We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with a wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HC Liri Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HC Liri Hotel to your Saves list
HC Liri Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with a wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The HC Hotel is located right on the beach. It has a nice pool, and lots of hammocks, tables and chairs for hanging out. The owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a wonderful suprise every morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Gerente at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias, hemos estado encantados de recibirle. Cada viaje de nuestros clientes hemos aprendido y hemos mejorado. Lo seguiremos haciendo.
!!Nos vemos en su proxima visita a San Juan del Sur.

El equipo HC liri Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    64
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
43
99
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night and the owners were very friendly and helpful! The hotel is conveniently located by the beach and a short walking at distance from San Juan's hot spots! The breakfast is great and the hotel has a good ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Gerente at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for write this review in tripadvisor, this is very important for us and for the news trevellers.

Thanks to our guest improve every day.



Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Nice location, very friendly staff and great breakfast!! If I have to come up with a con it could be that the water in the pool sometimes wasn't that clear. But this didn't matter at all when it was like 50 meters down to the beach..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Gerente at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Isac, Thanks for writing on trip is important for future travelers.

It is important to know that I see that nobody reported that for two days of your stay our pool was a treat.

We learn from all reviews, good including.

Espero que tu buen español mejore en Mexico y que tus estudios vayan genial.

Saludos de la familia de HC liri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed two days at the hotel Liri and the owners were very friendly and hospitable hosts. Excellent location right on the beach within walking distance to the main city. Breakfast was included and it was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Jeff, nos encanta nuestro trabajo y es un placer recibir huéspedes como vosotros. Esperamos verles pronto de nuevo y muy agradecidos por escribir esta critica en tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The HC LIRI Hotel is a solid block structure on the beach in SJDS. It is at the end of the beach at the foot of the suspension bridge from town. During the high season in Winter, you will find peace and quiet that would be impossible to find on the main street in town.

The grounds are small and neatly manicured. The building is in a good state of repair and the owners serve a delightful Nicaraguan breakfast every morning. During our stay, we noticed that the Liri is particularly popular with European and Latin families.

For those who simply want to chill, there are lounges and hammocks for resting and reading. The miniscule pool is clean and refreshing. Parking in the narrow alley behind the hotel is very challenging due to space restrictions.

Even though I liked the place for what it is, there are blemishes. San Jun Del sur is still very small and high end accomodations are nearly impossible to find. After all, this little beach town is just starting to explode, and local infrastructure is still limited, execpt for the expensive condos in the hills above the town.

Fraankly, the Liri has a bit of an identity crisis. It used to be a surf camp and would rate 5 stars as such. However, the price point has been raised and certain improvements need to be made to shift completely from 'surf camp' to botique hotel. Here are some examples. The rooms are too spartan for the current price point. There are no bedside table lamps. There was no shampoo in the bathroom, and the showers are cold, not tepid, cold. This upgrade is crucial for guest comfort. Also, my AC unit worked only at full force when plugged in. Since there was no temperature control, it had to be unplugged when the room got too cold. Also, most of the lighting in the hotel is naked bulbs with no hint of subtle indirect lighting. This also could easily be fixed.

The one thing that bothered me was that if you bring a beer, rum or even a bottle of water to the hotel, they charge you for it as if they had sold it to you. This is a tacky business practice, and harkens back to 'surf camp days' mentality. If they aspire to running a more customer friendly hotel, they'll drop this practice like a hot potato.

Don't ge me wrong. I like the Liri's location, cleaniliness, and vibe. The family that runs it are delightful and warm. Liri just has to decide what it wants to be as San Juan Del Sur grows and options expand. Surf camp or botique hotel?

Hotel HC Liri is one of San Juan Del Sur's best for the moment, but, if this property was in Granada, I'd have given it a 2 star rating for failing to equal the competition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario en tripadvisor, como sabe es una gran referencia para nuestros futuros clientes. Llevamos muy poco tiempo pero trabajamos constantemente en la mejora del hotelito. Agradecemos mucho todo porque hemos aprendido a través de su opinión y por el momento ya hemos puesto en marcha muchas de la ideas que nos aporto su escrito.
Ojala le volvamos a ver por aqui y pueda comprobar nuestros avances.

Un saludo y gracias por habernos elegido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice situated hotel with direct access to the beach and lovely pool.

Fair priced, well maintened rooms and great view of the beach from the balcony.

Warm family owned hotel with extremely helpfull staff and owner for info and upcoming reservation (tours, directions, other hotel reservation and boats/ferry.,etc...)

Thanks and hugs to you, (Romina, Andrea and your mother) for everything !

My only comment would go to a wider choice of breakfast (included) options or to add 'a la carte' items such as
expresso coffee, brown bread, muesli...

We will come back for sure next year!

PS: Good luck for London, girls!
;-)

Louis & Line

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias por sus palabras, ha sido un placer tenerles entre nosotros en sus vacaciones. Aprendemos mucho de nuestros clientes por ello le comento que :

"Prometido, que nuestro desayuno sera mas variado muy pronto". Ustedes podran comprobarlo el próximo año. Gracias de Romina y Andrea por sus buenos deseos.

Hasta Pronto!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at hc liri for a week when we arrive in nicaragua and it was just perfect our room ad ocean view and was top clean with ac and a nice bathroom. The service was amazing they even called at my next hotelto arrange mly transfer.the breakfast wzs good. My room was always clean, the maid was cleaning it every day. They rent surf for 5$. The pool is clean and its fun to have a nice swim. They have nice hammock and a really chill atmosphere :) i tottaly recommend this place

Dominique

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Gerente at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias Dominique, nos ha encantado teneros en nuestro hotel. Mejoramos dia a dia gracias a nuestros clientes. Tambien gracias a tu mama por haberte recomendado HC liri Hotel. Esperamos veros muy pronto nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Address: Playa San Juan Del Sur | Contiguo Al Yahure, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HC Liri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.