We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask about the apartment in the off season.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Elizabeth

Hostel Elizabeth
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan del Sur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Elizabeth
Save
You added Hostel Elizabeth to your Saves list
East End of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua   |  
Hotel amenities
Blue Hill, Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ask about the apartment in the off season.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice folks, descent pizza, great private suite upstairs! We were only staying two nights but it was only $25/night in late April. There is a kitchen and large bed/living room and we could have spent weeks at this central location only three blocks from the surf. They also have $15 rooms downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great place to stay; it is close to everything in SJDS, and Elizabeth is just so sweet! The rooms are clean and pretty comfortable, and at $8 per person, it's very reasonable. I didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant here, but the menu looked good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Recently stayed in San Juan del Sur with a couple friends. Received a couple of recommendations for Hostel Elizabeth and overall we had a great stay. The rooms are clean, safe, have wifi, charging, and come with a fan! The bathrooms are sufficient, although the shower was a low point, but that aside it was a great place. The owner, Elizabeth, is very friendly, helpful, and can arrange travel to the beaches. The location is great, in a safe area and close to the boardwalk, and many bars and restaurants. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: They charge per bed not per room, so if you are a group you can each get the privacy of a single roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

i stayed here just one night because i was passing through San Juan del sur and trying to get in to Costa Rica, cheap , cool place , friendly people . if you don't have money to wash your clothes you can buy a piece of soap and wash it yourself here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bronx
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This a great place to meet other people from around the world. It is centrally located to everything. You will met interesting people here.. It's a two minute walk to the beach. Pizza shop downstairs, restaurants everywhere.kitchen to cook if you want.. Utensils are all provided.. There is a balcony, great if you like to people watch..

Room Tip: The rooms by the balcony are better because you can see the streets and people.. Other rooms are to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently went San Juan del Sur without knowing exactly where we were going to sleep. We came across Hostel Elizabeth, and enjoyed our stay. It's a small place with a more native vibe than we had gotten in other hostels. The beds were $6, and each room accommodated between 2-4 people.

The owner, Elizabeth, was very nice. We also had a great time talking to other backpackers staying at the hostel!

The place is descent, beds are clean, and there is internet access. The only food they offer is pizza, but being in the middle of the town it is very easy to walk to local bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Elizabeth

Address: East End of the Market, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 Specialty Lodging in San Juan del Sur
Also Known As:
Hostel Elizabeth Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Elizabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.