We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HC Liri Hotel to your Saves list
HC Liri Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Barrio la Talanguera | Cruzando el Puente Colgante 50 mtrs al Oeste, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed for 3 days with a friend in this hotel and it was perfect for us! The beach is next to the nice pool and we could rent surfboards for a couple of dollars. The rooms are ideal and clean to sleep at night. The hosts are really nice people, which helped us with everything!! We could get a cheaper taxi to granada, which was awesome! Therefore it's an advisable place to stay on your trip to the beautiful San Juan!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi gays,

Thank you for choosing HC Liri Hotel for your vacations. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay with us. We hope you will come back to visit HC Liri Hotel again and I promise you for the next time we will have a ball for to play on the pool.

Good luck.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    52
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
73
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at HC Liri in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua, for the last four nights of our honeymoon. Upon check-in, I mentioned that I had been in contact with them previously via email explaining that we were there from Wisconsin on our honeymoon. The staff immediately congratulated us and showed us to our room. While in our room unpacking, she came to the room and told us that she had talked to the manager and would like to upgrade us to a larger room with no extra charge as a gift for our wedding/honeymoon. How amazing is that?????
The hotel was at one point a private residence from what we were told...we were also told it was recently used as more of a hostel type of lodging and is now a small hotel - though it still has some feeling of hostel to it. It is a beautiful place and very reasonable for beachfront lodging. The staff who work here are absolutely amazing! Friendly, helpful, all around excellent! They have a shuttle that took us to a nearby beach for the afternoon which only cost $5 a person - they arranged our canopy tour (ziplining) and transportation to and from - and they arranged our transportation to the Managua airport which was via taxi for $80.
We were served a delicious breakfast each morning consisting of fruit, toast, eggs, and rice with beans. One day we had omelettes and there was an option to get pancakes.
Our room was cleaned daily - fresh towels provided - and beach towels are available at the pool. Smoking is allowed at the pool and on the upper and lower terraces where you can sit and watch / listen to the waves. There is a large cooler with beer, soda, juices, and water that you take when you wish and just inform whoever is at they put it on your bill. It is all VERY reasonable!
The location worked out great for us. It is right on the beach and just outside the "downtown" area. There is a footbridge that you walk over to get to the hotel and you can get into it from the beach or from the back. One thing that we wished was that the gates would have been opened earlier in the morning so that we could have gotten out on the beach to walk.
The only reason I rated this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 was due to the contents of the rooms. There was a bed, a wardrobe, a private bath with shower, a nightstand, and an air conditioner. The room could have been better in my opinion if there had been a clock or clock-radio; a fan; a blow dryer- the things many hotels offer in the room.
Overall, for the price, it is a great place to stay - definitely somewhere we would consider staying again on a future trip to SJDS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for trust in HC Liri Hotel for your honeymoon vacations, honestly it was a pleasure to have you with us.

It delights us that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have contributed on it so that in the future you have very good memories of your honeymoon in San Juan del Sur.

We hope see you again.

HC Liri Hotel wishes the best.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The beautiful hotel was made even more comfortable by the amazingly friendly family who runs it. We came as guests but felt like we left as friends. Clean rooms, refreshing pool, good breakfast, and relaxing hammocks overlooking the beach. If your staying a day or two weeks this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks you for writting in tripaadvisor.

What a wonderful view on our work, this forces us to be much better still. We like our work, we love our guest , We enjoy when we see our guests to enjoy.

We hope we will to see you soon and thanks for all.

Maria, German, Andrea y Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a great few days at HC Liri !

This nice little hotel might not be right in the midst of the action (and that's a blessing since things can get quite noisy ay night), u still are only a very short walk across the footbridge from all the action. Since it's a family affair, the spanish owners and their daughters take really good care of you, serve you tasty breakfasts and a wealth of info on what to do or not in SJDS. They truly are very nice people.

Rooms are on the basic side but very clean with AC but no hot water (not needed since the weather is quite hot). There are a few spots on the property to chill out in gigantic hammocks or lie next to the perfectly sized pool , and this always with a view of the beach.

for 10 USD they'll take you to other beaches like fantastic Playa Hermosa, a long sandy beach with palapas - called ranchos in Nicaragua - and private restaurant and bar.

truly enjoyed my tine at HC Liri, would return anytime.

Suggestion for the owners : a small bedside lamp in every room would be a blessing !

And, to minimize the footprint on evironment:
customers don't need to have all towels changed daily, give them a choice to use the same towels for a longer time, it's a little step to save the planet !

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Erik,

Thanks for taking your time and writing in tripadvisor. You know this is very important for the prospective travelers and for us. It was a pleasure to have you here and when you left to our hotel, we thought that it is possible that you will return soon.

Your comments are very important -- we learn from them. This month we are buying the new lamps for the rooms and your idea about the towels, we will implement right now.
Also only playa hermosa is 10 usd but the other beaches are only 5 usd.
Thanks again, hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in September, the low season. Practiced our Spanish in exchange for english with the family. They were extremely hospitable and I would recommend this place to anyone. Breakfast every morning with a smile. I only wish them the best, because that is what they gave us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Gerente at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Rob and Ginenne,

Un placer haberos recibido en HC Liri Hotel y poder conoceros un poco en seis días. Nuestros intercambios de idioma han sido geniales para ambos. Muchas gracias por tomaros el tiempo de escribir en Tripadvisor, es genial para nosotros. Esperamos que ese español mejore dia a dia y que cuando lleguen a Argentina lo podáis poner en uso.
Escribo español porque tenéis que aprender :-)
Un abrazo de Maria, German, Andrea y Romina. Esperamos que un día volváis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a really good hotel. Run by a delightful Spanish family, it's a short walk across a pedestrian bridge to the main part of the town. Good value, including a very nice cooked to order breakfast and a pool, you can walk straight out of the hotel on to the beach. Ask nicely and they might offer you three nights for the price of two...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thanks for writting in tripadvisor, It is important for our growth and to improve our work.
We learn daily with the reviews of our guests.

You have transmitted a great experience of live with your adventure, from Anchorange to Ushuaia by motorcycle , that is incredible, we wish you all the best in your trip.

Thanks again.

Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and we had an amazing time. Do something or do nothing...Oh how I miss San Juan...The treatment we received from the staff was awesome, they went out of their way to make us feel at home. I travel a lot for business and pleasure and this is by far one of the best places I have been. The location is almost perfect as you're right on the beach and only a very short walk into town. The only problem as mentioned before is that there is some music from a bar just across the bridge but it is not the end of the world and it was only over the weekend. You have AC in your room with a little bathroom that has a shower. I must say again, Maria and the entire staff are so wonderful. They helped us with booking the hotel and helped me get a ride to and from the airport with a very nice driver. I should also say that I booked this trip with less than 48 hours, booked Tuesday night and arrived Thursday. They made it so easy for me. Beer fridge in the lobby...who doesn't love that? I cant wait to return and see my new friends in wonderful San Juan Del Sur. I hope to see you in November!!

Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hello George,

Thanks for wrintting in tripadvisor, this is important for the future travelers


Was wonderfull having you here, and we are happy that you'll come back soon. We feel happy to listen our guest are spending a good time in our hotel. For us is essential the happiness and confort of our guest.

Regards

Romina and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Address: Barrio la Talanguera | Cruzando el Puente Colgante 50 mtrs al Oeste, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HC Liri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.