock truly has a lot to offer, between the accommodations, beautiful beach, and the wildlife, so much so that we would not hesitate to return in the future (and we are people who rarely repeat our destinations).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your review! Our beach is great place to relax, decompress and unplug from it all. The aerial show the Pelicans put on that day was fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We bought a vacation package to Morgan's Rock from a group buying website, the deal was for the Discover Package of a 6 night stay, meals included, a tour a day, 2 beers per day.

The cost of the coupon was $1,759 but somehow I was charged 2% more and it was $1,794.13 on my credit card. At the end of our stay, there was an extra 17% tax charge (2% hotel bed tax, 15% government sales tax) and if you have not rented your own car each trip from or to the airport is $50 USD, so my wife and I to and from the airport by hotel shuttle was an extra $200.

So the lodging, food and activities was costing us about $2,300 in total. This was our most expensive getaway we've ever undertaken. If you do book this lodge, * * get the meals included * *, it makes it a better deal, unless you're one of those people that can get away with eating a bit of lettuce and having a glass of water.

We arrived on Friday.2013.Jan.04 and left on Thurs.2013.Jan.10, which is within their high season. We were told that from mid-December to mid-January is the busiest. Our tour guide during our stay, Bismark, advised that during the off/rain season, it was something like $50 / night!!(probably doesn't include meals or activities).

So we were picked up by Hector from the Managua airport in a Toyota SUV and driven to the lodge and that took us about 2.5 hours. We got there sometime in mid-afternoon and Irene from the main desk showed us around and to our room.

The Lodge:

In the main building they have bench, sofa and individual chair seating. There are books and games to choose from, my wife had an opportunity to browse them and read a Lee Child book and How to be a Canadian (she thought it was hilarious). There was a desktop computer that was available, but when I tried to use it, even though the power was on, nothing showed up on the monitor (two attempts on two different days, it was probably down the entire week). So, like everyone else, bring your laptop, iPad or whatever device you need to connect, their guest computer is not reliable.

The restaurant / bar / pool area is just past the main desk and the swimming pool is an excellent size compared to all other hotels that I've ever been to, the only other hotel with a better pool that comes to mind was Hotel PUR in Quebec City. The swimming pool is saltwater, deep, lit at night and adequate enough for laps. There is also a shallow small pool behind it for children.

The only thing about the pool is that it has a slight mineral taste, but other than that, it's a wonderful outdoor pool. It's wide enough for 3 people doing laps. While we were there, I was the only person doing laps and almost all other guests that went into the pool didn't use it for more than just a few minutes at a time.

There are stairs and steps to everywhere you want to go, whether it be to the beach or to the rooms. If you are too old for steps, don't say you weren't warned.

The Room/Suite:

We were given room #5 which was directly beside a workstation/shelter that we felt was staffed constantly. So, if you're making any loud noises, you'll likely be overheard. We managed to keep quiet.

This was the first time I've ever stayed in such a "jungle" environment and the our room's three walls wood with large areas that are basically covered with netting and allow the sound of the jungle and the waves of the ocean to enter. The bungalows are truly unique and not what I'm typically used to, which is urban, air-conditioned, "closed" in a manner of speaking. This was truly a new experience!

As the way the rooms are designed, you will have interactions with the wildlife that manages to squeeze into your room. That includes mosquitoes, geekos, crickets, spiders and other various little bugs. We did not encounter any scorpions during our stay. If you are not comfortable with bugs, you should not be at this lodge, if you have a fear of bugs, you will die from sheer terror.

The room is very large, double sinks, safe, resting hammock-style bed, desk, telephone, chairs, sofa, water pitcher filled with drinking water and a large Nalgene water bottle for your use during tours. Tip: * * The water provided in-room had that mineral taste and I suggest prior to your tour, get the bottle filled at the bar, which tastes much better. * *

No fridge, hairdryer, tv, air conditioner, or heater, but there are 2 ceiling fans which were more than adequate during our stay. The evenings cool right down and on a few nights, we didn't need to use the fans at all.

Our room faced towards the ocean, but there was some obstruction to it by all the vegetation. It would have been nice to have a clear view, but then I guess it wouldn't be environmentally friendly to cut all the vegetation down.

The Beach:

Steps/stairs lead to the beach from the main building and the area where the suites are. It is wide and long and it is very isolated, we only saw guests of Morgan's Rock using it.

There are numerous shelters, each with two lounge chairs, small table, hammock and hammock chair. There is a towel stand stocked with towels and where you dump used ones as well. An outdoor walled washroom is available with toilet, sink, soap, towels and appeared very clean, as it's open to the air, there's no lingering smell. A water spray hose is just outside it and handy for getting sand off the body.

The ocean is quite shallow on the shore out to a good distance and would be safe for children, but there are some good waves about 2 feet tall that come in. The sand is a darker brown and the waves churn it up, so it's not very clear. There aren't many shell bits and there was no worry about stepping on anything harmful. We found a sand dollar and numerous hermit crabs abound.

The beach is wonderful for stargazing at night. A pathway is lit down to the beach during the evening. Use your cellphone as a flashlight and walk to a far shelter to get away from the lights, that'll make stargazing better, ambient light blinds out stars to your eyes. We would bring down our bed sheet and wrap ourselves in it while lying on a lounger together. The bed sheet was more for the mosquitoes than for warmth. We also encountered a skunk one night, and smelled its perfume on a different night.

Boogie boards are available in the "Tour's House" and were fun to use.

The Food:

There's a lot of choice and you can always ask them to bring extra things to you such as garlic bread. They have some local selections which were not bad but I would have preferred to see even more. From what we were told, 60-70% of their clients are from the USA, so perhaps that's why there isn't so much exotic food or drinks.

The food ranged from average to above average. The only things I disliked were that some soups were way too salty and the grilled lamb, even though it was still bloody, was tough as hell to chew through. My jaw muscles eventually got too sore and would stiffen up, unfortunately, I ended up leaving more than half of it.

The plan we had included 2 beers per day and you can chose Victorian and/or Tona. They both taste like light beers and I basically rotated through them. I'm not a beer connoisseur, so you can be the judge for yourself. We also received two 200mL rum bottles every night, one clear and the other dark.

Since, we're not big drinkers, we asked if we could skip the rum every night and have two cocktails for free instead. Management allowed it and we tried a variety of cocktails. We mixed our white rum with juice and polished that off one day and we ended up giving the other bottle away.

Pineapple and passionfruit juice were available throughout the day and included in our meal plan for nothing extra.
Breakfast is from 07:00 - 10:00, lunch 12:00 - 14:30 and dinner 19:00 - 22:00.

The staff are friendly and busy during meals. Don't expect everything right away and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere as you await your food.

The Tours:

We were allowed a tour a day, we did the Horseback Riding, Kayaking, Jungle Walk, La Pluma (feather), Sunset Walk, and Breakfast at the Farm. Each tour, we were accompanied by Bismark, who was knowledgeable about the history, flora and fauna of the country.

1. My wife and I liked the horseback riding the most, probably because it was our first time ever. (Limit of 6 people) You get driven out to the stable, everyone gets on a horse and the trail starts uphill and then downhill. The apex of the trip is at a scenic lookout where you can take photos overlooking the beach/hotel/ocean.

If you are an experienced rider, you can run the horse at the end of the tour when you finish off on the beach, which is around the time of sunset and makes for a picturesque photo opportunity.

If you bring a camera with a lens cap, put it in you pocket, there is a lot of bumping up and down and my wife's lens cap got lost during the ride. I ended up with a sore butt and my wife with sore knees, but we still enjoyed it a lot.

2. The kayaking tour is very relaxing and goes through the mangrove forest area where you'll get to see a lot of birds, crabs and a variety of mangrove species. You can bring your camera with you as there are no waves and there's no danger of getting it wet unless you're really clumsy. We didn't because we weren't sure and thought we'd get it wet.

The kayaks have two seats and you get to drag them from the beach to the water that leads to the mangroves. If you're feeling adventurous, you can try out the kayaks in the ocean afterwards.

3. The jungle walk started at 06:30 - 08:00h, make sure you advise the restaurant staff the day prior and they can provide you food to eat before you set off. We grabbed two small muffins each. Bring thin pants and a thin long sleeve shirts, we got bit by mosquitoes all along our calves and forearms. Lots of birds, monkeys, sloths and whatever else crosses your path. Bismark tells you about vegetation during this tour.

4. La Pluma is the most intensive hike through the jungle, you can wear your shorts and a t-shirt on this one as most of it takes place along the dirt road and Bismark brought bug spray for us to use. The road is shaded for the most part, but you'll still end up hot and sweating. The end part of the climb is the hardest where you end up at the top of a ridge with a great view and strong breeze. Numerous animals to see, but what's odd was that we seemed to see more interesting animals at the lodge. During separate meals, we saw a huge possum, a spotted baby skunk, native squirrels on the trees, and an iguana from our suite.

5. The sunset walk starts from the beach and goes out and up the protrusion at the end of the beach. The hike is not long but more upwards. Along the way, Bismark shows you the ready-to-eat tamarind fruit on the jungle floor, which tastes more tart than sweet. Picturesque photos at the top.

6. Breakfast at the Farm involves a short drive to the farm. On the way, we were taken to their shrimp farm, but it was dry at the time as the shrimp had already been harvested. Upon arriving at the farm, we were all given the opportunity to milk a cow. The farmhand would later milk the cow for us to drink later. You get take to the hen house to view the chickens (adult and baby) and pick your eggs for breakfast, they are actually still warm when taken.

They have ducks to see as well and then it's time for breakfast, which consists of handmade pita style bread which you get a chance to make yourself as well, eggs, milk, coffee, gallopinto (rice and beans).

The Feel:

At night, you get to hear the waves and if you're a light sleeper, make sure you bring quality earplugs. The first night, I couldn't sleep for awhile but eventually feel asleep from being too sleepy.

This place is very peaceful and you will have a lot of time for whatever you feel like doing, I finished off three books while lounging around on the beach and in our room. As there's only 15 suites, there's no big partying or bar scene. No screaming children or babies during our stay. WiFi is only available in the main building, restaurant, by the pool.

This place is perfect to get away from work and decompress. If your type holiday is being very active or being in a city for its sights, then this place is NOT for you.

It rained briefly on two different days, but it didn't last for very long, maybe 20 minutes or less. The weather was hot but not that humid. Their hottest temperatures occur around April and May, so they say.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'd been dreaming about visiting Morgan's Rock for three years, ever since I read an article about it. We finally had our chance to visit over New Year's, and it was exactly what I hoped for.
The beach is gorgeous and practically isolated. We walked all the way to the left on the beach at low tide and found a hidden cave behind the rocks. We walked all the way to the right and took a path that led us to the top of the largest rock. Do NOT miss this walk - the scenery and view of the resort are breathtaking!
Sunsets over the beach are amazing - some of the best we've ever seen.
We usually chose the beach over the pool, but spent the last morning at the lovely pool. Very convenient and relaxing with lots of chairs.
Other than hiking, we also kayaked in the mangroves to see wildlife in the late afternoon with Rudolfo, a very knowledgeable guide. We also participated in the Breakfast on the Farm activity, where we milked cows, gathered eggs and ate a Nicaraguan breakfast in a tiny farmhouse. We loved this activity!
We stayed in rooms 1 and 2, which are actually considered less desirable because they don't have a beach view. I didn't mind because they were close to the restaurant and pool area, and we didn't have to use the suspension bridge every time we walked to and from our room.
The food was good, and the Nicaraguan specialties at breakfast and lunch were a real standout. Nicaraguan Tipico and the Nica Way were amazing, and I had them nearly every day. Dinner entries were nice, although I would have liked to have seen more Nicaraguan choices there too. (My picky eater, a teenager, ordered off the children's menu where she found lots to choose from. And she loved the smoothie of the day.)
I can't finish this review without talking about New Year's Eve. I'm not a fan of New Year's parties, but this one was great. The staff hosted a party on the beach, and at midnight they celebrated a Nicaraguan custom by burning an effigy that represented the old year. They also set off fireworks. They handed out party masks, and it was just a fun and sweet celebration all the way around.
Morgan's Rock is a wonderful resort, although keep in mind that life in a Central American country has its hiccups. From time to time the electricity would shut off for no more than five seconds, and the WiFi (which they're in the process of updating) was a bit hit and miss. But if you don't mind the occasional "inconvenience", don't hesitate to book Morgan's Rock. It is truly one of the most spectacular places we have stayed!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms one and two. Although they lack the beach view, you don't need to use the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge

Address: Playa Ocotal, 12 kilometers north of San Juan del Sur, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exotic rain forest surroundings, private sandy beach and bay, secluded location and large open spaces makes Morgan's Rock an exceptional place that brings our guests peace, harmony and relaxation of the body and mind. Those wishing to relax in one of our bungalows can also discover nature, wildlife and aquatic activities through the option of a variety of tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda & Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Hacienda And Ecolodge Morgan`s Rock
Morgan's Rock Hacienda And Ecolodge Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.