We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, coffee is the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafeticos

Cafeticos
San Juan del Sur 505, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Whistler, Canada
1 review
“Great food, coffee is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

There's often a difference between owner run places........These people care about their business and are super friendly. Cafe Tico's easily serves the best cup of coffee I've had in town but the food is great and the owner's really friendly. There are many businesses in San Juan who do not understand customer service. Cafe Ticos is not only friendly, it's efficiently run.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great food and a wealth of knowledge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Well priced and delicious coffee and food, and friendly bilingual service aside, Carlos is a wealth of knowledge about Costa Rica.

Unsure of where to travel, he was happy to sit down and discuss his favorite parts of his homeland and how best to negotiate on our timeframe!

Very friendly, family run cafe!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't miss this great little spot - great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We discovered this great little café on our brief visit to San Juan del Sur. The coffee is brewed the traditional Costa Rican way right at your table. It was the freshest, smoothest, largest cup of coffee I found on my travels in Nicaragua! Carlos, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and the staff is excellent as well. The breakfast we ordered was fresh, hot and delicious and the fresh fruit smoothies were refreshing! The prices were very good and free wifi was a bonus. The café is very clean and a great place to relax and enjoy great company!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“GREAT coffee and other drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I saw a review on TA that recommended the place and as I really like good coffee went to try it out. Had a hard time finding it b/c I guess only coffee people know it. The coffee is strong, fresh ground, and strained through a cloth. The have smoothies, too, and other coffee drinks, all of which are great. These people do very well what they do

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Rio, Mexico
1 review
“best coffee you'll find in SJDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

if you're into a good, rich cup of coffee, you need to make a stop at cafe Ticos. Carlos always has a smile and a story while he brews your pour-over coffee at your table. they make em one cup at a time so you know it's fresh. breakfast and smoothies are great, too. free wifi makes it even harder to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafeticos also viewed

San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
San Juan del Sur, Rivas Department
 

Been to Cafeticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafeticos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.