We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alcazar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alcazar to your Saves list
Hotel Alcazar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in San Juan del Sur
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

On my 2 week trip throughout Nicaragua, I stayed in a wide spectrum of places (pretty much a different place every night). Alcazar had quite possibly the nicest and most comfortable accommodations.

Here are the pro's:
1) it's across from the beach and I had a sweet balcony view
2) very neat and clean rooms, nice bathroom with hot water
3) the only clean and functional pool that I saw the entire time
4) nice front desk woman and doorman.

Here are the con's:
1) at approximately 8am very loud construction work began next door
2) price was higher than most of my other places (~$90 for 2 queen bed room/triple occupancy)

Other:
In regards to the early morning noise.. no matter where you are in Nicaragua, it's difficult to sleep in due to roosters (rural), neighborhood noise (urban), or heat due to daily power outage (Little Corn Island) so don't let this sway you. There is also a flock of bird that chirp up a storm in the tree out front... it's actually pretty cool unless you're easily bothered.

Room Tip: Obviously if you're staying here you want a view of the beach. Second floor with balcony & b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteHotelAlcazar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate guest who take some minutes of their valuable time to share their experience of their stay.

Soon the construction noise from the building next to us will be over so everyone will be able to enjoy their stay.

We are always open to receive feedback from our customers.

Thank you for having stayed in our hotel and for submitting your review about it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    19
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
40
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms have been completely updated and they're very spacious staff is friendly and compeyent and eager to please. They also speak good English it is so close to bars which makes it somewhat noisy so bring your earplugs. There is also some construction going on nearby so don't plan to spend the day in your room

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GteHotelAlcazar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your invaluable input. We do appreciate the time that you have taken to write a review about our hotel and we do thank you for the suggestions made to improve the service we offer to our guests.

We hope next time you stay with us you will see improvements in our premises and guest service.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel when it was the "Inn On The Pacific" several years ago. Back then it was the classic example of Absentee Ownership + Bad/Incompetent/Indifferent/Corrupt management. The place has since changed ownership/management and is now the Hotel Alcazar.

Worlds apart from when it was the Inn On The Pacific. Management is now very customer oriented, competent and eager to please. The hotel itself, under the new management/ownership is actually at it's very early stage, less that a month since their new "opening". As expected, the hotel is still undergoing changes while management is still going through it's "learning curve".

This is one of the top end/pricier hotels in the SJDS town proper. Location can't be beat as it is beachfront, 5 minute walk to practically anywhere in town and the patio area is PERFECT to people watch. Ice cream parlor across the street as is a very good/excellent, decent priced restaurant which actually delivers to the hotel, "room service" without the "hotel" prices : )... DOZENS of restaurants are also within walking distance.

The rooms are brand new, VERY nice, aesthetically speaking, but it has it's downside. Looks seems to have been the number one priority in remodeling the property while practicality took a backseat. No towel racks in the bathroom, curtains fall short of covering the whole window, no night table/reading light, no desk (for those who needs to work and not just check their email) and Wifi was unreliable, For me the desk issue was biggest downside. Minor issues really but still inconvenient....

Having said all of the above, I was assured by Daniel, front desk/management, that all this will be taken care of, as I said before they are still VERY new and still on the learning curve so I do not really see this as potential problems in the near future. As I said before they are eager to learn...Oh, another wifi router was installed the second night I was there so they really are trying very hard to make things right. My daughter said that the signal had improved but I have no patience myself as I am in e-commerce and Wifi is VERY important so after trying the first day I just gave up and decided to work after we left, we were there for the weekend anyways so I could afford not to work.

As for the previous reviewer, about the construction worker issue, this is normal/expected behavior in all of Latin America!!! I live in Costa Rica, travel with my 2 college aged daughters and wife all the time and stuff like the previous reviewer mentioned happens (more than I would like lol). It is what it is. I'm not saying it's correct but blaming the hotel for something that is completely out of their control is absurd (and calling the police about it, pleazzzz). Sticks and stones... Enough said : )

Would I stay here again? YES, in a heartbeat. Price/Quality ratio is very good, Location can't be beat, in the middle of everything, friendly staff, decent patios, nice pool area (although on the small side, still adequate for the size of the hotel).

Before I forget, noise can be an issue for some as there are several bars/clubs that has loud/live music on the weekends (Thurs to Sat). It was not really an issue for us but it might be for some (specially older folks), just something to keep in mind. Maybe plan your stay on a weekday if you are noise sensitive or bring those earplugs with you : )

Also the curtains are not "dark" enough to filter the street light across the street, but once again, it was not a problem with us but might be for some.

In closing, stay here for the location, friendly staff (Daniel & Alexandra), nice rooms, patio, pool area, "room service" from the rest across the street and the modern BRAND NEW rooms, price/quality ratio, and did I mention LOCATION : )

Looking forward to another stay at this hotel, maybe later this year, or sometime early next year....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

While in good location,and well appointed,they still have problems from new ownership. There is no breakfast,and few restaurants are open nearby at an early hour. The greatest negative is a construction site next door,where uncouth,workers molest women with their unwanted and obnoxious gestures. In my case my wife and I could not leave the hotel for a walk without provoking this type of outrageous behaviour. I stopped a police patrol and asked them to explain that this neanderthal behaviour is forcing us to cancel a stay I prepaid, as I refuse to accept insults in a place where I am a paying customer. The hotel staff itself was reluctant to even ask the construction foreman to stop the unwanted gestures.. I strongly advise female travellers or couples to avoid this hotel,due to the obnoxious workers next door.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious,and clean. There is no breakfast,even COFFEE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetnicagirl, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Alcazar, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for your comment about our hotel.

We are relatively a new hotel, and we are in the process of adding all the services that we would like to offer to our guests.

The building is still in the process of redesign, and remodeling, so there are still some missing services and amenities in our facilities that we still have to add to make our guests have a more comfortable and pleasant stay in our hotel.

We are indeed really sorry for what happened to your wife and you outside of the hotel. We know it is so upsetting being bothered or molested on the street, however we do not have any control over the things or problems that happen to our guests on the streets, it is beyond our will and control these kind of bad experiences, but it is too bad that this happened to you and that you have blamed it on the hotel staff. We are and we will always be responsible for all the things that happen to our guests in our hotel, in our building, inside our premises only.

It is always good that these kinds of bad situations like molestations, harassments, or any other kind of verbal or physical abuse to be reported to the police or the respective authorities just like you did when you called the police to talk to those people who bothered you.

Once again we are really sorry that this happened to you in our town which is normally a very tranquil, and laid back town.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alcazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcazar

Address: Calle El Paseo Del Rey. Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte | Del Restaurante El Timon 150 Mts Al Norte, San Juan del Sur 48600, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan del Sur
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alcazar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcazar is a beautiful boutique hotel featuring nine custom designed suites, each with its own unique personality. Totally renovated and updated in 2012, we are located just steps from the Pacific Ocean in the charming fishing village of San Juan Del Sur. Enjoy the aromas of the tropical off shore breezes and famous Latin American sunsets, unbelievable!Step back in time as you travel to San Juan Del Sur about two hours from Managua's international airport. You will pass through small villages, fields of sugar cane, groves of papaya and plantain trees and pass ox carts carrying products to local markets as they have done for hundreds of years. ALCAZARING-Al-ca'-zahr-ing(al-kuh-zahr-ing) verb: indulgent relaxation on our open air balconies or beaches while enjoying your favorite beverage as the sun slow sets. Nestle into the comfort of your suite with generous ocean view balconies furnished for comfort, conversation and total relaxation. Our staff is local and attentive to helping you enjoy your stay in as relaxed or as adventurous mode as you desire. Alcazar features stone graced walls accented with exotic woods from the local surroundings. Baths are detailed with handmade ceramic tiles, basins and fixtures. Services and facilities include: Swimming pool, laundry service, in room spa services, bi-lingual staff, full concierge services and tour organization. Lose yourself in a hideaway world of first-class comfort and service set within classic, sophisticated architecture graced with state of the art comforts, artfully nestled among beautiful features, handmade from nothing but the finest materials that Nicaragua has to offer. Please come stay with us...You will return with your friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alcazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazar Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alcazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.