We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HC Liri Hotel

Save Saved
You added HC Liri Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HC Liri Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Barrio la Talanguera | Cruzando el Puente Colgante 50 mtrs al Oeste, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

First time in San Juan Del Sur. All the staff is great and very attentive! Very homey feel to it and very relaxing. Definitely recommend it. Hector and his family really take care of you and exceed at meeting your every request.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por escribir en trip advisor y por visitarnos.

Os recuerdo perfectamente, gran familia, alrededor de una gran mesa de comida.

Ha sido un placer teneros con nosotros, veros disfrutar y esperamos veros nuevamente por Hc Liri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
70
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Reasons I am giving this hotel a bad review:

1. The management lied, saying they would accept a refund if we took the proper steps in notifying Expedia and in the end, refused to do so.
2. The location is inconvenient in terms of food, transportation, and other shops.
3. There are other hotels, comparably priced, that are much more comfortable and much more clean.

I understand that hotels have certain cancellation policies, which is why we checked with the hotel as well as the Expedia policy before we moved to another hotel. If they had told us it wasn't possible, we would've stayed there and accepted it. However, they specifically told us they were ok with it and yet refused to honor their promise. This action in itself is unacceptable. I'm a grad student and can't afford to pay multiple hotel stays. I still am in shock that the hotel could be so unreasonable. We took the proper steps and even asked multiple times if they would allow the refund. Terrible, terrible service.

After staying one night at this hotel, we found the location to be inconvenient. Most of the restaurants, transportation, and shops are located in town. After a long day of trekking to different beaches, surfing, and visiting other towns, we simply wanted to stay in town for the convenience. The hotel is located on the beach, but no one actually goes to the SJDS beach, because there are much nicer beaches nearby.

The hotel itself is a notch above a hostel, but not much more than that. The bathrooms are cramped and not that clean or comfortable to shower in. The beds are hard as a rock with bedsheets in a faded, pastel Louis Vuitton print. It was just an uncomfortable environment, especially for a young couple. I've stayed in worse, but there are much better options in town that are comparably priced, for example, Hotel Colonial.

The stay was uncomfortable, but bearable. The service in terms of dealing with financial matters was terrible. 0 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I have taken a long time to answer this criticism because I really find it unacceptable that someone call us liars. We work much at the service of our customer, feel that you have been gone with this mistaken impression on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Jan of this year. The hotel is located at the south edge of town away from the party life in SJDS. Has beach access, a pool, nice rooms, much quiter than on the main strip. The breakfast in the morning is awesome and if you ask they will make you someting gluten free, big bonus for us. What is really special about this place is the family running it. They are so warm and friendly and so accomadating. Hector and his wife and 2 daughters couldn't have been nicer. It felt more like a really good B&B or staying at a good friends house than a hotel. Can't wait to go back. Missing Lolta the parrot already ;-)
One last important point, the daughters and some other staff members and Hector are english friendly so communication was no effort

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for this nice view.

Incredible when we read that our work is in a great review. This makes us we go ahead.

All we are studying English to communicate better. Thank you for visiting our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you are going to stay in San Juan del Sur this hotel is an excellent place to stay. The hotel is on the outskirts of town but very easy to reach. The town can be a bit raucous which makes this location very good. Since it is by the town there are many places to eat. Hector and his family are pleasant and welcoming. I'd ask for an ocean view room but if it is not available don't worry you'll probably spend your time relaxing in a hammock, walking the beach, listening to music on the patio or relaxing by the pool. Good breakfast- with choices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks for your opinion, the views on trip advisor, we are growing every day, we make better workers and more professional. Thank you for your time on this. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Juan del Sur, of course in Hc Liri and in a room with a view of the ocean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great location,on the beach, easy walk to town, very friendly,clean & comfortable, pool and grounds all well maintained, reasonably priced. We were in Nicaragua for three weeks stayed twice here, total of nine nights. Very good staff, genuinely helpful and happy to see you, served us breakfast every morning on the terrace. Hector and family offer a wonderful time that helps in meeting the other guests.
G Bruce

Room Tip: Balcony rooms opening on the terrace give you nice sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you very much for this opinion about our hotel and our team work.

We love our work, and we love meet new people and make them feel at home.

We hope you can come back soon and see how we improve every day.

Thanks,

Hector and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hector and his daughters make you feel right at home . The hotel is situated in a perfect spot , on the beach and very close to town . The breakfasts are Hectors own . I looked forward to every day . Planned to stay 1 week but stayed for two very comfortable relaxing place to veg .

Room Tip: get rooms on the second floor with balcony with beach view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por esta linda opinion sobre nuestro hotel y sobre nosotros. Las opiniones en tripadvisor son muy importantes para HC Liri y los nuevos viajeros que estén por llegar.
Ojala pronto nos volvamos a ver por aqui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Small Hotel run by owner's family.
All of them were great host!
Beach front.
Social areas of the hotel, including pool were lovely.
Rooms were clean, small and very simple.
We really had a great relaxing time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector A, Propietario at HC Liri Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su transmitir su opinión, esto es muy importante para nuestro crecimiento
profesional.
Trabajamos a diario cuidando de las vacaciones de de nuestros huéspedes y es un placer leer que lo hemos hecho sentir en familia porque ese es nuestro verdadero objetivo.
Esperamos volver a verlo en Hc Liri!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HC Liri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HC Liri Hotel

Address: Barrio la Talanguera | Cruzando el Puente Colgante 50 mtrs al Oeste, San Juan del Sur 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan del Sur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HC Liri Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to HC liri HotelHC liri Hotel is a small hotel on the beach of San Juan del Sur, with wonderfull views of the Pacific Ocean. We also have swimming pool in front of the sea. We offer daily transport to the different beaches in the area. In our hotel,we offer a personalized service to our guests because we want you to feel at home.Our breakfast is made with great quality and variety. We offer to our customers products fresh and different every day, because we want that you know the Nicaraguan gastronomy.!!We want only the enjoyment of our guests!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your HC Liri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HC Liri Hotel Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HC Liri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.